Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have a sense of humour before viewing
It's a cheap b movie. Some of the acting is well below average, some of the effects are a bit ropey. However, let's view the film not as a wannabee critic, but as someone entering this film expecting a junk ride.
Bill Goldberg is great as the title role. He hams it up and his size certainly matches the image the makers wished to conceive.
The idea that Santa...
Published on 17 Jan 2010 by Mr. M. J. Dunn

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very bad Santa...
In the Christmas Eve of 2005, Santa Claus arrives in Hell Township killing the locals.

teenager Nicholas Yuleson finds that his grandfather is actually an angel that defeated the devil's son in a bet, and the evil creature has spent the last one thousand years playing a good Santa Claus, giving toys to the children.

Now that the bet is over, Santa...
Published 9 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have a sense of humour before viewing, 17 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Santa's Slay [DVD] (DVD)
It's a cheap b movie. Some of the acting is well below average, some of the effects are a bit ropey. However, let's view the film not as a wannabee critic, but as someone entering this film expecting a junk ride.
Bill Goldberg is great as the title role. He hams it up and his size certainly matches the image the makers wished to conceive.
The idea that Santa (anagram of Satan)is a demon who has now become released from a thousand year good will curse (a Nordic curse due to losing a bet with an angel) is a truly original concept.
The idea of mixing some truly demented christmas songs into the mix is adding up the fun. It's action packed with a few amusing deaths, and the vision of Santa being pulled along by a huge bison is simply incredible to see.
The downside is the predictable 'twist' regarding the lead's grandfather, and a typical ending which will bring a sequel one day, but just enjoy this film and to the other one star reviewer GROW A SENSE OF HUMOUR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gory Festive Fun, 17 Jan 2011
This review is from: Santa's Slay [DVD] (DVD)
A good alternative to all the saccharin sweet telly at Christmas. Watched this on Christmas Eve and even though its hokey and full of "Gremlins type humour" with added gore, it was still really entertaining. Just don't expect to be scared!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very bad Santa..., 6 Mar 2014
This review is from: Santa's Slay [DVD] (DVD)
In the Christmas Eve of 2005, Santa Claus arrives in Hell Township killing the locals.

teenager Nicholas Yuleson finds that his grandfather is actually an angel that defeated the devil's son in a bet, and the evil creature has spent the last one thousand years playing a good Santa Claus, giving toys to the children.

Now that the bet is over, Santa Claus wants revenge.

Nicholas and his girlfriend Mary try to escape from the killer and find a way to stop him until the end of Christmas....

Featuring probably one of the funniest openings in a Santa based Horror ever, the movie is pure cheese from beginning to end.

The film is stupid, it knows it's stupid and wears it proudly.

Goldberg appears, says something funny, kills someone and then disappears. several times.

Inbetween these scenes are just people talking and panicking, and it gets boring very quickly.

Goldberg is the saving grace in this, but he really makes the film the funny piece of tosh it is, and I mean that with the highest of respect.

It's funny, with a good story, but you'll either love or you'll just ignore the fact that it exists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good.............., 5 Dec 2007
By 
Saturnicus "Saturnicus" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A low budget Xmas comedy slasher. Santa is none other than Bill Goldberg and he does a remarkably good job in the role.
Santa is an anagram of Satan, and as the result of losing a bet with an angel 1000 years ago, has be his loveable, jolly self until the debt is paid off and then returns to his true evil self.
The start of the movie is very funny. It fails a bit to amuse in the middle but has some really good lines.
The extras, making of the movie etc. are most enjoyable
I wouldn't think it is suitable for children. See it yourself first and make your own mind up.
It is a new twist on Xmas and Goldberg steals the show.
Great Xmas day watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quiet a 'pleasant' surprise......., 6 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Santa's Slay [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this film on the Zone Horror channel over Christmas 2009. Their usual fare is made for cable tv, low budget Horror Flicks, that are generally bad and easy to for get. This is an exception! Sure, the film is 'cheap' and the script certainly didn't tax the writer, and the acting leaves a lot to be desired BUT it is just so entertaining, witty and quite a pleasant surprise from the usual run of the mill horror dross. I liked it that much, I bought the DVD. What more can I say.........................Santa's Slay [DVD] [2005]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Digital remaster makes little headway, 17 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this DVD as a replacement for the VHS tape I had. It still doesn't alter my opinion of the film which is not at all favourable and which can be read in the page for the UK PAL VHS version. In case this leaves you wondering why I bought this DVD, I will just say that it was a favour for someone.

On the technical side, this Polish version has been remastered to a good degree. The picture is very clear and looks to have been taken from an original print. Compared to the VHS full frame version, the top and bottom of the picture have been matted slightly and the sides have been restored giving a 1.85:1 aspect ratio. The audio options are Dolby DTS (Digital Theatre System) or Dolby 5.1 stereo. Language options are English or Polish and removable Polish subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Christmas is over when I say it's over!", 17 Jun 2011
This review is from: Santa's Slay [DVD] (DVD)
I expected Santa's Slay to be absolutely awful, it should have been awful, but somehow it's a fun, fast paced horror comedy.

Santa is a demon who loses a bet, and for the next 1000 years he has had to be the Santa we all know. Now the 1000 years are up, and Santa returns to the evil killer he was before. It's ludicrous I know, but it's filmed so tongue in cheek that it works. I had a feeling I'd enjoy it after the first five minutes, James Caan, Fran Drescher, Rebecca Gayheart and Chris Kattan cameo in the hilarious opening scene.

To my recollection, I've only enjoyed one film with the main star being a wrestler. That was John Carpenter's They Live, but I can now add Santa's Slay. I don't think anybody is ever going to accuse Bill Goldberg of being a great actor but he doesn't need to be, his sheer size and ability to throw people around is sufficient. Emilie De Raven who I liked from The Hills Have Eyes remake and Lost was pretty good, Robert Culp and Dave Thomas were decent in their roles. It was fun seeing Saul Rubinek in a small role, I absolutely loved his performance in True Romance. I wasn't very keen on Douglas Smith who is in a lot of the movie.

Santa doesn't have any reindeer in this pulling his sleigh, instead he has a huge bison and it looks great. There's quite a high body count, especially in the opening 45 minutes, and most of the deaths are reasonably creative. As you would expect, the film isn't remotely scary but it does succeed with quite a few laughs. I'm not sure if I liked this because I expected it to be pathetic, but if you switch off and enjoy it for what it is, it's a very decent movie. Three stars seem about right, even though it's much better than I thought it'd be, it certainly isn't a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I told you that you'd better watch out, 14 Jan 2010
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Santa's Slay [DVD] (DVD)
I don't know what it is about Christmas and horror, but it's amazing how the two fit together so well. I've enjoyed many a gruesome Christmas-based horror movie in my time, and Santa's Slay definitely makes my list of favorites. No doubt we've all noticed at some point that Santa is spelled with the same letters as Satan. That can't be a coincidence, can it? What do we really know about this Santa guy? We know the man works one frickin' day a year - that can't be on the level. He almost has to run his whole elf-based enterprise as some kind of sweat shop in order to turn out so many toys every year. Nobody in his right mind would live in such an extreme environment as the North Pole unless he has something to hide. During those months without sunlight, the man has to watch every step he makes to avoid stepping in reindeer patties or little elves, and you know he has to get tired of 364 days straight of Mrs. Claus. Oh, he says it's all for the good little boys and girls all over the world, but what if that isn't true? What if Santa actually hates little kids? Can you imagine how much rage such a man would have built up inside after all these years?

In this dark twist on the Santa legend, old St. Nick is actually the son of Satan who lost a bet to an angel. As the loser, he was compelled to spend one thousand years spreading joy to the hearts of boys and girls all over the world. He hated every minute of it, but now those thousand years have passed and Santa is finally free to unleash his true evil nature. Eschewing the traditional eight reindeer for a single evil "helldeer," he guides his sleigh to Hell Township and starts laying the smacketh down all over town. This ain't your traditional fat old Santa; this dude is as big and bad as they come. This is a man who took the world of professional wrestling by storm in the late 1990s, a man I watched lay out Hulk Hogan with his patented Jackhammer finishing move to win the WCW Heavyweight Championship in what has to be my greatest wrestling memory of all time. If you had told me back then that Goldberg would one day play Santa Claus in a movie, I would have questioned your mental capacity. As it turns out, though, the filmmakers couldn't have chosen a better actor for this part. While there is definitely a lot of comedy to enjoy alongside all of the killing in Santa's Slay, Bill Goldberg never goes too far over the top, even when he's dishing out ironic Christmas clichés to his victims (and, of course, he's a natural at throwing people around like ragdolls).

The film gets off to a rousing start, as Santa takes out an entire star-studded, highly dysfunctional family. I can see taking out the likes of Fran Drescher and Chris Kattan - but Rebecca Gayheart? Come on, man! You know this guy's pure evil right from the start. And this little mass slaughter is only the beginning, as Santa basically goes through town killing people in all sorts of ways. It's amazing how many Christmas decorations can be used as implements of death. The only hope of putting an end to his rampage (which, oddly enough given all of the dead bodies stacking up, no one else in town seems to notice) seems to lie with teenaged Nicolas Yuleson (Douglas Smith), his exceedingly cute friend Mary (Emilie de Ravin), and his crazy old grandpa (Robert Culp). It turns out that there's a lot about Grandpa that Nicolas could never have imagined.

With its great mix of murderous mayhem and comedy, Santa's Slay makes for a wickedly entertaining little movie. Some of the sleigh-flying scenes feature some of the worst special effects I've seen in a long time, but those brief moments really take nothing away from all of the things the movie does quite well. The entire cast is great, the funny lines in the script are actually funny, and the pacing is spot on. It does have a rather short runtime of 78 minutes, but it's also the kind of "tell your friends" movie you'll want to watch more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One to watch every Christmas, 30 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Santa's Slay [DVD] (DVD)
I rented this movie with my lovefilm subscription and loved it so much that I deceided that I had to own it. If you love Evil Dead 3 or Tucker and Dale vs Evil you will love this movie or by the same token if you love this movie and haven't seen the other 2 go get them now.

I was amazed at how many different ways Santa killed people and didn't repeat himself once, who knew that he was that inventive :) ( sorry about that but couldn't help myself).

I will admit that some of the acting is a bit iffy but you have to accept that with young actors, just concentrate on the killing and mayhem and you'll be adding this to your favorite funny horror movie list after about the first 5 killings. Hope this movie will slay you ( there I go again) as much as it did me, Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So bad but so funny, 31 Dec 2011
This review is from: Santa's Slay [DVD] (DVD)
Loved this from the onset, Santa as never seen before.Muscle bound Bill Goldburg plays the part with his tounge firmly in his cheek and a evil glint in his eye.Sure ain't one for the little ones to see as he is NO jolly bearded happy chappy we all know and love from the soft drinks adverts:)(come on you all know the brand i'm talking about with the annoying 'Holiday is comming' jingle). Anywho I loved it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Santa's Slay [DVD]
Santa's Slay [DVD] by David Steiman (DVD - 2008)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews