Customer Reviews


202 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (67)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting view of marriages and relationships
What strikes me about this film is how they all play such superb incompetent sets of individuals skilled only in one thing and that is being a collection of losers.
And as for Linda,s obsession with cosmetic surgery the main theme that runs through this film I have met people like this, and what you would like to tell them is they would be much better off with...
Published 9 months ago by Mr. J. A. Bentley

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A visual comedy with lots of parts thrown in
Burn After Reading (2008) is a hammy visual comedy. It might be slightly more funny the more times you watch it but I wouldn't call it "hilarious" or "brilliantly clever and endlessly entertaining" as described on the DVD.

It's about a CIA agent played by John Malkovich whose wife (seeking a divorce) obtains a disc of his memoirs/financials which somehow falls...
Published on 27 Dec 2011 by Miami


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting view of marriages and relationships, 13 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What strikes me about this film is how they all play such superb incompetent sets of individuals skilled only in one thing and that is being a collection of losers.
And as for Linda,s obsession with cosmetic surgery the main theme that runs through this film I have met people like this, and what you would like to tell them is they would be much better off with almost a complete body transplant, and by default that is what she gets in the end, the only one to come out of this grand fiasco with any plus points at all. Brad Pitts bungling incompetence is played to a fine art, whilst George Clooney,s dedicated obsession with his wife's surprise present is definitely worth seeing, and as for John Malkovich he is continually on the point of meltdown brought about by his employer and his wife's actions.
In conclusion I would say you have to be in tune to this particular humour, which lets face it is tongue in cheek blacker than black.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burn After Reading [DVD] (DVD)
I laughed and laughed as I looked on in mixed horror and amusement. Brad Pitt puts in a bravura performance of outstanding cluelessness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burn After Reading [DVD] (DVD)
one of my favorite fgilms of all time
clooney and pitt playing out of characters
a really funny dark film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What did we learn ?, 21 April 2010
By 
A. Willard (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burn After Reading [DVD] (DVD)
There's an awful lot of 1 star reviews on here for this - seems a bit harsh to me. Of course the Coens are always going to annoy some people - they are a bit smart-arsey and their habit of leaving out certain scenes which could be construed as being `integral' to the plot is a long-standing joke of theirs which they obviously find very funny. They were even at it in `No Country', which was finally their major breakthrough to the mainstream - the shoot-out between Moss and the Mexicans? But I'm a long-time fan and despite the occasional stinker (`Intolerable Cruelty' and `The Ladykillers'), they've made me laugh more than just about anybody else over the last 30 years, so I'll stick with them.

So how do they follow up the commercial and artistic success of `No Country`? With a film about a bunch of selfish, bungling middle-aged losers making a mess of their and everybody else's lives, that's how. If there's a common theme to the Coens films' then it's `nobody knows anything', and never was that truer than here. This is their take on the spy genre, the `Bourne' films and others of that ilk; but instead of being full of smart, dangerous killers there's just a bunch of useless idiots constantly cocking-up and jumping to the wrong conclusions: the results, however, can be just as fatal. Nobody is as harsh on the consequences of stupidity as the Coens.

I'm not crazy about George Clooney doing comedy, it seems to me he relies too much on mugging and pulling `funny' faces; apart from him, however, the performances are uniformly excellent. John Malkovich is wonderfully irascible and Tilda Swinton splendidly unpleasant as Mr and Mrs Cox (not a name, you feel, that was chosen by accident). Brad Pitt is perfect as the dozy air-head Chad and has a couple of great moments; his dance after the first phone-call to Cox and his attempt to assume a `threatening' expression during the conversation with Cox in the car are hilarious. Frances McDormand is as good as ever and, if that's her body in the opening scene, is a damn good sport as well (I suppose it helps having your husband as the director).

I don't think it's one of their best but, lest we forget, `Lebowski' was greeted with widespread derision on its release so maybe this will be a sleeper like that. I enjoyed it - come on, it's worth more than 1 star surely?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent comedy, 16 Feb 2009
This review is from: Burn After Reading [DVD] (DVD)
The Coen Bros show that they are still on form with this absurdist paranoid comedy.

If you want an antidote to conspiracy theory wackos,the slick world of 24" or "enemy of the state" you have to watch this.

Its a film about a bunch of middle aged crisis "lost" numbnuts making a hash of life, done only the way the Coen Bros can do it. Forget the bad reviews this is a howl, i can only think that some people are lacking an "irony" gene or something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tale of the unexpected, 14 Feb 2009
By 
Martin Ian Ogg (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burn After Reading [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this movie and thought it was brilliant. I thought everyone would love it.... then you read the reviews. It is idiosyncratic, as you'd expect from the directors, but it is engaging with some genuinely jaw-dropping moments. It's sweetness, and it is a sweet film, comes from a total disrespect for everything; for reputations, for pompousity, for stupidity, for certainties. And this is a world choking with reputation, pompousity, plain stupidity and certainty.
If you don't like black comedies, then don't buy it. If you do buy it, expect the unexpected. Never thought I'd see George Clooney attacking a (large) sex aid with a sledge hammer. Nor seeing Brad Pitt......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for the memoir, 16 Dec 2008
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burn After Reading [DVD] (DVD)
CIA Superior: So what did we learn from this?
CIA Officer: Um... I don't know.

Short Attention Span Summary (SASS):

1. CIA analyst Cox (John Malkovich) has a falling out with the agency, and decides to write a tell-all memoir.
2. His wife (Tilda Swinton) wants a divorce, and to make sure she's forearmed with his finances, she burns a copy of some of his computer files
3. Said files fall into the incapable hands of clueless gym employees Chad (Brad Pitt) and Linda (Frances McDormand), who decide to try extortion as a fund raising exercise.
4. No prizes for guessing that it doesn't quite work as planned
5. Meanwhile, Mrs. Cox is having an affair, Linda is looking for both love and cosmetic surgery, and Treasury agent Harry (George Clooney) is sleeping around.
6. Black comedy of errors follows with some rather unpredictable twists.

Fans of black comedy will thoroughly enjoy this movie, which is well directed, brilliantly acted and immensely entertaining. Kudos go to Malkovich, Pitt, Swinton and Clooney, but the top award definitely goes to McDormand, who will have you sharing her pain.

Four and a half stars go to the Coen Brothers for this bleak look at life, adultery, blackmail and people behaving badly.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intelligence is only their job, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burn After Reading [DVD] (DVD)
Personally, I'm not such a huge fan of films by the Coen brothers; but it's hard to deny that each time they make a film, it's a different one. 'Burn After Reading' is a riotous spy-thriller, a viciously black farce that in which one can see traces of the brothers' previous films (deadpan scenes echoing 'Fargo', but also some of the zaniness of 'Raising Arizona', for example) but which is far from just a remake of any of them. As always, there are moments at which you can't help but chuckle; and it's fun to see Brad Pitt and George Clooney in such anti-hero roles, although John Malkovich and Tilda Swinton do most of the scene-stealing. But the script suffers from a surplus of unoriginal swearing and a standard flaw of many of the Coen's movies: there's no reason to care for any of the characters. It's inventive and in places amusing; but it's still a film lacking in heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great., 25 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burn After Reading [DVD] (DVD)
This one just grows on you. Superb acting from everyone, with so many little quaint humerous touches. You can watch it again and again. John Malkovitch is by far the best character, but the entire cast plays so well to the black humour of the film. A film that is head and shoulders above the rest. PM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky and humourous, 22 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Burn After Reading [DVD] (DVD)
I was in the right mood to enjoy this quirkily humouorous film. It's a little dark too, as I've come to expect with the Coens, but the whole thing works well - the humour and the darker elements are balanced perfectly.

Basically, it concerns the bizarrely ensuing drama after an insecure, ditzy gym instructor, who's colleague (played hilariously by Brad Pitt), comes across the "memoirs" of a government agent, played in a perfectly captured study of an out of control, angry male, by John Malkovich. Other characters include a lonely gym manager played (brilliantly, all the acting is superb), by Richard Jenkins, a treasury employee played by George Clooney, and an icy doctor played by Tilda Swinton.

Great stuff, funny and well-plotted, in a bizarre kindof way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Burn After Reading [DVD]
Burn After Reading [DVD] by Joel Coen (DVD - 2009)
£2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews