Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 12 May 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Serpent's Egg (Audio CD)
Looking back on it, Dead Can Dance were a remarkably consistant outfit. "Host of Seraphim" follows right off where "Persephone: the gathering of flowers" (finalé from their previous album) finished. There's no denying its one of the bands finest moments. Elsewhere there's medieval polyphony, the delightfuly Celtic-tinged "Writing on my fathers hand", and Brendon Perrys excellent Ulysses. Its amazing to think that this was recorded in the mid 1980's, is so completely removed from the style of that period. Then again, this music doesn't seem to belong to any set timespan. Oh, & great cover art. If you liked this try "Within the Real of a Dying Sun" & "Aion", also by Dead Can Dance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonder at the Avant Garde genius that is Dead Can Dance, 5 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Serpents Egg [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I remember a freind of mine playing this album to me when it first came out. I was absolutely stunned, I had never heard anything like this before. I became a dedicated fan and was lucky enough to see them play a rare live concert in 1990. For anyone unfamiliar with Dead Can Dance they are an eclectic collection of medieval, tribal, gothic and ambient. But this really does not do them credit. The first track is quite simply awesome and I defy anyone with depth and taste not to be touched. If you recognise the vocals that is because Lisa Gerard ,the female half of Dead Can Dance, now spends her time making film soundtracks with Hans Zimmer. The stunning Gladiator soundtracks are a testament to her vocal talents. Together with Brendon Fraser they have created some of the most diverse and beautiful music I have ever heard. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 28 Aug 2006
By 
This review is from: The Serpent's Egg (Audio CD)
`The Serpent's Egg' seems not so much an ordinary musical album, but a sacred offering. It is profoundly affecting in ways I can scarcely describe; this music is deeply mystical in an almost primal way. It conjures up visions of Byzantine churches and ancient temples filled with the rich smoke of incense offerings, it awakens notions of divinity, the sacred and the profane, with a dreamlike elegance. It has the power to sweep the vestiges of the modern world from your mind. Listen by candlelight and let Lisa Gerrard's otherworldly glossolalia draw you in, from the ethereal `Host of Seraphim' to the hauntingly beautiful `The Writing On My Father's Hand', and the narcotic beat of `Chant of the Paladin' to the heartrending, yearning call of `Song of Sophia'. Brendan Perry's heavier voice balances the album well with the reflective sound of `Severance' and `In the Kingdom of the Blind'.

This album might naturally appeal to those with spiritual or mystical leanings, but I would recommend it to any lover of music looking for a deeper, more unusual musical experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best DCD Album. Magnificent., 8 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Serpent's Egg (Audio CD)
This genre is depressingly sparse. Yet, DCD manage to get it exactly right. The first couple of tracks on this album are perfect. Per-fect. Masterful. Ultimate, majestic. Brilliant. The rest are great, but the first couple are fantastic. Nothing else I have found in this genre (yet) matches them. Suggestions welcome.
Highest praise also for Within the Realm of a Dying Sun, esp Persephone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Information on the SACD release, 21 May 2008
By 
S. J. Webbon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Serpents Egg (Audio CD)
This is a special, limited de-luxe edition. It is a STEREO, HYBRID SACD - in other words, it is not a multi-channel release but it CAN be played on a regular CD player and does NOT require special SACD hardware. The album has been re-mastered by Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab in the USA and these pressings are packaged in Japanese, mini-vinyl replicas of the original sleeves, including replicas of any inner sleeves, plus an additional booklet with lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb album, 14 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Serpent's Egg (Audio CD)
with mystic soul vibrating vocals this album gives you a peace that can only described as erie yet beautiful, calming yet deadly, you can almost feel death is soothing you in to your clay overcoat, to just as you surrender, jolt you back out again in to a primeval celtic hacker, which gets you bouncing and bearing your teeth at the modern entrapments about you and the cat if near by, although like a fish on a hook your lured back in to spicy middle eastern mantras conjuring up images of belly dancers on the caravan routs of old, dancing round the night time fires, you half expect them to be painted blue and captain Kirk is looking on concerned with a sweated brow, that is the modern yet ancient mix this album gives out. as with there later albums its rich and deeply textured, if you like Greenaway type visuals Lisa Gerrard is the vocal embodiment, with a soothing voice that stroke your soul, not supriseing the tv media gripped this album with both hands, using it as backing music for just about everything, from nature/history programs to love in sifi metropolis, if you want to get lost in the past whilst being able to touching the future this is the album. personally it was the music i was listening to when my daughter was born it holds that much weight, as music for life changing events wether it death or to be born too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The hot wind of summer, 30 May 2013
This review is from: The Serpent's Egg (Audio CD)
4AD Records have always been the charm for me. Artists and particular sounds, covers all beautiful, very comfortable. Dead Can Dance is one of the groups that I loved most. The mysterious voices so soft and then as a powerful new force. This album remains their most successful for me, a masterpiece that could come after years, and instead they publish it after 2 or 3 albums.
It seems to be in the Middle Ages, the Odyssey, the court wizard Merlin, but it all happens in 1989.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Cd, i have been looking for it at ..., 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Serpent's Egg (Audio CD)
Excellent Cd,i have been looking for it at the local music shops as a import for years; unsuccessfully.Thanks to the internet and Amazon UK i can now enjoy listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing gothic, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Serpent's Egg (Audio CD)
Here's the thing - all the sounds, both vocal and instrumental are extremely evocative and you'll never have heard anything like like it. But... What Gerrard sings is not another language and there is no meaning in her words, just emotion. If you can live with that, then it is simply awesome. But for me, it detracts a star.

I would listen to Opium from their recent album on repeat - and have done on a recent flight - as it is far more rewarding due to the marriage of insightful lyrics and mood.

But there is a whole lot of mood on display here and it really should be bought and tasted. I can't gee enough of Host of the Seraphim. This track is worth the price of the CD alone.

I'd encourage you to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Dead Can Dance, 7 Dec 2012
By 
B. Billion (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Serpent's Egg (Audio CD)
Well, what can I say? Lisa Gerrard and Brendan Perry are among the best voices around. Brilliant album, like their others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Serpent's Egg
The Serpent's Egg by Dead Can Dance (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews