Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who wants to be in their gang?, 7 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Entourage: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Entourage is the only box-set I've ever been bothered to collect the lot of... So funny, wry and clever. I'd rather watch a few episodes of Entourage on a Saturday night than catch a film (and I definitely prefer a night of Entourage to a night out...) The soundtrack is wicked too! NB: I'm the only girl I know who likes it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood Nights, 8 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Entourage: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Ari, E, Drama, Turtle are back!! Oh yeah, and that other guy too..what's his name? Vince.

Entourage 5 is the same mix of boys' fantasy and witty one liners. The shows revolve around Ari and E, with Drama and Turtle playing the clowns. It really is about the entourage and not the 'star'. Rosencrantz and Guildenstern, not Hamlet.

Some characters return - Dom and Seth Green in a couple of really good episodes. Turtle scores with a celebrity! Ari is the king of Hollywood still - good acting, great lines (but do they have to be so homophobic? Would the script writers put the same type of scabrous lines in Ari's mouth about a black assistant as they do about Lloyd? No because that type of bigotry rightly wouldn't be acceptable. Why is this type?)

If you liked 1 to 4, this is just as addictive. Like coke (the drink), enjoyable, but somehow you know it's not good for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CATCH A FALLING STAR, 2 April 2010
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Entourage: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Vince is in freefall - his last film a disaster, studios no longer interested. Reduced to public appearances (which do not always work out), he tries to resist the ultimate horror of a television series. As ever, his mates since childhood rally to support - brother Drama (all big talk and no talent), best friend Eric (too nice to be a manager?), Turtle (factotum, loyalty to be tested when romance attracts). Always on superdrive, agent Ari rants, raves and manipulates. Worthy roles nevertheless elude....

This is a world where image is all, success dependent on pressure and chance - actual talent rather further down the line. The life depicted here appears over the top, but those in the know (including actors and directors) hail it as authentic. Several guest star to add credibility. Some send themselves up (especially Jason Patric).

Much entertains. Adrian Grenier as Vince likeably holds everything together. All involved have their moments, including subsidiary characters - Lloyd, Ari's gay secretary, increasingly prominent. Amongst the most hilarious? Martin Landau, acerbic on the golf course; Seth Green, adept at needling Eric. Forever dominant is Jeremy Piven as foulmouthed Ari, most of his oneliners devastating and unrepeatable. (One of the mildest? "Alan hasn't looked that good in years!" - said of an enemy who has just dropped dead.)

The series provokes thought about those who entertain. Behind all the glitter and frenzy - the sex, drugs and alcohol - one senses panic. Fame is ephemeral, has-beens abounding. Limelight is all - savour it whilst it lasts.

Too serious? Rest assured - the season ends on a high, all with reason to rejoice. A relief!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Rollercoaster Ride of a Season, 31 July 2011
By 
Mr. M. Campbell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Entourage: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
How can I start this review other than saying it is my favourite season from my favourite TV show. This is the season where we see Vince really hit a low in his career and wondering whether he will ever get back where he once was. What also comes from this is a lot of reflections on decisions made in the past and while things could have worked out a lot better Vinces life up to this point could`ve worked out a lot worse too. Ari as ever is in top form as he watches his star client go through this low in his career. The scene with Vince and Ari at the airport is for me the best acted scene ever on "Entourage". Classic episodes here include "The Allout Fallout", "Tree Trippers" and "Return To Queens Boulevard". E, Drama and Turtle play a great supporting cast here as the main focus is Vinces downs. This is like a rollercoaster ride of a season in that a few times in the season we see Vince get some good news which makes it look like his career is back on the up again only to see that it was actually a false dawn. What better way to watch your favourite TV show than to see the character who is the main focus of the show dragged to his lowest ebb only to achieve a massive high right at the end?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing and Addictive Series!, 16 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. A. R. Castor (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Entourage: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
I first watched Entourage thinking that a story about an actor and 3 pals in LA covered with women would be really shallow. How wrong I was.

Brilliantly acted. Brilliantly shot. Great script. Fantastic Jewish agent Ari!

I think what stands out (and I have seen season 6 too...the final episode is just amazing!) is no matter what goes on around them, the bond between the boys is incredible.

This absolutely shouldn't work but it works to perfection. Everything feels right, it feels exactly how we perceive Hollywood to be. The many cameo roles from the likes of Dennis Hopper, James Cameron, Holly Valance to name just a small amount, all playing themselves just adds to the realism.

Entourage will make you feel great and make you smile after every episode. Be warned, its 25 minutes per show (thats minus the adverts) but I don't think it needs to be any longer. I watched 6 series in 2 weeks. Can't wait for series 7 in Summer 2010.

Take a look at all the customer reviews for Entourage, from series 1 onwards. There isn't anybody who doesn't like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate humorous revelation, 8 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Entourage: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
It may have all gone awry: Pretty boy becomes the darling of Hollywood, loyal friends bask in the success. All too easy. Yet, "Entourage" succeeds beyond belief in rendering a portrayal of Hollywood: In other words, it maintains a delicate balance between what's real and what isn't. At the same time, through superb casting it tells common folks of tales of riches and tales of rags; of bonding that may be frayed at the edges but holds together through the glue of childhood friendships. Throughout Entourage's five seasons characters grow and delight. Granted, having established themselves in a certain mold, Season 5 characters appear somewhat exaggerated as if suddenly the show has turned into a Comedia del'Arte performance but such are the fortunes of popularity. Whatever it is the characters exude they manage to pass it on to their viewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 18 April 2011
By 
A. Everitt "The Rhinoron" (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Entourage: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Another fantastic season of Entourage. A refreshing take on it all too - less of the glamour (though there is still tonnes) - but it shows how not having every movie as a total hit can result in tough times for all involved! The characters are an institution - all fantastic. Can't wait to get my hands on Season 6!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Entourage!!, 10 Nov. 2010
By 
J. Morris "morace" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Entourage: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
The humour and standard of this show does not slip. The show is quite blokey with 5 lead male characters however I enjoy the smut just as much as my husband does! Don't be put off ladies, this show is hilarious and features some hot men - Vincent Chase and Ari Gold!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Class act !!!, 12 Nov. 2009
By 
S. Patel (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Entourage: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
After season 4, you started to think, how are they ever going to top that ?? And fortunately for us, they have!!!

More gags, more stars - This show keeps getting better and better. Buy it now !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars .., 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Entourage: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
as a huge entourage fan i had to have it in my collection and therefore have bought and enjoyed it, the boys stories are not as fun as they used to be but worth the watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Entourage: Complete HBO Season 5 [DVD] [2009]
£7.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews