Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic
street fighter for playstation3 brings back nostalgic memories from playing on the vintage Super Nintendo. me and my dad constantly battling it out, him as EHonda, me as Chun Li...
The game play is very simelar...slamming any buttons and hoping for kick ass action.
new features on this game however are awesome...u now get an opportunity for training. and you can...
Published on 15 Oct. 2010 by HRhodes

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too hard to be any fun...
Growing up back in the day I *loved* Street Fighter 2, and still hold it in very high regard. Sadly, i'm disappointed to say that the same cant be said about this version. Not that it's completely terrible, the graphics are fantastic and are really well done. It's especially satisfying to actually see the opponent wince in pain when you (eventually) land a killer...
Published on 30 Nov. 2010 by Wardo81


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too hard to be any fun..., 30 Nov. 2010
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Street Fighter IV (PS3) (Video Game)
Growing up back in the day I *loved* Street Fighter 2, and still hold it in very high regard. Sadly, i'm disappointed to say that the same cant be said about this version. Not that it's completely terrible, the graphics are fantastic and are really well done. It's especially satisfying to actually see the opponent wince in pain when you (eventually) land a killer finishing combo on them. The sound is standard Street Fighter fare too, some recognisable classics from the original remixed for a more modern audience. All of which should make for an enjoyable gaming experience right? Wrong, i'm afraid. Why? Well, it's the difficulty. It's just too damn hard to be any fun to play! I wouldn't call myself a complete novice in the gaming world, i'm certainly not number one, but when you have to set the game to 'easy' or 'very easy' to stand any kind of chance then something is wrong. When you get your rear served to you on a plate for the 30th time in a row by the computer, i've lost count of the amount of times i've almost put my TV through the window in frustration as a result!

The main perpetrator in all of this is the end boss, who frankly is a complete berkshire hunt. The first round you can usually beat quite easily and from the on you can kiss goodbye to getting a look-in in the final two rounds, where he goes on a teleporting, spinning piledriving, sonic booming frenzy faster than a 5 year old after 10 cans of Red Bull that will make you want to drop kick the entire game back into the eternal pit of fiery damnation from whence it came. Currently i've only managed to complete it with Ken, Ryu and Abel and after that... well I just don't think I can bring myself to go through the whole performance again.

2 player though is great, especially if its in real life as opposed to online. All the fond memories come flooding back as you trash talk your mate whist finishing him off with a flaming dragon punch is quite satisfying.

All in all, I would put this game in the category of 'alright'. It's not terrible and the graphics and animation are fantastic, however the sheer difficulty of the Arcade mode really limits the accessability of it to the casual gamer. I certainly wouldn't pay full price for it and thank God I borrowed it off a friend first before parting with my hard-earned.

Worth a rent for a boys night in maybe, but I wouldn't recommend it to someone with high blood pressure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 15 Oct. 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Street Fighter IV (PS3) (Video Game)
street fighter for playstation3 brings back nostalgic memories from playing on the vintage Super Nintendo. me and my dad constantly battling it out, him as EHonda, me as Chun Li...
The game play is very simelar...slamming any buttons and hoping for kick ass action.
new features on this game however are awesome...u now get an opportunity for training. and you can play against a static chatacter, or another player.
this mode allows u to view the button combinations needed to perform special moves...a fantastic addition to the game!
many of the old faces of the original game are availiable, with the chance to unlock other characters throughout the game...which makes this simelar to so many other fighting games on the market.
That said however, this game does let you see some of the background memories and story about each character, which makes u develop more of an understanding about the character and how they came to be in the street fighter tornament.
graphics are amazing...a feel of retro classic game play with the latest 3d effects that make the game intense to play and watch. (with some of the classic original music also thrown in!)
All in all, an amazing game. Well worth buying!! *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SF4, 21 July 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Street Fighter IV (PS3) (Video Game)
Graphics (presentation)

Simply put this game is amazing in the visual department... The whole steroid look isnt for everyone but I think it compliments the fighters here... Backgrounds are nice and character animation is great... Runs smooth enough that you can react to your opponent and try to outplay him... Very well presented visuals and the sound is nice too... My only complaint is that the songs theme will stick in your head for the wrong reasons as it is constantly rammed into your ears throughout the menu...

Story

Pretty much NA... You get a brief cutscene upon starting your characters story and at the end its concluded with another... Nothing special... Anime fans may find some enjoyment from the scenes but for me this is a game about smacking your opponent up...

Gameplay

... And the gameplay certantly lets you smack your opponents about... The controls are super responsive... Its standard Street Fighter stuff... The learning curve eases you into the game nicely allowing you to ignore all the more advanced moves (focus attacks which let you absorb one hit and counter with your own for example) until you are ready to utilize them on harder difficulties or against tougher players... Its satisfying stuff really... As you can tell it controls like a 2D fighter...

As for game modes... Theres standard versus, your characters story, training and of course online... Online isnt the most reliable thing in the world for fighters... It requires split second timing... BUT the online mode on SF4 is VERY satisfying to play... It allows for unlockable titles to display on your profile for bragging rights... A new patch has recently become available which I have yet to download so I can not comment on it...

Overall

I recommend it to fighting fans who are both casual and hardcore... The game is THAT good... Some people swear by the arcade sticks too but I find the PS3 controller nice to use... Although you may want to invest into a stick especially if you want some training before you hit the arcades with your friends... Street Fighter is back in form with this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absaloutely Awesome! (custom music background support), 7 Feb. 2009
By 
MyKeyReviews (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Street Fighter IV (PS3) (Video Game)
First of all, I want to mention that one of the best features is that you can access your XMB menu & play your own music while your playing this game!

The other thing is if you have a spare 2gb on your HDD, you can go into options and install the game on your HDD so it will load a lot faster. (Not that it isn't fast at loading already).

Now for the game itself; in total there are 25 playable characters, except you have to unlock a lot of them by playing through arcade, but it's a lot of fun anyway ;)

The layout is stuck to the classic 2d layout, while the graphics are a cartoony 3d, and has been tuned up for more strategy fighting than button bashing, which makes the game so much enjoyable.

If your new to fighting games, get this game. And if your a street fighter fan; well you'll be more than pleased to play this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 6 Aug. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Street Fighter IV (PS3) (Video Game)
I only stared playing fighting games when this came out
This was the best era , playing online was thrilling
Coz most people haven't fully understand the game and lots of people were spamming
Zangi , el Fue 's loop etc , and lots of people raging over that + how OP Sagat was....
It's was great fun pwn'in noobs and sometimes glad to play someone that's actually good
Aw.... I really miss those days, there were more people playing back it those days , it was non-stop sf4 was the entire year

Graphic is good, sound is good, don't really care about the story coz this game is mainly about playing online

Yea...the game was unbalance, some glitch, bug etc
But I think this game have make the fighting game community grow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Street fighter is back!!, 5 May 2009
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Street Fighter IV (PS3) (Video Game)
This was one of the more pleasant surprises this year, it's Streetfighter. I remember when I was a lot younger that streetfigter was released on super nintendo along with the arcades, it was a magical time. The same magic is present in this version.
I love this game even tough I have the ripe age of 43, I still enjoy streetfighter and especialy this version on PS 3. The combo's , taunts, the super finishes. Aaah that takes me back.
Even when you"re not into fighting games, you really should try out this one. It's still the original and most sublime fighter around.
Sho ryu ken as ryu would say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Street fighter IV, 21 July 2010
By 
Luke Thrower (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Street Fighter IV (PS3) (Video Game)
Street fighter has come along way since its begginings as a coin-op arcade machine in the back alleys of japans arcade scene. Street fighter 4 or IV was released out into the wild in 2008 and made its way to the consoles the next year.

Street fighter is a arcade fighting game and is heavy on action, mixing up a range of powerful martial arts moves and crazy combo's, but also using ranged power ball attacks for the more defensive players.
It aims to be more of a purist fighter game, the button mashing that occurs in Tekken will lead to failure almost instantly as you need a good understanding of basic combo's on which to build, otherwise the fight will be over very quickly.

All the characters in the game have their individual style , meaning there is always at least one to suit you and give a fighting chance. 26 characters feature in the game including regular favourites Ken, Ryu, Chun li and Guile as well as a few new faces to fight against.
Some of these are good in the air , whilst others are stronger on the ground, as always it is important to find a character with a compromise in the style you like. Every character has their strengths and weaknesses, what makes Street fighter fun is trying to find the opponents weak point whilst covering yours.

The games main mode is the Arcade mode, it's actually the only mode beside the challenge and online features so will be where you speend your time.
The Arcade mode lets you pick your fighter and then fight to unlock others along the way, this is pretty standard and includes the options of how long fights will last and how many rounds. There isn't too much to it really as Street fighter never has been one for the campaign scene like Tekken.
Challenge mode is the training section of the game, it has different areas designated for helping you learn the different aspects of the game. This is mainly done by following instructions and recreating moves or combos, as you carry on, the moves become more difficult as does the opponents your training against.

Multiplayer is both offline and online, both experiences run smoothly and feature a few different modes. Firstly there is the basic versus mode which pits you against an opponent, the matchmaking service is considerably quick and makes sure your with someone of equal ability and connection speed, the latency is also low which is important as Street fighter matches are rarely slow affairs.
Another addition is challenges, pick from a pre-made group of time attacks and survival modes and this will put you in with groups of others trying to complete these. This fits into a leaderboard system which shows you how good you are compared to the rest of the Street fighter community.
Finally there is tournament mode, this puts you into a group of individual fights and lets you battle out the rounds to come out as champion. Many of these tournaments are also run by magazines like Playstation magazine and PSN also has a few Street fighter nights. So you can feel part of a bigger community and gain more respect for your fighter if you can win against higher esteemed gamers.

The controls seem daunting to begin with and are based around a six button attack system, this allows the player to pull of a range of kicks, punches, power balls and specials. Once you begin to get used to it , you learn how easy it it for the moves to flow together and combine and soon allow you to create powerful chain combo's which are really difficult to get out of.
Two really simple moves that any new Street fighter should learn are the basic, Shuryouken and Hydouken. The Shuryouken is a powerful jumping punch which does a decent amount of damage and is good way to finish a standing combo, Hydouken is a little less close up , this move sends out a small powerball which goes across the screen and helps keep your opponent at range. These can be combined with jumps and sending out multiple ones at different angles, so your opponent gets attacked from all sides.
In addition to the regular fighting style of Street fighter, there is also now focus attacks and ultra combo's. Focus attacks are moves that let you take on an attack with small amounts of damage, before countering whilst the opponent finishes the move. This is useful when you are stuck in a combo attack and need to change the tide of the fight, it starts with your character changing their fighting stance and then as you hold down the counter buttons the move charges, making it more powerful, these are unblockable and so an important tool if your being beaten.
Secondly you have the super combo's, this is built up in the revenge meter. The revenge meter fills as you attacked and take damage, as this builds it is able to be released in a super combo which deals heavy damage and means even when all seems lost you can pull the fight back. These begin with a 3D cutscene which shows your character perform an animation and then release their combo, which are generally full of exciting kicks, punches and power ball attacks, however this isn't full proof and can be blocked.

Everything is designed in true 1080 HD making every move and all the settings look fantastic and vibrant, this is best shown during big combo's or power moves where the whole screen becomes full of movement and lights. The colours are really vivid and the fabrics of costumes look quite realistic albeit in a cartoony way, they move with the characters and is really effective seeing the belts fly around.
The game is mostly played with a 2D view , but certain moments cause the game to move into 3D which is done really smoothly and you hardly notice the transistion. It really helps give the move a sense of importance as well as intensity as you know whats coming and how you may defend against it, if your on the unlucky recieving end.

The game features a good amount of area's to fight in which fit with the characters, these include alleys, deserts and building tops. This gives the game a good sense of range and feels as though the fights are set around the world and have some importance.

As a change from previous games, the game actually uses English voice actors for the characters. I have mixed feelings about this as in one way it's nice to understand them, but on the other hand the languages gave the game a sense of culture and made it more realistic. This is more a question of taste I think but personally I slightly prefered having the japanese voice overs.
Apart from that the general vibe from the game is nice and atmospheric, a simple soundtrack means all the attention is on the game and the sounds of kicks connecting is very nice and powerful.

Sets of DLC were released onto PSN, these were only costume packs and didn't add anything game changing or worth getting.

This is a really good fighting game, however that is all. It doesn't have the campaign or real story enthasis that Tekken does and is also a lot quicker paced. It is a question of feeling that boils down to wether you get this game , some will like it some will prefer Tekken, It's like the FIFA and PES of the fighting world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Online Gaming King, 23 Mar. 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Street Fighter IV (PS3) (Video Game)
It took me some convincing and a steep reduction in price for me to even consider commiting to this purchase after being bitter about Capcom's 'Cash Cow-Fighter' franchise milking but since it's arrived, I have been a very happy bunny.

Firstly, let's clear those messy reviews up: anyone who thinks this game doesnt do the original any justice and pick holes in its apparent 'lack of moves' or glitchy internet performance needs their head (as well as their modem) examined.

Gamespot and industry-wide reviewers have generally hit the nail on the head. Not only does this game play brilliantly, but it does take time to master. The character roster is large (about 18 or so characters - some you have to unlock), new faces have appeared and some excellent tweaks have also been added. For example, new focus moves and unique kicks/punches native to individual characters. This is Capcom doing what made SF2 game so appealing - combining excellent 2D fighting with super-slick gameplay. It is also Capcom's concession of defeat in some ways- they have rid the game of horrid additions in old SF2 perversions such as mid-air fireballs (consigned to only few characters) and wretched mid-air blocks. They have also 'tightened up' characters so Ken and Ryu's dominance is no longer the case, you can pick Zangief, Chun Li etc and still feel you're the stronger character. The gameplay is very smooth and online gaming has me (with my very basic connection) hooked and in awe of how smooth it all is, even with most opponents having very little signal strength. Be warned though, a lot of the more experienced fighters will have you in fits of rage - my control pad is being hurtled across the room on a regular basis.

I've always steered clear of cell shade animation but I am very impressed. The exaggerations of Guile's hair, Chun Li's huuuuge thunder thighs etc are a blast. It's unmistakably 2D fighting but it is also cunning way to 'cheat' around it. The black thick outlines confidently contrast against the 3D backdrops which are now much more up to date and add to the feel of the game. Sound is ace - although the random commentary does irritate me when he gets excited about the first hit.

Other minor gripes: Aside from unlockable bosses, new faces like Abel seem weaker. C Viper is the only exception(?!), Arcade Mode - not clear how to turn off ability for challenger to interrupt your game so it can be v v frequent! CPU is a bit poor, completion Medium Hard is relatively easy.

The advent of Super SFIV is annoying and I just hope Capcom don't milk the franchise too much once again. It was the constant spending of money on new 'releases' at FULL PRICE back in the day on the SNES (i.e Turbo, Super SF 2 which put me off this one initially. As did the other crappy abhorrations out there (see the hideous SF Vs Marvel) Which as a shame, because this is a real gem.

Bring it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic now showing in HD, 18 April 2009
By 
Adam Graham (Renfrew, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Street Fighter IV (PS3) (Video Game)
As a former addict of the early 90s classic SF 2, my first thought on playing was my gratitude to know that the button combinations for Ken's Shoryuken and Guile's Flash Kick have not changed. Clearly this is a gaming series that shows respect for its veterans. But also thankfully, I have a lot of the combo extras to learn, some continued from the 'ultra' and 'hyper' sequel days, some entirely new.
My experience of the game was mostly fun with some minor frustrations. I noticed that the final character whom the player is required to fight, Seth, whose repertoire of moves is a mish-mish of all the other characters (he is a move-stealing cyborg after all) is very much harder to fight than the others. He seems to be permanantly stuck on 'hardest' difficulty. I found this contrast raised the question in my mind of whether Capcom intended this imbalance or if they neglected to play-test the game enough, or some other issue.
The fact that someone should be worrying about the thoughts of a games developer in this way is never a good sign...
Also I have doubts about the longevity of the game in first player mode, since a player can get the first six extra characters by completing the game on the easiest difficulty level, then the two hidden characters, then Seth with only a little further play. It would seem like the longevity of the game would entirely rest on the player building up a good knowledge of the combos and finding the real fun online on the global ranking boards. Bear this in mind if you don't play your PS3 online.
However, sf2 is an incredibly fun game and very deep. It rewards the players who diligently learn the hundreds of moves and countermoves available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A welcome return of a classic, 28 Mar. 2009
By 
A. D. Kenyon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Street Fighter IV (PS3) (Video Game)
I have been a fan of Street Fighter for years, ever since the Street Fighter II for the SNES. I thought sf was dead, with sf3 released years ago (although frustraitingly not for PS2 in the PAL region). I had resigned myself to making do with a mixture of King of Fighters and Tekken for my 2D and 3D fighters respectively.

But, good news, sfiv is here, and it is amazing. I was concerned with the shift to 3D graphics (I though King of Fighters XII style HD sprites would have been more fitting), I was concerned that they were dropping almost everything since SSF2T, and I was concerned that it just wouldn't be a fitting sequel to a classic series. I WAS WRONG.

They have kept the best things form Super Turbo, Alpha and III and even nicked the revenge gauge from Samurai Shodown, and created a game that I have to say is greater than the sum of its parts. The gameplay rocks and is classic Street Fighter.

Negatives: I'm not really keen on the new characters. I'm glad they added in some alpha characters to the home versions - but I would like some sfiii characters in there as well. Gameplay-wise, I feel that Ultra combos tend to decide a round a bit too often, which is strange considering how Super Combos have been reduced in frequency, which I do believe is a good thing. But what is the point if an even more powerful move happens at least once a round (sometimes for both characters). Perhaps allow the meter to charge across rounds and reduce the charge rate, so that it tends to happen only in 2nd/3rd rounds?

One final negative - Seth is frustrating. Not a first for a sf game, he reminds me of Gill in many ways, and of almost every SNK boss character ever (actually thats not fair - he is not THAT cheap), and even Tekken has went that way with Jinpachi in Tekken 5.

However, don't get me wrong, this game is a fantastic continuation of the Street Fighter series. Some character choice preferences and some desired gameplay tweaks do not spoil my enjoyment of this game. Best of all, my friend who is not a sf fan loves this game - it seems to appeal to the anoraks and the casual gamer in equal measure - truly the sign of a great game.

I just can't wait until Street Fighter V!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Street Fighter IV (PS3)
Street Fighter IV (PS3) by Capcom (PlayStation 3)
£8.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews