Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting first-person perspective on a legendary rise and fall
Firstly, the BluRay aspect of this film. It was ok, however the early fights that are shown are just as dodgy in quality as I suspect they would be on DVD. Mike Tyson talking to camera is shown in immaculate clarity though. You can see every scar, mark and pore on his fight-worn and worldly-worn face.

All that aside, it was an interesting 90 minutes spent...
Published on 28 April 2009 by Jim Red

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent Documentary but doesnt do his boxing career justice.
This is not as good as the other reviews indicate, at least not in my opinion anyway. It is a decent enough documentary but not worth the acolades it has been recieving. The structure of this film is too fragmented and I was hoping for a more indepth look at Tyson's career. Instead; this films starts with a painfully long monologue from Tyson about his upbringing, his...
Published on 23 April 2009 by N. Thompson


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars range of emotions, powerful movie., 14 Aug 2009
By 
A great movie, no, there is no drama or acting, just a man exposed.

From growing up in brooklyn, his convictions, girls, desires and fights, this film hides nothing and begs no questions about Mike tyson.

I had watery eyes at one point, in sympathy for Mike, but at other times laughed due to his wit. My eyes were glued to the screen and my emotions from sorrow to joy were attacted to this film, it is a very powerful one indeed.

For those with any interest in boxing, or even know anything about the fighter himself or just hearing his name, you will not regret seeing this movie.

Tyson is not the animal the world painted him, he was truly a victim of circumstances his whole life.

If you think you know Tyson... then watch this movie, see how wrong you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent documentary - must see, 24 Mar 2011
By 
Vitz (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easily the best documentary I have seen about Mike Tyson. Covers everything in Tyson's life and career with some rare fantastic behind the scenes footage (some I had not seen before including his early years with Cus D'mato, in his changing room before a fight, early boxing bouts as teenager). Covers all major bouts in his pro career and all the "out of the ring" issues. Includes straight talking description of Don King, D Washington, R Givens and moving & touching piece on Cus D'mato - where Tyson teared up and almost unable to speak of his mentor.

Must see for anybody - sports fans or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars insightful, 6 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
movie is fascinating. The advertised 4 hours of fights are really only 3 hours, or less taking out interupted reviews by randoms. Tyson's fights are shown mainly as snippets and there arent all his crucial fights. The extras look sloppy and badly put together and abruptly end, however, movie is great and top value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Aug 2014
By 
P. Tobin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SERVICE, 14 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
GREAT SERVICE THE ONLY PROBLEM WAS THE FILM ,DRAGS ON A BIT ,BUT DOES SHOW A SIDE OF TYSON MOST HAVE NEVER SEEN SO WOULD SAY ITS WORTH A LOOK?/:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Iron no more, 14 April 2009
By 
S. Valli (United kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is more a Biography of Tyson the man rather than the fighter inside the ring, there is only very limited insight to his fights which by the way are not shown in chronicle order & his methods of training & how he mastered the D'Amato beekaboo style is hardly mentioned. Although he is brutally honest, he does not even mention 'Jimmy Jacobs' who was also like a father figure to him. Not surprisingly no mention of the Teddy Atlas confrontation incident either.
A good insight to a very contradicting man that is: Mike Tyson.
I give it a very generous 4 star!
for fans who are looking for more of a boxing Bio
may need to look elsewhere i.e. (Tyson: the inside story)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one and only, 20 Mar 2009
By 
Thomas Brunner "Tom" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This has got to be one of the best documentaries ever made about the best boxer ever. I really can't wait for it to come out!! Beyond The Glory was great and i'm sure this is going to be even better. You will not be disapointed about this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars u naughty boy, 12 Mar 2012
heres a great fighter who only went and wreck it. could of easy been greatest. this film is very good. ears taste nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not a 'movie'., 20 April 2009
By 
J T (London UK) - See all my reviews
In my opinion Mike Tyson is the best heavyweight boxer ever, at his peak unbeatable, but like most genius' a floored individual. This is a fine insight into the mind of a troubled soul who in his own words unravels the mystery and circus that has become 'Tyson'. Boxing fan or not this is essential viewing. I've only given it 3 stars because it's not a movie, it's a documentry, and if the subject matter wasn't so 'smoke and mirrors' and he didn't command such a high fee for the interview it probably would have gone straight to television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ., 6 Jan 2010
Thought this was a movie but it's more of a documentary....still good, some classic fight clips aswell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tyson - The Movie [Blu-ray] [2008]
Tyson - The Movie [Blu-ray] [2008] by James Toback (Blu-ray - 2009)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews