Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Idea
I don't normally bother to write reviews but i am so impressed with this product that i had to let other dog owners know how good it is.
I have a Yorkshire Terrier who weighs 2.8KG and this is just the right size for her (she can turn around to look at me or look left or right as well as facing frontwards)and she loves sitting in it. Some products mention that the...
Published on 16 April 2011 by Eileen

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disapointment
The basket arrived quickly and I was initially impressed with the construction and design features which differentiated it from an ordinary bike basket.

However, my dog is a small Jack Russell (weighing 5kg) and although he is happy enough in the basket, the bracket/fixing system is inadequate as it fouls the gear levers and allows the basket to slip onto the...
Published on 1 Aug 2011 by Jan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Idea, 16 April 2011
This review is from: Trixie Bicycle Pet Carrier Front Box For Dog Puppy Bike (Misc.)
I don't normally bother to write reviews but i am so impressed with this product that i had to let other dog owners know how good it is.
I have a Yorkshire Terrier who weighs 2.8KG and this is just the right size for her (she can turn around to look at me or look left or right as well as facing frontwards)and she loves sitting in it. Some products mention that the support underneath the carrier was not strong enough but this one is fine. I was slightly concerned about the nylon straps for holding it onto the handle bars (as other makes i looked at came with a solid bracket) but they are absolutely fine and with the support of the bracket underneath the carrier does not slide around. It is sturdy and has padding on all sides as well as extra padding around the rim. Using your own harness you can fasten that onto the clip inside the carrier. My only complaint was that it didn't come with any instructions, just a short paragraph on the box it came in, which wasn't helpful. It's not difficult to put it together but would have been handy to know to fit the brackets underneath before you put the paddings inside, as you have to pull the piece of velco apart to get the bracket in.
So now my Yorkie doesn't have to stay at home when i want to go out for a cycle, and now i can take her to the beach without having to get the car out and use petrol. Although it is quite expensive with the money i will save on petrol during the summer will pay for this product.
A must have for any small dog owner. I just feel sorry for owners with large dogs that can't take theirs on a bike!!
If you buy this product from this seller on Amazon, they send it recorded delivery and i received it the day after ordering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little dog travels in style, 17 July 2011
This review is from: Trixie Bicycle Pet Carrier Front Box For Dog Puppy Bike (Misc.)
Fantastic item, the dog loves it!! All little dogs should travel this way. It's the best doggy travel system for bicycles I've found on line!! Look no further..... it's smart functional easy to assemble but best of all washable!! Hope you like it as much as we do!! : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disapointment, 1 Aug 2011
By 
Jan (Lancaster, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Trixie Bicycle Pet Carrier Front Box For Dog Puppy Bike (Misc.)
The basket arrived quickly and I was initially impressed with the construction and design features which differentiated it from an ordinary bike basket.

However, my dog is a small Jack Russell (weighing 5kg) and although he is happy enough in the basket, the bracket/fixing system is inadequate as it fouls the gear levers and allows the basket to slip onto the front tyre.

I have rigged up extra support using bungy ropes but after only 4 to 5 hours of cycling the stitching has started to come undone.

This product is probably fine for very small dogs and old fashioned bikes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don,t buy, 17 Jun 2012
This review is from: Trixie Bicycle Pet Carrier Front Box For Dog Puppy Bike (Misc.)
The basket is fine however the method of securing is totally inadequate insufficiently braced, and the handle bar securing would foul brake levers and gears,
if it was aimed at carrying children it would be banned. Yet another imported product not fit for purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Recommend - for sooo many reasons, 2 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trixie Bicycle Pet Carrier Front Box For Dog Puppy Bike (Misc.)
My dog is a small terrier that weighs 5kgs, to be honest I don't feel safe putting her in this box without trying to fit something in it to make it more sturdy as the minute you put her in it the box beginings to collapse (sideways) - the box then leans forward (with her weight) and is very close to my front tyre which makes riding very scary.

I wouldn't recommend it unless your dog is a tiny dog (least than 5kgs) OR you are happy to try to put another box inside to hold it into shape but then you are adding more weight to your bike and going down hill (if you have a lightish bike) feels scary and not safe..... I feel I have wasted my money on this product as it is very basic. The straps are poorly made and start to come unstitiched quite easily..............sorry I really did hope for great things with this!...........you might be better off making something yourself (or asking a man to) :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok piece of kit for the money, 17 Nov 2013
This review is from: Trixie Bicycle Pet Carrier Front Box For Dog Puppy Bike (Misc.)
You need to be careful when using this box, it needs to be firmly attached to the handle bars, obviously, however, its not as straight forward as it looks, it may be that the kit just is not compatible with some bikes. I found that on my cross country mtb with its hydraulic and stuff that attaching behind all of the kit and just on the bar works. The tension on the two straps needs to be equal and also thickening the headset brace with insulation tape made me able to place the brace into my shocks, and with the suspension locked out its very stable. So yes it works and you can ride along with your little dog in the basket... But... If its not set up right and you don't take careful test runs around the block and tweak it till it works, you will end up with your best friend wrapped around your spokes and or under a car.

It needs to be solid with only a tiny amount of play. The fabric and materials are good quality and it does work. The -2 Stars is because of how unintuitive the set up is and lack of detailed instructions, which, makes this a risky buy if you are not the type of person that wants to work out a problem.

Its good but you need some patience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love this product, 19 July 2011
This review is from: Trixie Bicycle Pet Carrier Front Box For Dog Puppy Bike (Misc.)
I bought this item a few days ago.
The delivery was very speedy!!i have a long hair chihuahua
who i take almost everwhere i go.I placed him in the basket and he loved it,even fell asleep at one point :)
he loves all the attention he gets too!

only thing missing would be a rain cover if we get caught in a down pour.
Would highly recommend this product.It is much better than others i have seen.
A leading bike retailer also was very keen to get their hands on this product, to sell at their shop. They very kindly helped me put it together as i bought a brand new bike for it.

Thank you Amazon for selling these
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy, practical and good value, 15 Mar 2012
This review is from: Trixie Bicycle Pet Carrier Front Box For Dog Puppy Bike (Misc.)
I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of this carrier when it arrived. Hard wearing nylon canvas fabric which is really tough and durable. The removable, cushioned bottom is ideal, adding comfort whilst being easy to remove and wipe down. I found this carrier is also deep enough to put my dogs little towel on the bottom which saves space in the bags and makes it even more comfortable. The instructions are sparse but to be honest, I think they are adequate. I found it easy to clip onto the bike, the fixing is fairly self explanatory. Price wise, this was the cheapest I found for this particular carrier - it was way more expensive on Ebay. Dispatch time was excellent by a reliable courier. 5* all round from me. My little Malshi (Shih Tzu X Maltese Terrier) hated car travel. No matter how small the journey, she always got sick. Now she just enjoys the wind in her hair as we tootle along the coastline.....a result!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ...if you hate your dog..., 10 April 2012
This review is from: Trixie Bicycle Pet Carrier Front Box For Dog Puppy Bike (Misc.)
Quite an amazing feat of engineering to design something that is practically guaranteed to kill the pet you place in this... Astounding lack of rigidity ensures hours of fun for you whilst you try to fix it on your bike, whilst desperately thinking that it must be you... As no one could be selling something so useless...

Once 'attached' be amazed that you even thought for a moment you would endanger your beloved pet (my 3kg cross Jack Russell) by actually riding anywhere as you watch the poor mite cling on to the 'sturdy' basket as it slips down and tips him out... And we haven't even left the hall yet...

With plenty of welding, and possibly better straps, and a degree in engineering , this makes an ideal DIY project for those pet owners who have no regard for their pets safety...

Crap....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trixie Bicycle Pet Carrier Front Box For Dog Puppy Bike (Misc.)
My dog is now older and has had a stroke - this way we can still get fresh air - was unsure if he would gett in but he loves it - yes an older dog can learn new things! Very easy to assemble and fit to the bike - also make people smile as you pass by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews