Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not only the best RPG on the DS, but one of the best games ever, 17 Feb 2009
By 
M. Munroe (England, Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chrono Trigger (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Chrono Trigger was originally released in Japan way back on the Super Nintendo in 1995, then shortly afterwards it received a North American release. It was also ported to other consoles in the same regions later on, but only now has Europe got a port of it.

The game has indeed stood the test of time, almost everything about this game is perfect:

The games story starts out simple enough, Lucca; a friend of Crono invents a short distance transportation device and demonstrates it at the "Millenial Fair." A girl whom Crono recently acquainted tests the machine, it malfunctions however because of the pendant she's wearing. The malfunction creates a time gate and this is how Crono and his friends journey through time begins.

As time travel is involved, a lot of the game will raise many questions if you're playing close attention to the story. The basic plot and game objective is simple, paying close attention to the small details in the story may make certain things seem convoluted at times - like "how did that upcoming event happen when I'm meddling with something to do with it in the past?" Chrono Trigger isn't lacking on twists either, they're ubiquitous throughout and lead you to not wanting to put the game down.

The time travelling is very interesting, for example; one side quest later on in the game features greedy mayor who has stolen an item that belongs to you. Go back in time 400 years and offer the woman who lives in that same house a gift for free and she tells you how she will raise her children to be generous and giving; fast forward 400 years and the mayor is now TOO generous and happily gives you the stolen item back!

There's 13 endings that have numerous variations depending on certain choices you made during the course of the game, when the game is finished it allows you to create a New Game+ file which keeps your levels, skills and most of your items from your finished games saved file. This allows you to breeze through the game and finish it in a different matter, hopefully acquiring a different ending. It's possible to "breeze through" the game as the final boss of the game is accessible right near the beginning, you can choose to fight it whenever you want. Without doing the "side quests" however this is practically impossible during your first play through.

Another great thing about Chrono Trigger is the characters, everyone is endearing and charming, even Crono somehow, the typical RPG silent hero. Each character also has a compelling back story, some emotional, all great.

The battle system is so fast paced and fun that even somebody who hates RPGs will enjoy it; after playing Chrono Trigger other turn based RPGs seem slow in comparison. Random encounters don't exist, instead the battles take place then and there upon bumping into the enemy on the map.

The graphics are SNES like but oozing with as much detail a 16-bit game could fit in, another nice feature is the anime cut scenes which were included for the PlayStation port are here on the DS version. The character design is recognizable immediately as Akira Toriyama art, known for his distinct art style which most of us know from the Dragonball series.

Lastly and probably my most favourite thing about the game: the soundtrack. The retro beeps and bleep combine to make an astounding soundtrack; especially the Boss, Epoch and Black Omen themes which are absolutely amazing. Playing this game with headphones is a must!

All in all, Chrono Trigger is an immersive and addictive game that'll last you a while with its numerous things to do and unlock. If you have a DS then do yourself a favour and treat it to this masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest RPGs ever is finally brought to Europe, 15 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. A. Hursit - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chrono Trigger (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
It's time for a massive amount of nostalgia and a trip down memory lane, because the origional Chrono Trigger for the SNES was the first game I ever played. My Dad hade brought back an NSTC format SNES from the US and brought this game for me. I was lucky to have been able to play this masterpiece of a game, which is really the only RPG that is equal to the utterly sublime Final Fantasy 7.

The story begins with a group of friends named Crono, Marle and Lucca who live in the year 1000AD. Lucca and her father construct a time machine and during a test where Marle volunteers to be teleported here pendant interferes with the machine causing a portal in time to be created, which she is sucked into. Crono and Lucca then recreate the portal and set out to rescue their friend. While persuing Marle however, Crono and Lucca meet a set of different characters and when after a sequence of events they find out that a global catastrophe is soon to occur in the future. The friends also learn that they have the power to stop it and embark on a adventure to save the world and the whole universe. It is truly a benchmark for video game storytelling, you have to play it to believe it. It's fantastically topped up by some of the most interesting and likeable characters that I've ever come across in any RPG or any game for that matter. It also features entertaing and humourous dialoge.

Next we come to the gameplay, which is similar to many RPGs. You navigate your characters across many different locations including forests, towns and dungeons. You fight monsters using a standard RPG Active Time Battle system, a player takes action in battle once a timer dependent on your speed stat reaches zero, you can attack with either your weapon, magic or special physical techniques. Magic and Physical techniques are handled by the Techs command. Unique to Chrono Trigger is the exsistance of cooperative techniques. Each character has a total of 8 personal techniques which can be combined with other character techniques to create more powerful attacks, double and triple combinations exsist. For example Crono's sword spinning Cyclone move can be combined Lucca's flame toss to create the Fire Whirl combination. This aspect makes fights interesting and tactical.

Another feature unique to Chrono Trigger is the concept of time travel. The players can access seven different time period of the world's history and choices made by players in the past affect things in the future.
The overall gameplay is fantastically balanced and hugely entertaining. Whether you're thinking about the best ways to kill a monster or interacting with various characters or exploring the very colourful and varied environments across history.

However the thing that makes this tower firmly above so many RPGs is it's replay value. The fact that time travel is crucial the the game and the story means that the game has multiple endings, 13 multiple endings to be exact! Given that this is a game that you'll want to experience again and again it means that it's a great value for money.

In conclusion Chrono Trigger is a true masterwork of a game. I can't think of anything wrong with it. Every scene is memorable in some way or another. It's a true benchmark of video game storytelling, character development and gameplay. It never stops being fun or entertaining. Utterlly epic in every scence of the word, a sublime experience from start to finish. Along with Final Fantasy 7, Chrono Trigger is easily the best RPG ever made and has only improved over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unputdownable and immersive game, 14 May 2010
By 
R. Clarke (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chrono Trigger (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I never played this on the the SNES so I was a newcomer to the Chrono Trigger world. At first I was put off by the graphics in this game, which are pretty ordinary, even for the DS. But once events started to unfold, and I got a grip on the controls, I realised that under this modest appearance is a true pearl of a game. The story is really quirky and fun, the characters are amusing and likeable, and the gameplay is simple but delightful. In particular, I recommend this to anyone looking for a fix to fill the hole left after finishing Zelda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential RPG, 25 Aug 2009
By 
Russtafarian (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chrono Trigger (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Back in the 90's this fantastic game was only ever released in Japan and the USA on the Super Nintendo.
It was then re-released on the original Playstation, again in Japan and the USA.
Despite being considered one of the greatest RPGs ever released, it's only until now does the UK get it's hands on it with the Nintendo DS.

Story is same as before, untouched (from what remember!) and still stands well against many of today's RPGs. Time travelling has never been so much fun - with the many possible endings, you can play it again and again.
The graphics are still the same from the SNES days, but obviously they look great on the DS. It's a shame there aren't more of the short animations, which were introduced with the PS version, but that's a minor grumble.
The gameplay is the same, albeit there's an option for DS users to choose from the original method of playing, or by using the touch-screen and pen. I personally used the original method for some old-school gameplay.
Music is just as good - i'd forgotten how good it actually is.
Obviously overall, this game has dated somewhat in comparison to more recent releases, more visually than the actual story or gameplay. The game could have had a graphical overhaul similar to the recent DragonQuest games, but I think this would have lost it's timely feel. The actual story hasn't aged, I think - it's up there with many recent games, if not better.
It's arguably just a iconic as Final Fantasy 7, or at least it would have been if it saw a release back in the Playstation days in the UK.

My only grumble in comparison to the previous release: The many, many variations on the ending could literally mean many, many playthroughs of the game. This could be seen as a good/bad thing... the Playstation version would actually allow you to complete the game twice (regardless of the ending you view), and then give you access to all endings in the mini-theatre . Sadly this doesn't seem to be the case with the DS version.

Apart from my one grumble, I really can't recommend this game enough! Go get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have waited over 10 years to play this most excellent r.p.g., 27 May 2009
By 
Dragonlord (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chrono Trigger (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I had a S.N.E.S. back when Chrono Trigger first came out and was really disappointed that square soft at the time wouldn't release this fantastic game in the U.K. Many people consider Chrono Trigger to be one of the best games of all time and I can see why now at last. The story is brilliant and the music is wonderful too. The battle system was ahead of it's time and the game has aged very well indeed. The graphics have aged the most but when it comes to role playing games I will put my neck out on line and say, it is maybe overall better then The Legend Of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass or at least just as good. Chrono Trigger really is one of the best games on the DS and should not be missed if you are a fan of r.p.g.'s. The new touch screen controls work really well and once you start playing you will be hooked. Please Square-Enix give us The Secret Of Mana, Final Fantasy 6 and the Super Mario RPG for the DS too. We UK gamers deserve these games and we love our r.p.g.'s too. I know that two of those games that I spoke of you can get on Wii shop but they are better suited for the DS really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabtastic Chrono Trigger, 17 Feb 2009
By 
H. Hall "H Hall" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chrono Trigger (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
What can I say about this amazing game. You play the role named Chrono who, along with his friends Lucca and Frog and Co go through different time periods and try to find a way to defeat the evil in the earth before the world ends in 1999. This gem of a game is absolutely fantastic to play. The graphics are top notch as is the whole storyline of this game. The characters each have there own uses. With Chrono his good with physical fighting and light magic, Robo is excellent with physical fighting but Ayla is the best, as she can use charm and get you great stuff from the enemies. There are 13 different endings which I think is quite cool. As another reviewer wrote, this game is up there with another great game The Secret Of Mana which is another favourite of mine. If you love time traveling games and very original game then buy this fantastic game today. You will not be disappointed by this Fabtastic Chrono Trigger. This game deserves 10/10 as it's brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 1995 SNES game time-hops to 2008/9... near unchanged, but a classic, 16 Dec 2008
By 
Paul Mattis (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chrono Trigger (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Chrono Trigger is an RPG from the heyday of the genre on the Super Nintendo game console. For anyone who has never experienced the game due to it never being released in Europe, but who loves RPG games from around the mid 90's (Final Fantasy, Secret of Mana) this is a must-have.

For anyone who _DID_ experience it in either the original SNES form or its re-release as part of a late-90's Playstation compilation (especially the latter) you may well be warned that little has changed.

To elaborate: the game was produced as a collaboration between Square and Enix (who at time of writing are now one company), featuring the art style and creative input of Dragonball creator Akira Toriyama.

The characters are few but memorable: a samurai-sword-wielding lad, a mysterious girl with powers of healing and ice, a madcap inventor girl with powers of technology and fire, and a few others that, for the uninitiated, I won't spoil.

The game is similar to Final Fantasy in gameplay (turn-based menu combat, no genuine real-time combat like that found in Zelda or the Mana series), with character positioning and technique combinations making for more strategic play.

The plot starts out as a simple case of mistaken identity and wandering about in the classic RPG-game style. The lead, Crono, meets Marle, a secretive girl, at the Guardia Village millenial fair, and the two take part in a space-displacement experiment by Crono's friend Lucca. It goes fine until Marle volunteers; her pendant causes not a space, but time displacement, and Crono must travel back in time to the middle ages to rescue her. From there, the three realise that it was fate, not accident, that it happened, as the three protagonists end up in the future, where what they see compels them to make a pact to do whatever it takes to save the world. Beyond that, I say no more.

On completion of the game, the time-related story - that in the end has the player hopping between 1000AD, 600AD, 12000BC, 2300AD and a slightly unimaginitive Prehistoric era (perhaps the weakest point of the game) - allows replay with an existing save to uncover other alternative outcomes. By existing save, I mean that, barring 'key items', your character roster, and money, you keep everything you had, i.e. levels, items and equipment. I'd be lying if I said the extra endings were 'awesome' - the endings weren't really that in 1995, so they certainly won't be now - but they add replay value, justifying the shortness of the game when compared to similar offerings of the time.

-A note to those who have played this before-
As is the norm now with re-releases (I wouldn't dare call this a remake), a few FMV's (cartoons done by Toriyama studios) bridge key sequences and provide more aesthetic candy (those even these are not new; they're from the Playstation version). As for new in-game, interactive content, weeell expect the obligatory encyclopedias, music players bla-bla-bla, and a new bonus dungeon or two that bridge the story with Chrono Cross, its Playstation-only sequel that Europe didn't get either. Those dungeons are Recycle City, so expect no frills.

This is, along with Final Fantasy VI and Secret of Mana, one of the best RPG games released in the early-mid 90's. It may look dated, it may be shorter than what is now expected gameplay-wise, but it has lost none of its charm, mainly due to the absence of CGI, which dates faster than anything (although why this never got the same respectful remake treatment as Final Fantasy IV and Dragon Quest IV did on DS, I do not know). This game did help the introduction of time-consuming long animations on pretty much all attacks, and annoying lags between characters moving during battle due to the 'Active Time' system, both of which killed this genre for me in recent years, but it isn't so bad as it is now.

So, if you'll excuse the pun, if you like RPGs it isn't a waste of your time; if you own a previous release though, it might be a waste of your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant RPG, 23 Mar 2010
By 
Steven Brown (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chrono Trigger (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I was delighted to see this become available for the Nintendo DS. Was a big fan of it on SNES, along with the Final Fantasy games of the time.
I had bought some FF games on Gameboy Advanced to plug into the DS, but was disappointed in them, as they didn't support just closing the lid when you wanted to pause, which I found annoying.

Anyway, this game, having been designed for the DS does that, plus a lot more. The touch screen, and top screen are utilised very well. There is an auto map going through the dungeons, which when I heard about, didn't think I would find useful, but it was.

The game plays at an excellent speed - very useful in this kind of game, as it helps with those sections where you have to grind through battles for experience points.
Battle speeds can be customised, so you can really race through if you need to, but slow it down for the big battles.

The PlayStation movies are used in the game. Some are excellent, some are a bit lame, but on balance, a worthwhile addition.

Huge variety of endings as well. I've completed the standard one, and am now definitely going to go back and play it to try out the others.

In summary, highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the greatest games ever made re-made properly, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chrono Trigger (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This game is considered to be the all time greats and has now been remade for the Ds not only does this remake faithfully recreate the original content but it also enhances the graphics and makes use of the dual screen setup to put all important information like the in game map and inventory screen as well as battle commands are all displayed on the lower screen leaving the upper screen uncluttered. As well as these changes there are also a series of brand new and very challenging optional quests which add an additional challenge for those that desire it. In conclusion I wouldsay this is a must own for anyone who owns a Nintendo DS whether or not they played the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Little people, big fun., 12 May 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Chrono Trigger (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
My favourite thing about this game is that you can set the fight level to really slow and easy so you only die very occasionally. There's even a run away option. I am all fingers and thumbs when it comes to combat and not in a good way so it suits me down to the ground. I don't get frustrated and I can enjoy exploring and chatting and learning how to fight better at my own pace.
I also liked that I was able to name the characters myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chrono Trigger (Nintendo DS)
Chrono Trigger (Nintendo DS) by Square Enix (Nintendo DS)
£17.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews