Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Reason To Believe
Tottenham has every reason to be proud of young Mr Obika.

A class act becoming classier with each successive album.
The Reason, his fourth release, finds the man and his voice
in very fine fettle indeed.

The ten tracks deliver a coherent and satisfying aural experience.
Our hero's flexible and mellifluous tenor continues to mature...
Published on 11 Jan. 2009 by The Wolf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed!
oh dear! I'm in the minority here! I really do rate Lemar and went to see him in London when he'd just made it. This was a big deal as I HATE manic London! But have to say that I kind of lost interest after a few tracks. Maybe I need to listen to it a few times and it'll grow on me? Not an album that bowled me over though I'm afraid! Shame..
Published on 4 Feb. 2009 by E. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Reason To Believe, 11 Jan. 2009
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Reason (Audio CD)
Tottenham has every reason to be proud of young Mr Obika.

A class act becoming classier with each successive album.
The Reason, his fourth release, finds the man and his voice
in very fine fettle indeed.

The ten tracks deliver a coherent and satisfying aural experience.
Our hero's flexible and mellifluous tenor continues to mature in
both range and expressive power.

'The Reason', 'Weight Of The World' and 'If She Knew'
all deliver a lyrical and uplifting experience with
their strong melodies and complex harmonic arrangements.

'Heartbreaker' rips up the rug and rocks. The rough edges
in the vocal enhancing the band's energetic performance.

The ska-ish beats of 'Trust Me' skitter along merrily.

The old soul-train strains of 'Over You' are a pure delight.

'Mayday' gives us the true heart of this fine recording.
A really beautiful song - beautifully sung.

The sharp rhythmic syncopation of 'Wait Forever';
'Not What You Say' with it's tight horn arrangement
and the plaintive 'Black Tide' bring this fine project
to an affecting close.

Good wholesome stuff from one of the best on the block.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!, 23 Oct. 2008
By 
Sam Fane - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Reason (Audio CD)
I am so excited about this album!!!!! I heard some of the songs on myspace and is sounds AMAZING!! The new tracks sound sooo good! I love the single! You have to buy this album, it will blow you away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Of British, 8 Dec. 2008
This review is from: The Reason (Audio CD)
This has to be Lemar's Best album to date. Have heard clips of it and i cant wait to pick mine up tomorrow!
Lemar has to be the BEST Briish vocalist we have and this album proves it over and over again!!
There is something for everyone on this album and he has songs for every age and manaages to do this by still being genuine.

Excellent album!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lemartastic!!, 16 Mar. 2009
By 
Anna Hamblett "Annaellieb" (Colwyn Bay) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Reason (MP3 Download)
Wow, this album is fab fab fab. My 10 yr old daughter Ellie and I went to see Lemar last Saturday and he was 10 times better than expected. Everyone was up dancing from the off - highly recommended. Love all the tracks on the album but a special mention to Little Miss Heartbreaker which I think should defo be his next single.My car literally vibrates when I crank the volume up.
Lemar has a great soulful voice and does justice to the dance tracks as well as the melody. A great all rounder.
Well worth the money so download now !! x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars his best work since his debut, 24 Nov. 2008
This review is from: The Reason (Audio CD)
Since his great debut album Dedicated i found his last 2 albums (with the exception of the lead singles) disappointing with many fillers. Not quite knowing what to expect with his latest release The Reason......I have to say its his best work to date. From start to finish its a great listen. Absolute quality! Every song is a winner.....Over You has to be a single!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Of British Is Back, 23 Nov. 2008
This review is from: The Reason (Audio CD)
This has to be Lemar's Best album to date. Have heard clips of it and i cant wait to pick mine up tomorrow!
Lemar has to be the BEST Briish vocalist we have and this album proves it over and over again!!
There is something for everyone on this album and he has songs for every age and manaages to do this by still being genuine.

Excellent album!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars disappointed!, 4 Feb. 2009
By 
E. Jones (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Reason (Audio CD)
oh dear! I'm in the minority here! I really do rate Lemar and went to see him in London when he'd just made it. This was a big deal as I HATE manic London! But have to say that I kind of lost interest after a few tracks. Maybe I need to listen to it a few times and it'll grow on me? Not an album that bowled me over though I'm afraid! Shame..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slick grooves from a polished master, 5 Feb. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Reason (Audio CD)
Lemar's fourth album is a sophisticated affair, richly varied in its mellow overtones, interwoven with a myriad of slick grooves, yet at the same time cleverly leaves you wanting more. "Little Miss Heartbreaker" is a masterclass in old soul roots-rock and fully deserves a single release. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lemar 'The Reason' is brilliant, 18 May 2009
This review is from: The Reason (Audio CD)
I have all of lemars albums (but one) and i really do think this is his best one. It has a lot more beat to his songs on this album. I like almost every song on here.

If you like Soul and a bit of R&B Lemar the Reason is the album for you.

I really do recommend this album to anyone. It is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wicked Album!, 7 July 2009
This review is from: The Reason (MP3 Download)
Its not as good as the previous ones but it's still a great album. Not many brits doing much at the moemtn in R&B. Marcus Smith is doin' some good stuff. Want to see a new craig david album and more tunes from estelle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Reason
The Reason by Lemar (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews