Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tears of Joy..
'Car wheels on a gravel road' is one of my all time favourite albums that I think is an almost perfect collection of songs. On the first couple of listens I don't think "Little Honey" is quite as good - BUT it's not that far behind and I think it can only grow on you.

Many of the tracks have that same raw, lazy feel as 'Car wheels on a gravel road' but there is...
Published on 19 Oct 2008 by G. E. Harrison

versus
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars (Almost) a return to form
Little Honey is not another Car Wheels on a Gravel Road - in my view the last really good record Lucinda Williams made and, in my view again, a really seriously good collection of alt country rock tracks. But this does have some real high points (unlike the last one, West) as well as some real lows. The high points are probably Honey Bee (a typical piece of Lucinda...
Published on 22 Oct 2008 by Mada about music


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tears of Joy.., 19 Oct 2008
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Little Honey (Audio CD)
'Car wheels on a gravel road' is one of my all time favourite albums that I think is an almost perfect collection of songs. On the first couple of listens I don't think "Little Honey" is quite as good - BUT it's not that far behind and I think it can only grow on you.

Many of the tracks have that same raw, lazy feel as 'Car wheels on a gravel road' but there is much more variety on this record. There are some real Stones-style heavy rockers like "Real Love", "Honey Bee" and even an AC/DC cover - "It's a Long Way to the Top" (backing band Buick 6 are fantastic throughout). Then we have beautiful laid-back ballads like "Knowing" and "If Wishes Were Horses" and also a straight country duet with old mate Elvis Costello on "Jailhouse Tears". Harking back to the start of Lucinda's career there are some nice, updated country blues "Circles and Xs" and "Heaven blues". If I had to pick a favourite I'd go for the slow, electric blues "Tears Of Joy", with Chet Lyster and Doug Pettibone's guitars sounding fantastic.

If you liked 'Car wheels on a gravel road' then I'm sure you'll like 'Little Honey', which has kept the same feel but added a rockier edge. I wouldn't say Lucinda had a great voice but it somehow seems to fit her blues/folk/country songs perfectly in a way that nobody else could match and on this record that distinctive voice is perfectly complemented by some great backing from Buick 6.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Love Goes A Long Long Way, 2 Jan 2009
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Little Honey (Audio CD)
'Little Honey' finds Ms Williams in a upbeat frame of mind.

Word is out that the lady is in love.

There are those who might say ( and perhaps I should count myself among them )
"About Time Too !".

My dear friend Phil The Ferret has long been a fan. His mission to convert me has
until now fallen on deaf ears.

Some singer/songwriters have made a good life out of misery - Mr Cohen,
Ms Harvey and Mr Young to name but an illustrious three - but Ms Williams' muse
has always left me just a bit unconvinced. A little forced; a tad contrived perhaps.
That bourbon and nails voice conveying rather more affectation than affect.

The twelve new recordings in this collection come, therefore, as a very pleasant surprise.

From the grinding opening bars of 'Real Love' to the gritty rock and roll closure
of 'It's A Long Way To The Top' our lady really does seem to be having a good time.

In between, the wholesomely rugged blues of 'Tears Of Joy'; the warmly emotional delivery
of 'If Wishes Were Horses'; the stripped-down economy of 'Heaven Blues' and the sparse
aching beauty of 'Plan To Marry' are all entirely convincing.

The terrific band serves her well. The production is edgy and vivid.
The organ and brass contributions on the album's highpoint 'Knowing' are a particular joy.

I'm pleased to have had the chance to change my mind.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars (Almost) a return to form, 22 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Honey (Audio CD)
Little Honey is not another Car Wheels on a Gravel Road - in my view the last really good record Lucinda Williams made and, in my view again, a really seriously good collection of alt country rock tracks. But this does have some real high points (unlike the last one, West) as well as some real lows. The high points are probably Honey Bee (a typical piece of Lucinda raunch-rock), If Wishes Were Horses, which gets close to her best work of the past, and the early version of Jailhouse Tears - the one without Elvis Costello. The lows - particularly Little Rock Star and It's A Long Way to The Top - are very low indeed and maybe say a good deal about what I think is wrong with her recent work as a whole. The best of her work is based on imaginative observation and empathy with a whole range of characters - even if they draw on her own experience - while everything since Car Wheels on a Gravel Road has tended to sound to me as if it is drifting into the "poor little rock and roll star me" school of song-writing. It's A Long Way to The Top is a perfect example of that tedious and tired genre. This is not a bad record, but by the standard of her best work, neither is it really a very good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its a long way back to the top, 12 Jan 2009
By 
Black Box (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Little Honey (Audio CD)
A partial return to form for Williams, who still seems keen to tread the road to overt superficiality and sentimentality - and hence mainstream C&W acceptability - begun on West. Luckily she's ditched the worst of the production values of that album, and the result is a far more enjoyable listen, with some tasty blues driven playing from Pettibone, up back where he belongs in the mix.

In many ways it's a typical Williams blend of rockers and ballads - with a couple of throwaways of course - but what still seems missing in this recent creative blossoming is her ability to write the perfect combination of soaring tune and touching lyric that so typified her purple period from Car Wheels to World Without Tears.

It's significant that the most affecting songs here are the stripped down solo Plan To Marry, and the demo version of Jailhouse Tears - made with her real band - and that tells you all that's still wrong with the shiny, happy new Lucinda - it's all a bit too fancy still, with all the interesting edges knocked off. Good enough for me to keep the faith a little while longer though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucinda - an inspiration, 26 Oct 2008
This review is from: Little Honey (Audio CD)
Reading the other reviews makes me realise what female rockers are up against.
How many great female guitar players can you name? How many women can get themselves taken seriously in the alpha male music world?
Lucinda is an inspiration, clearly her own person for better or worse. It has taken her decades to get this far and she has resolutely stuck with it. That is the reason I grab her records whenever they come out.
They may not be perfect, but what is? Yes, "Car Wheels" was a high water mark (and where most of us came in), but every record since has had at least a few gems; the great "Out of Touch" on "Essence" is a personal favourite. Lucinda has the ability to decribe universal emotions in plain, simple language; a rare gift. Plus her voice is truly special - raw, emotional, weary, vulnerable.
She makes most male rockers of her age pale into insignificance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grown up Lucinda !, 17 Feb 2009
By 
J. W. Thomas (Cape Town South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Honey (Audio CD)
I found Little Honey rather noisy ! Much preferred West. also have most of her previous CD's. Would be interested to know more about her preoccupation with bees and honey.? I used to be a beekeeper !! Her DVD, Live from Austin Texas is great, wish there were more.
Jeff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blues and rock., 8 April 2013
By 
P. J. Holmes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Honey (Audio CD)
Bought this album after hearing a track on the radio, definitely different to what I had expected. Slow blues and rock, as with most music a matter of personal choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A magical voice on a lost highway!, 15 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Little Honey (Audio CD)
From the Lost Highway label comes another great album from Lucinda Williams, those familiar with the production on her previous albums will like this. Originally from Louisiana, I absolutely adore, love, her deep Southern American accent, and she has one of the most sexy vocals I've heard.

Lucinda was hot on the car cd playlist last year as I drove `Car wheels on a gravel road' in Texas (naming one of her best albums), literally, and I think this new album really compliments that record.

Highlights include Honey Bee, Long Way To The Top, If Wishes Were Horses, and Tears Of Joy has a great soul hook, while Rarity can be quite mesmorising. Apart from his greatness Elvis Costello (on Jailhouse Tears - another highlight), it's worth noting Bangles' vocals Susanna Hoffs makes an appearance on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, 29 Oct 2008
By 
Steve Keen "therealus" (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Honey (Audio CD)
Where previously we've had to wait two or three years between Lucinda records, it's only about 18 months since her last one this time. West was somewhat melancholy, reflecting Williams's mood over a broken relationship and the death of her mother. Little Honey is less so, starting off with the upbeat Real Love, and other songs such as Tears Of Joy, a blues which features a nice BB King-like guitar lick, mean that overall this is not West 2.

Nevertheless, there are some downbeat moments, and they start on track 2, Circles And X's, and Heaven Blues brings us right back to her mother. And whilst the mom-references on West stood well both in and out of context, this one ends up seeming a little self-absorbed.

Overall, however, though I've still not warmed to this collection as I did to West, this is another great album from Williams, combining her normal sharp songwriting, the familiar country-blues fusions, some incredible musicianship, such as Walt Fowler's flugelhorn on Knowing or Doug Pettibone's guitar anywhere, some eye-popping instrumentation (like washing machine, big ass drum and plastic sheet on Heaven Blues!) and excellent arrangements.

The one cover, AC/DC's It's A Long Way, is great, could be written just for her, and has some nice backing vocals, reminiscent of those on Stones' Gimme Shelter, with a gospel feel.

There's also an interesting point of comparison between the two versions of Jailhouse Tears, where I agree with the other reviewers who say they prefer the original: I love Elvis Costello but he tends towards overacting on this occasion, and the original has a fresher, less overproduced feel, which gives it a little more emotional authenticity.

Non-musical high points are the very detailed credits on the sleeve notes, which only fall down on the "bonus" version of Jailhouse Tears, all the lyrics available, and a nice Super Jewel Box to wrap it all in instead of one of those nasty cardboard things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She's back and ready to Rock n' Roll...., 19 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Little Honey (Audio CD)
This follows on from West but now she's in love and ready to rock. It's a great collection of rock and ballads but as always with Lucinda it's raw and heartfelt. If you're a fan then buy it, you will not be disappointed. If you're new to Lucinda then give it a go but be prepared to invest in her back catalougue rapidly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Honey
Little Honey by Lucinda Williams (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews