Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars16
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.93
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2006
For a fan of the Scorpions, 'Lonesome Crow' provides a fascinating insight into the band's early work. Marking the genesis of their recording career, the Scorpions would progress rapidly from the free-flowing psychedelic rock on offer here onto the more intense and immediate hard rock / heavy metal that they became known for in the Eighties. However, for someone merely interested in what the band sounded like in their more experimental Seventies period, 'Lonesome Crow' is not a good place to start.

That's not to suggest that 'Lonesome Crow' is in any way a bad album; there are plenty of great moments to recommend what is actually a surprisingly coherent and mature recording for a band still in its infancy. The twin-guitar attack so crucial to the latter-day Scorpions sound is already in place and Klaus Meine's throat shredding vocal style is clearly evident. The songs are well-crafted and the English lyrics, despite being sometimes rather clumsy, are still impressive for such a youthful German band (and show that they were keen to attract an international audience). The overall ebb and flow of the record and the moods it creates are rather enchanting and it rewards the patient and attentive listener.

The chilled-out groove of 'I'm Going Mad' is pierced with Meine's impassion vocals, 'It All Depends' and 'Inheritance' showcase some versatile guitar work from the teenage Michael Schenker and though live-standard 'In Search of the Peace of Mind' is mostly as clunky as its title, the finale is deliciously sinister. The last third of the album is taken up with the title track; clocking in at over thirteen minutes, it's easily the longest song recorded by the band and it's also the most forgettable on the album, starting out promisingly enough with more impressive fretwork from Michael, yet subsequently meandering off and never regaining focus.

Any genuine fan of the Scorpions should not only own a copy of 'Lonesome Crow', but also appreciate its finer moments, as there are plenty for the aficionado to enjoy. Any else, esp. those looking for the sound of the band in their heyday, should approach this with an open mind.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2008
bizarrely, this album bears no resemblance to the act that the scorpions turned into immediately afterward. whether this was down to michael schenkers involvement i dont know, but this album is so far out of the scorpions canon that listening to it you cant really believe its the same band.
not that the scorpions were a bad act cos they most definately had some great moments in the following years, and continue to do so, but this is one hell of an album and, for me, it just walks all over everything else that followed it.

the music offered up on this amazing debut is a quite stunning mix of prog/space rock with some truly heavy moments weaving in and out. meine never sang better and the guitars are raw and vicious throughout whilst still managing to remain very melodic. the coda in 'in search of peace of mind' sends chills down the spine and meines scream in 'im going mad' does likewise. fantastic arrangements and a great mix of songs makes this an indispensible album for people into real rock music with balls. this has got it all. its simply fantastic.

i see also that theres a re-mastered version out now. this being the case i will be seeking that out immediately and i suggest you do too. the production was crystal clear and powerful on vinyl so i imagine the re-master sounds even more awesome. this is a MONSTER of an album. get it and be prepared to be amazed
33 comments|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2012
here we have pysch rockin early metal. For fans of this band like me, this was there most psych rock inspired release and least accessible generally. I like it but even in the 1980's fans were devided on this one. It has michael schenker on lead guitar and the band looked like typical shaggy early seventies rockers with beards here. They had yet to crystalize their sound but still made a very good early metal release. "i'm going mad' is a incredible rocker that they should still play. Sadly they don't play many songs from pre 1979 these days anymore. The rest of this is from it's era , typical well played psych rock early metal and that's a style I like , much like judas priest's first few releases.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2016
I brought this album back in 1989 when it had just been released on CD in the UK (I still have it now), and when I heard it for the first time I was quite surprised. Expecting the usual run-of-the-mill early metal style you'd hear from UK/US acts, I was very impressed by the use of these voices and chants on a few of the tracks, mixed with the heavy metal riffs. Best way I can describe the music on Lonesome Crow is, say, the combination of the Yardbird's Still I'm Sad and Heart Full Of Soul mixed up with the early metal of Black Sabbath and Budgie. Prog like time changes and maybe a bit of blues with some jazz riffing on top.
I'm Going Mad opens with a slow drum sound before giving way to a simple, but effective rhythm guitar part; and then comes the guitar solo, played by a young Michael Schenker. He was a mere 17 years of age when the Scorpions recorded this album, and plays with such maturity that you would think it was coming from someone much older. Leave Me I quite like too. This haunting rock ballad that speeds up after a few mins, comes complete with some eerie vocals and background noise and is nice to listen to. Action is a rocking tune with a strong blues feel to it, thou the one I like best is In Search of the Peace of Mind. This fantastic tune; way ahead of its time; begins with some acoustic strumming in the first half, while the second part of the song has some, if not the best ever, vocal performances by Klaus Meine. Screaming and howling over a slow and doomy guitar riff. This was death/doom metal some 15 years before the term existed!
Overall; Lonesome Crow sounds like nothing else that any of the UK/US heavy rock acts were playing. I 'spose it is a little comparable to the early work of other German rockers like Lucifers Friend and Eloy. Fans of Scorpions later, and successful records may not like this album, as it is a little "far out", but those into early metal looking for something slightly different, and especially those into German heavy rock from the 70s will, I think, love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
This is the first CD from this German band. It's an album that perhaps those who already know the albums of the 1980s or posterores may initially surprising. The disc is a typical German hard rock with a mixture of progressive rock, a not so busy vocal as in hard, slower guitar, but it's a good album. It shows the initial proposal of the band and its versatility which made the band despite changing some musicians make it big today. It's different and valid for those who like German progressive rock 70s rock and even for those who favor a hard. Okay! Note 8.0.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2006
I bought this on red vinyl back in the late seventies, back then it sounded like a very mature album for a new band. It reminded me of the overall atmosphere that the first Black Sabbath album conjures. I found it dark and eerie, fab album, buy it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
Good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2008
This is it the Scorpions first ever album, and a good rock album it is,also the only early album featuring Michael and Rudolf Schenker together on guitars..touring with `UFO` the group loose Michael. Uli Roth helps to complete tour dates but declines invitation to be a full member,this is another story for their second album. Early German rock..sign here!! all in all a good place to start.
22 comments|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2011
It was the first time that I listened I'm goin' mad on vinyl... yeah!!! I recommend it... you'll get high just listening this album... it's crazy, heavy and very nice album..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
Great album.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.