Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And to think i nearly didn't buy it!
I really liked Need for speed Most wanted although the last two games were not quite up to that standard. So when i saw quite low reviews for this game i nearly left it on the shelves. I'm so glad i decided to buy - i love it.

Over the last 2 weeks this has been my most played game by far leaving COD5 on teh shelf. It's the mixture of exciting races, great cop...
Published on 15 Dec 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad!
To be honest NFS: Undercover is not entirely bad. As a racing game for car euthusiasts it is going to hit the spot - No matter how bad a game is, how can you not forgive it when you can purchase and tune an Escort RS Cosworth amongst other vehicles?

The game itself is relatively similar to Most Wanted & Carbon, but has gained elements from the Burnout series...
Published on 21 Nov 2008 by Sensible Person


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars And to think i nearly didn't buy it!, 15 Dec 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Undercover (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I really liked Need for speed Most wanted although the last two games were not quite up to that standard. So when i saw quite low reviews for this game i nearly left it on the shelves. I'm so glad i decided to buy - i love it.

Over the last 2 weeks this has been my most played game by far leaving COD5 on teh shelf. It's the mixture of exciting races, great cop chases, nice upgrades, great learning curve, nice and funny video scenes that make it so adictive.

But.... this game does have it's faults. It has slowdown at times even when there's not that much happeniong on screen, and the graphics on my HD television don't look that great. BUT i ahve to say this game it still defintley worth playing. If you enjoyed most wanted or just want a decent car racing game i recommend it.

Oh, and in my opinion it's much better than the new midnight club which, for me , was far too hard even after just 30 mins of play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad!, 21 Nov 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Undercover (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
To be honest NFS: Undercover is not entirely bad. As a racing game for car euthusiasts it is going to hit the spot - No matter how bad a game is, how can you not forgive it when you can purchase and tune an Escort RS Cosworth amongst other vehicles?

The game itself is relatively similar to Most Wanted & Carbon, but has gained elements from the Burnout series. You rack up points by implementing certain driving techniques such as drifts, burnouts and j-turns, as well as points for near misses and damage costs to destructable objects. The handling of cars are very 'arcade' - If you want realism, buy Forza Motorsport 2! In the early stages of the game at least, cars seem to grip a little too well and if you've played such games before you'll probably find the AI pretty easy to beat ...

You also receive point stats towards the performance of your car depending on how well you win and/or if you evade the police. A nice little touch, but personally I would have rather shelled out 'in-game' cash to improve my car!

The open-world is impressive with a huge amount of city to explore and is visually on par with Midnight Club: LA. The select of cars is vast, although there aren't a large amount of proper 'tuner' cars or older classics, mostly sports/supercars. All can be modified with performance and visual mods with the ability to apply lots of mods in grouped performance 'packages'.

The sound is interesting. My Cossie has a fantastic roar with a rather nice wastegate chatter, but not sure on the background music. EA Trax seems to have disappeared!

Pros:
+Lots of cars to choose from with the ability to modify.
+Nice menu interface
+Visually rather nice
Cons:
-Storyline bit rubbish
-Similar gameplay to other NFS titles
-Framerate drop with action sequences!

Not bad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars bad graphics, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need For Speed: Undercover (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I wanted to buy this game for Xbox because I had it on the Nintendo Wii and I remember it being really good. but it is nothing like the Nintendo Wii version, the graphics are so poor and was hard to figure out the controls and wasn't as good as the game that I remembered
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeps my grandson occupied for hours., 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need For Speed: Undercover (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I ordered this for my 12 year old grandson and he seems delighted with it. He plays on it for hours and gives it the "thumbs up".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Almost A Return To Form For The Series, 19 Sep 2010
By 
N Thompson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Undercover (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Undercover is a welcome return to the Most Wanted format, in particular with the return of the cop chases, and with an abundance of races and challenges on offer.

Although it is good to see the aforementioned cop chases again, they are a great deal more relentless in their pursuit, even on the lower wanted settings. This often leads to frustrating outcomes to what should have been easy to escape pursuits, and suddenly being spotted in a hiding place just seconds before escaping a pursuit of particular annoyance.

There is a wealth of challenges and cars to work through, and for the first 3/4 of the game I probably would have rated it a 5 star game, despite the difficulty of the cop chases often grinding the nerves. However, for some reason the difficulty level is ramped up unexpectedly in the last quarter of the game - unrealisticly so in fact, which ruins the overall experience. A prime example of this is a mission where you have to steal a Bugatti Veyron. During the pursuit I was stunned to find myself rammed from behind by a cop, then spun out by another, despite maxing out at 250 mph! I was captured and had to do the rather lenghty mission all over again. Many many attempts later it was game over for me.

To get maximum enjoyment from this game come for the first 75% of the game, enjoy it, then walk away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beats Prostreet, 17 Jan 2010
By 
A. Eastwood "JustThatGamer" (Bromley,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Undercover (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If you hated prostreet but love Most wanted you will like this! Pursuits and Freeroam is BACK

The cars are even better, You can get a porshe 911 GT2 and much more and the graphics are GR8

Also the music is a great mix of Rap and Alterative Rock you will like it trust me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Needs To Be Sped Undercover, 28 Nov 2009
By 
C. Masters-Kelly (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Need For Speed: Undercover (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Need for Speed Undercover. Yet another NFS game. Yet another failure? Yes. Need for Speed Undercover is one of the most boring, unexciting and dreadful racing games you could ever possibly play on the Xbox 360.

First, the Story mode. Well, it opens with a police car chase which is actually quite good, but then it all goes downhill from there when a real-life cutscene comes in. And the acting is simply atrocious. Some awful low-budget actors appear almost every twenty minutes or so of gameplay as you unravel the story. In the end, the driving and the missions become the same old, same old and just get repetitive and boring.

Next onto Xbox LIVE gameplay, which is reasonable with several different game types including 'Cops and Robbers' and what not. However, since this game is quite old, the online play is dead, hardly anyone is on it. So, it's practically not LIVE enabled if you were to buy it now.

So, all in all, Need for Speed: Undercover is another dreadful, boring and tedious driving game which EA seem to have rushed out without even thinking. It lacks the winning formula Need for Speed: Undercover 2 had. An awful game, and a product that you must avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the coolest game in the world!!!, 18 Jan 2010
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Undercover (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Need for speed undercover is really cool. you are a car being chased by tons of police cars and you get to knock down cranes and jump of roads that are not finished bulding i love it five star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rent It First, 3 Dec 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Need For Speed: Undercover (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
After reading the reviews I decided to Rent this game and im very glad I didn't buy it.

It is mainly the same as NFS Most Wanted so if you enjoyed that (which i did) then you will like this game. However it is very short. I finished all the single player achievments and 2 multiplayer achievments in around 6 hours.

All in all a fun game to play but I would really question the lifespan of the game. I still have 4 days left to play before taking it back and im bored of it!!

DO NOT compare this game to Forza 2, PGR 3 or 4, Pro Street, the Burnout series or NFS underground 1,2 etc as the only thing you can base it on is Most Wanted.

The story is annoying and the actors are very poor.

It can be very annoying sometimes also when you fail a mission and have to wait for the CGI cutscene to finish before starting a race....

Graphics = awesome
Music = AHHH I turned the sound off, i could only tell the difference between 3 of the songs!!
Gameplay = Easy but Fun
Lifespan = Non existant

EA shouldn't get so much flak for this game as it is getting but we shouldn't just accept this as their final product.

The most pathetic thing about the whole game is that you can use Microsoft Points (your own money) to purchase upgrades and unlock things...

Hope this helps some people choose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Need for Speed Undercover is fab !, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Need For Speed: Undercover (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My son thinks it's great. Can only go off that! Have to limit his time because loves it. Good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Need For Speed: Undercover (Xbox 360)
Need For Speed: Undercover (Xbox 360) by Electronic Arts (Xbox 360)
13.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews