Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does Exactly What it Says on the Tin
Well, it's the Dark Ages. Not much to do, then. Mourn the slow passage of time and the annual failure of the crops (can't blame global warming though). Lament slow existence. From the opening spiritual, soaring surge, this album presents an absolute enigma of mediaval loss. Never before when standing in the ruins of a desolate abbey, could you hear it cry out and speak...
Published on 21 Nov 2000 by S. Porter

versus
4 of 38 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars We must learn from our mistakes...
Don't get me wrong. Please. I think DCD are great and represent one of the principles in a genre that is depressingly sparse (technically called 'Dark Wave', I think?).
This album starts out okay, first few tracks the usual, what we expect from DCD. But then they appear to have experimented mixing their music with sort a sort of jazzy upbeatness that simply fails to...
Published on 7 May 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does Exactly What it Says on the Tin, 21 Nov 2000
By 
S. Porter (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spleen And Ideal (Audio CD)
Well, it's the Dark Ages. Not much to do, then. Mourn the slow passage of time and the annual failure of the crops (can't blame global warming though). Lament slow existence. From the opening spiritual, soaring surge, this album presents an absolute enigma of mediaval loss. Never before when standing in the ruins of a desolate abbey, could you hear it cry out and speak of its glory and it's pain, in one, dark raven's fell swoop. The cover of this album depicts a cowled and hooded woman holding up a cut-out star against the backdrop of a crumbing edifice of a building. That's what the music sounds like. This album is an orchestral and choral masterpiece of darkness and twilight. The vocals are sublime and primordal. The music is deep, dark and supremely uplifting. A tapestry of mood and elation. Rarely will an album make its mark if you seek your own spirituality. If not, I hear the new Westlife album is....different to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lyrically and musically, a tower of strength, 6 May 2003
By 
M. Jacobs "Mark Jacobs" (Harrow, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spleen And Ideal (Audio CD)
This is the DCD's finest hour. I was initially taken aback by its more earthy and mournful feel, and it took me a few years of maturing to see it in its correct perspective - a deep, sincere and cutting appraisal of how society and modern ways have pulled the wool over our eyes. The lyrics to The Cardinal Sin and Indoctrination are staggering. Musically, again, it takes a while for the rhythms and complex interplay to work on you, but they transcend most of the finest pieces of musica eterna around. I simply love this, and, out of my vast collection, I would have to take this and Fripp and Eno Evening Star to the desert island with me, if forced to choose. Get it if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black and White, 16 Aug 2013
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spleen and Ideal: Remastered (Audio CD)
Whilst SPK launched Songs of Byzantine Flowers in 1986, DCD pieced this together from the fragments of an archeological past dig circa 1985. It marked a huge shift in the musical perception of the era, a retreat from the naked aggression of post punk to a dream reverie based on specific tones and lyrics evoking the mysticism of inner phantoms. Incense, blood and a dose of Jung all led the blindfolded initiate through the corridors of walled up past generations, each arm outstretched to place within the palm the keys to these chants and observations.

The male voice beams within the rolling realms of baritoned Scott Walker and Ian Curtis whilst delivering a desolate cry segueing into a croon. He laments the end of the world soaked in blood red tears. Meanwhile the female tones climb upwards to sail upon the clouds as the soul takes leave of the flesh as she gloats amongst the stars. Male and female, earth and sky, water and fire - the two complementary elements duel throughout the maze, creating the dialectic, the engine of continual change.

Music to ponder upon the world rather than be distracted from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dead can Dance, 26 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. G. Ross "Glenn" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spleen and Ideal: Remastered (Audio CD)
This album is definately for those who already know the other dead can dance albums, really good to have a remastered copy. My collection is complete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FOOD FOR MIND, 26 Mar 2010
By 
Riccardo Daini (Pisa, ITALY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spleen and Ideal: Remastered (Audio CD)
In case you'll remain with a [] banknote as your whole financial asset, don't esitate to use it for buying this masterpiece. It's absolutely food for mind. Impressive. Emotional. A definitive help to improve the quality of your life.
Believe me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That is more like it, 13 Jun 2012
This review is from: Spleen and Ideal: Remastered (Audio CD)
Item was as advertised. A brand new unopened CD. Well packaged and prompt delivery. An item not easily obtained at my local music store arrived in time for someone's birthdayThe Serpents Egg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
By 
F. Rodenbrug "frank1616" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spleen and Ideal: Remastered (Audio CD)
Dead can dance at their best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Information on the SACD release, 21 May 2008
By 
S. J. Webbon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spleen And Ideal (Audio CD)
This is a special, limited de-luxe edition. It is a STEREO, HYBRID SACD - in other words, it is not a multi-channel release but it CAN be played on a regular CD player and does NOT require special SACD hardware. The album has been re-mastered by Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab in the USA from new digital transfers by the original producer, John A. Rivers, and these pressings are packaged in Japanese, mini-vinyl replicas of the original sleeves, including replicas of any inner sleeves, plus an additional booklet with lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good CD, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spleen and Ideal: Remastered (Audio CD)
I really enjoy Dead Can Dance - the wonderful voices of Brendan and Lisa and the drawn in experience of a wide range of musical influences. Yea a very good album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uhm... Amazon..., 4 Feb 2008
By 
Mark C. (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spleen And Ideal (Audio CD)
This album is on 4AD-how could you miss a barn door that wide?
I always thought the hooded figure was Lisa-holding up the star as if a Magic Wand, demanding to no one in particular, STOP THIS MADNESS-to an uncaring destructive civilization
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spleen and Ideal: Remastered
Spleen and Ideal: Remastered by Dead Can Dance (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews