Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars File under Easy Listening - NOT!
Yeah, bought this in '82, aged 14 - along with Dead Kennedys' Plastic Surgery Disasters, the other classic from that year. Nothing on the face of your earth prepares you for this sonic assault. Nothing. Heavy metal, eat my shorts, you lame losers, you fakes! Rise Above kicks off like they mean to go on, a spiralling, pummelling thrash of positive electricity that says...
Published on 3 Jun 2000

versus
8 of 234 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cack Shag
Damaged? Their musical prowess certainly is. Unlike certain albums that show a groups musical talent, this tells us how good Black Flag are: complete and utter rubbish. If you like Black Flag, listen to them, as you are obviously so musically deprived that anything with musical credit would cramp your.....'style'. There is no point in even glancing at this album, the odds...
Published on 10 Jan 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars File under Easy Listening - NOT!, 3 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Damaged (Audio CD)
Yeah, bought this in '82, aged 14 - along with Dead Kennedys' Plastic Surgery Disasters, the other classic from that year. Nothing on the face of your earth prepares you for this sonic assault. Nothing. Heavy metal, eat my shorts, you lame losers, you fakes! Rise Above kicks off like they mean to go on, a spiralling, pummelling thrash of positive electricity that says 'you can kick me and beat me, but I will keep on getting up just to spite you goddamnit'. SPRAY PAINT THE WALLS - a 90 second slash across your ears. The feedback from Ginn's guitar before Rollins SCREAMS Depression, thrashing into a rolling thunder of pain and angst so real it hurts. The sound that launched a thousand boring imitations careers on through Life of Pain, Padded Cell, Room 13, all tempered and annealed in a white-hot, speed-of-light, grenade in the mouth and shit the pin's been pulled, NOISE that rips out to its 'de-facto' template with Thirsty and Miserable. Man, I felt like this. I lived it. Finally the record crawls, hobbles, spins out of control with the nightmare of working 9-5, living a lie and kissing your boss's butt just to get a slave wage as Rollins croaks and snarls his way through Damaged no.1. Damaged declares war on you - it'll leave you breathless, adrenalized and wanting to believe that the world cannot do anything to you more painful than you can inflict on yourself. You'll either find this LP a life-enhancing phenomenon or a crushing blow to all your sanitized pre-conceptions on what your trivial life is supposed to be. Nothing is louder, faster or harder. Believe me, I've heard it all. Accept no imitations. This is your brain through the mangle, into the mincer and fried in petrol. Lacerate yourself. Go on, you know you want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best punk albums ever, 1 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Damaged (Audio CD)
This album first surfaced in 1980 when punk wasn't cool anymore. People talk about the British punk music classic bands but there was absolutely nothing as vitriolic and full of genuine fury as this album at the time. Henry Rollins, sounding like a kid just going through puberty, screams and shouts his way through 35 minutes of brilliance. It's amusing when you hear people whinging about the rough production of this album or the shoddy musicianship. Isn't that what punk is supposed to be about? If you listen to this album in the spirit it was intended to be then you will see why, rightly so, this was one of the most important punk albums ever. Other punk bands might have better production and be better musicians but this album was a decade ahead of its time, along with the likes of Bad Brains and Suicidal Tendencies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Blood Boils, 13 Aug 2000
This review is from: Damaged (Audio CD)
Black Flag are the greatest band I've ever heard, or are ever likely to hear. Damaged is Life-affirming music that rouses you out of complacency. Frightening and real, this is not fake aggression, or forced aggression, this band lived this way, amidst so much harassment and bullshit it makes a mockery of most everything Ive heard since. "Depression" is sung with such conviction that cannot be faked. If you are listening to Korn/Machine Head/Fear Factory with their down-tuned dirge guitars, baggy-pants and goatee beards and think they are the real thing then pass this one by, you dont deserve to hear it. Riot Music, pure and perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars black flag-damaged, 22 May 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Damaged (Audio CD)
Released in 1981 and the first black flag album to feature the vocals of black flags biggest fan prior to joining,damaged is an album of two different types of song racing at you all at once.The album has an undoubted attitude about it,it can be angry,callous and brutal but on the other hand there are tracks like 'six pack' and 'tv party' which are all about getting drunk and watching tv and doing nothing,songs like that certainly inspired bands like NOFX and blink 182 but the darker side of the album is what its most famous for.

Henry rollins has a fierce voice,it isnt screamo or anything like that,its just got a sense of anger in it,a sense of real life bite in it,it doesnt sound fake.

The album takes a few spins to really reveal itself,album opener 'rise above' will own you as soon as you hear it,other tracks take a few spins to lodge themselves in your brain.The backing singing here is great as well,maybe black flag at this stage didnt quite have the all round catchiness of another of rollins heroes in The Misfits,but they had the attitude of the time for sure,damaged is worth checking out if you like hardcore punk tinged with a sense of humour and laid back fun at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only Flag album that absolutely everyone should hear, 26 Feb 2010
By 
lexo1941 (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Damaged (Audio CD)
One of the previous reviewers suggested that if you like Black Flag then you must be in some way unable to appreciate music.

Let me see, what was the last music I paid for? Neville Marriner and the Academy of St Martins in the Fields doing Bach's 'Art of Fugue' and 'Musical Offering'. The original 1943 recording of Benjamin Britten's 'Serenade for Tenor, Horn and Strings'. Mendlessohn's Hebrides Overture. The waltz from Tchaikovsky's Sleeping Beauty, because my two-year-old girl likes it. Strauss's Blue Danube, because it's such a great old chestnut. Kim Kashkashian playing Hindemith's viola sonatas. Some Israeli surf-punk from Boom Pam and vintage Greek surf guitar from Aris San. Kenny Rogers singing 'Just Dropped In'. Oh yeah, and also Mike Watt's 'Ball-Hog or Tugboat', some free improv guitar by Davey Williams and Maurizio Pollini playing the Diabelli Variations. I think it's fair to say that I have no problem liking various kinds of music. I also like Black Flag. A lot. I like them so much that my only tattoo is of their logo.

I first listened to the Flag in the mid-80s when I was a fairly dumb teenager. In those days I was listening to SST bands, Cream, Hendrix and bebop. Oddly enough, Cream, Hendrix and jazz are all part of the mix when it comes to later Flag (it's well-documented how Greg Ginn - or was it Chuck Dukowski? - turned Henry Rollins onto Charles Mingus while on tour). But this, the first proper Black Flag album, is not only one of the best Black Flag albums, it's also one of the best punk albums ever, and arguably transcends punk by virtue of being relatively complex musically: for every hilarious clapalong rant like 'TV Party' there's something as rhythmically sophisticated as 'What I See' or 'Damaged II'. Black Flag were always a band capable of great musical eloquence, and if they mostly wanted to express anger, alienation, paranoia and contempt, so what? Those are perfectly legitimate emotions to want to get across musically, and these lads really got them across. It's not hard to see why they were so unpopular on their first visit to the UK. British punk bands were always more about fashion and posturing than about playing convincing music, but Black Flag were always single-mindedly about playing whatever they wanted. Maybe that's why they appeal to the muso in me. I can't listen to the Sex Pistols anymore because their stuff doesn't stand up to repeated plays in the way that the Flag's recordings do (and so does the music of their peers - bands like the Minutemen and Husker Du, to name just two).

Black Flag morphed into various different shapes over the years and were frequently stymied and ultimately strangled by Greg Ginn's personality problems, but at his peak he was a fiendishly expressive guitarist. Their records usually sound pretty bad, because nobody in SST really knew how to produce a record so that the band sounded like a band, but the genius still shines through. This is probably the best album, although there are pockets of sheer brilliance scattered over the rest of their output - Loose Nut is perhaps the most metallic, In My Head the weirdest, and The First Four Years is a vital document of the early Flag when they were more of a regular (if very good) hardcore punk band.

Listen to Damaged. It has, as we say in academia, considerable extra-musical interest, being a crucial document of the LA punk subculture. But it's also a great rock album, one of the best ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The finest piece of US hardcore EVER!, 29 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Damaged (Audio CD)
This is Black Flag's finest moment. Song's about depression, alienation and just plain hating stuff. This is the template that lot's of nineties HC/ metal bands used for their sound. Gets more intense as the album goes on so be prepared to give it a few listens before you really get into it. This is one of my favorite albums of all time and I spent about 2 years listening to it constantly. Life changing stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have., 16 April 2012
This review is from: Damaged (Audio CD)
I'm only 18, so unfortunately I wasn't around during the time when Black Flag were still active but what I do know that this album and it's predecessors have some of the biggest influences on the punk scene/bands of today, such as Gallows & Trash Talk. From the start to finish this album gives the middle finger to society and won't disappoint anyone looking for a balls to walls, aggressive sound. This is a must buy if you are looking for true hardcore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most visceral, authentic, ALIVE music you could ever hear, 11 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damaged (Audio CD)
How anyone could give this iconic cultural phenomenon of an album a one-star review leaves me utterly speechless. Most of the other reviewers here have really said it all. This album makes the Stooges sound like the Swingle Singers. I've never heard any piece of music that goes so directly and authentically to the heart of the existential dereliction and psychic nihilism of 'late modernity' and the accompanying moral backruptcy of materialistic capitalism. How I'd love this to be required listening in all schools... - we might just then create the desperately needed generation of people who really will change the world for the better through their, and our, justifiable rage at the status quo. Hard core at its absolute pinnacle; it really couldn't get any better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True gem of US hardcore, 30 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Damaged (Audio CD)
One of the defining moments of early 80s US punk. Get this and 'The first 4 years' and you're set. Later records pale in comparison but this is the real stuff. Also loads of ace footage on YooTyoob of the Flag live steamroller in action! Wish it was 81 and I was in California...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Far Beyond Damaged....., 14 Aug 2013
This review is from: Damaged (Audio CD)
Black flag is a name in music that was constantly named as an influence from most of the metal bands i listened to yet it took me forever for me to listen to.this band and all i can say is WHAT A BIG MISTAKE!!!!!.

Black flags first full length album after a number of EPs is an agressive,abrasive and truly powerful album that bludgeons the listener and yet still keeps any willing would be fans hooked because even the songs are frantic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Damaged
Damaged by Black Flag
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews