Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful addition
I shoot RAW images almost exclusively and invariably post process them in Lightroom and Photoshop. Therefore white balance can always be corrected by the software. However, it's a fairly time consuming process when tens or hundreds of images are concerned and I'd prefer to get a good idea of how realistic my colours are in the initial thumbnail previews.

The...
Published on 20 Jan. 2011 by Michael Shea

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Neat and handy when walking around
The perfect size to slip-in to the case of a compact camera and being plastic they are water-resistant and wipe-clean.

I'm pleased with this purchase: white balance and exposure can be quickly set when out and about, when previously I would not have had a grey card handy. My images are much better exposed as a result.

One mark off for the...
Published on 26 May 2011 by AS BUNTING


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful addition, 20 Jan. 2011
By 
Michael Shea (Algarve, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka Premium Reference Color & White Balance Grey Card Set With Quick-Release Neck Strap for Digital Photography (Camera)
I shoot RAW images almost exclusively and invariably post process them in Lightroom and Photoshop. Therefore white balance can always be corrected by the software. However, it's a fairly time consuming process when tens or hundreds of images are concerned and I'd prefer to get a good idea of how realistic my colours are in the initial thumbnail previews.

The main advantages of this product are that it's totally accurate and reliable, and easy to carry around and access when needed. I think the adhesive label that another reviewer went to great pains to remove was intended for focusing purposes, presumably where portraits are concerned, although I doubt I'll often use it as such.

Well made and reasonably priced. I am totally satisfied by my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Neat and handy when walking around, 26 May 2011
By 
AS BUNTING (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka Premium Reference Color & White Balance Grey Card Set With Quick-Release Neck Strap for Digital Photography (Camera)
The perfect size to slip-in to the case of a compact camera and being plastic they are water-resistant and wipe-clean.

I'm pleased with this purchase: white balance and exposure can be quickly set when out and about, when previously I would not have had a grey card handy. My images are much better exposed as a result.

One mark off for the ridiculously large lanyard, though, which is cumbersome. Thankfully I had a spare Canon wrist-strap handy which is the perfect size for binding the cards.

September update
---------

Unfortunately the grey and black cards are beginning to show signs of wear.

Their tone surfaces are laminated onto a white core card and where the cards rub together when stored the grey and black surfaces are wearing-through and revealing the white core, leading to a mottled appearance ( I've attached a photo to the product gallery ). It's not yet sufficient to affect metering but is disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the money - a must have, 26 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka Premium Reference Color & White Balance Grey Card Set With Quick-Release Neck Strap for Digital Photography (Camera)
Ok, so the price will have you thinking this is no pro kit, but don't be fooled. Although not as good as say X-Rite kit, it works very well, and you can't argue with the price. This is an essential piece of kit for anyone wanting to control their shooting environment and control the WB - especially in post processing. The grey has given me excellent results with my white balance, a very natural colour that was better than the presets in my software (Capture One) and the white and black cards give that little bit of extra control. Someone else mentioned the sticker and that it was hard to take off - that's because you're not supposed to according to the instructions - it's there as a focusing tool if you need it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple easy product, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka Premium Reference Color & White Balance Grey Card Set With Quick-Release Neck Strap for Digital Photography (Camera)
This is what every photographer needs, it's a great little package with three cards, they are compact so easily stored in any bag. The clip makes it easy to detach a card when required and the neck strap can keep them close to hand when shooting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 5 Jan. 2012
By 
U. Cocca (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka Premium Reference Color & White Balance Grey Card Set With Quick-Release Neck Strap for Digital Photography (Camera)
This is a must-have for any photographer to reproduce colours with high fidelity. Simple to use and very cheap!
I would reccommend it to everyone seriously interested in photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka Premium Reference Color & White Balance Grey Card Set With Quick-Release Neck Strap for Digital Photography (Camera)
The cards come with a lanyard to place over your head, this makes it very easy to get to and to use. The cards are also small enough to fit into any back pocket for easy access.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 25 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka Premium Reference Color & White Balance Grey Card Set With Quick-Release Neck Strap for Digital Photography (Camera)
they do exactly what was described, brilliant item added to my camera, so pleased i bought this. i use it not all the time but when i do portrait shots, the results are great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect cards, 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka Premium Reference Color & White Balance Grey Card Set With Quick-Release Neck Strap for Digital Photography (Camera)
What you see is what you get - Nice credit card sized cards that fit nicely in my bag.
Have used these in photoshop to set white balance on studio shoots & i can report that
they render colour perfectly.
Here's a realy simple tutorial if you dont know how to use these in PS
Simply copy & paste the following sentence into google
( How To Balance Colours Using A Grey Card Within Photoshop )
Highly recommend this product!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Nov. 2011
By 
C. Young (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka Premium Reference Color & White Balance Grey Card Set With Quick-Release Neck Strap for Digital Photography (Camera)
Does the job perfectly at a reasonable price. The neck lanyard is possibly a bit un-necessary but it's easily unclipped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An essential buy, 31 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opteka Premium Reference Color & White Balance Grey Card Set With Quick-Release Neck Strap for Digital Photography (Camera)
Very good, thick plastic cards. Always handy to have for that perfect colour when shooting in various locations. I've never trusted camera's auto white balance, they never seem to get it right so this is ideal to keep in your camera bag. Small but perfectly formed, just take a photo of it in the light thats available and then when your post processing use it as your datum point for white balance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews