Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Country Boy
I bought this CD for my wife and this is her review. "What can I say - Daniel O'Donnell is always enjoyable. The choice of songs on this CD is excellent."
Published on 16 Feb 2009 by Roy Ovenden

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars D D
Brought for my Irish Mother-in-law who loves Daniel O'Donnall. She has commented that it is very good.
Published on 25 Feb 2009 by Mrs. L. Laister


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Country Boy, 16 Feb 2009
By 
Roy Ovenden (Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Country Boy (Audio CD)
I bought this CD for my wife and this is her review. "What can I say - Daniel O'Donnell is always enjoyable. The choice of songs on this CD is excellent."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A TRUE COUNTRY ALBUM FROM A GREAT COUNTRY SINGER, 18 Jun 2010
By 
Adrian Clark - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Country Boy (Audio CD)
GIVEN THAT DANIEL O'DONNELL IS MAINLY KNOWN AS A COUNTRY SINGER, ITS SURPRISING THAT HE NEVER RECORDED AND RELEASED THIS ALBUM LONG BEFORE HE DID.

THE ALBUM CONTAINS 19 COVER VERSIONS OF CLASSIC COUNTRY SONGS AND 1 ORIGINAL SONG, "MOTHER'S BIRTHDAY SONG".

IF YOU'RE A COUNTRY MUSIC FAN YOU'RE SURE TO LOVE THIS AS SO MANY COUNTRY GREATS ARE PAID TRIBUTE TO ON THIS ALBUM. KENNY ROGERS ('LUCILLE'), JOHN DENVER ('BACK HOME AGAIN'), GEORGE JONES ('HE STOPPED LOVING HER TODAY'), JOHNNY CASH ('RING OF FIRE') TO NAME BUT A FEW.

THERE ARE EVEN 2 DUETS WITH 2 COUNTRY LEGENDS 'I WANNA BE FREE' (WITH LORETTA LYNN) AND 'CRYSTAL CHANDELIERS' (WITH CHARLEY PRIDE).

IF YOU'RE A DANIEL O'DONNELL FAN YOU WON'T NEED PERSUADING TO BUY THIS AND IF YOU'RE A COUNTRY MUSIC FAN, TRY IT- YOU WON'T REGRET IT!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daniel sings country classics his way, 15 Aug 2013
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Country Boy (Audio CD)
Brought up in a remote corner of rural Ireland, Daniel has always been a country boy in every sense. Here, he shows his appreciation of country music by singing a selection of those songs in his own easy listening style. The original versions of these songs were mostly recorded between the fifties and the early eighties.

There are two duets here. Loretta Lynn joins Daniel on her classic I Iwanna be free) although it's difficult to hear Daniel when the two sing together. Charley Pride joins Daniel on Crystal chandeliers, a song that is identified with Charley outside the USA, although his sixties recording was itself a cover.

Having learned about the plight of Detroit in 2013, the lyrics to the song Detroit city seem far removed from reality as it is, although they do reflect how things were in the sixties. In a further twist of fate just three tracks later, the mention (in Crystal chandeliers) of marble statuettes reminded me of Detroit's most famous ruin that once served as the city's train station. All very sad, but it shows how songs can take on a whole new perspective with the passage of time.

My favourite recordings here are Back home again, Little ole wine drinker me, Release me, Seven Spanish angels and Oh lonesome me, but there's a lot of great music here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to basics for Daniel, 7 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. G R. FORMAN "Silver Surfer" (Aberdeen Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Boy (Audio CD)
My girl friend is a massive Daniel O' Donnell fan,and just
loves this C.D.As usual, Daniel won't stray outwith the
comfort zone,and does'nt stretch himself vocally,but its
a very nice selection of new recordings guaranteed to please
even the casual listener.Production quality is faultless,and
the winning formula continues."If it 'aint broke,don't fix it",
...and D O' D appears to have the "Easy Listening" market sewn up.
Good on ya,Daniel,...keep up the good work".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Country Music Songs?-Then this is for you!, 1 Jan 2011
This review is from: Country Boy (Audio CD)
This is such enjoyable and easy listening. It contains some really lovely songs.
We have played it many times over the Christmas holiday and never tire of listening to it.Would definately say that if you like Country Music songs then its really worth buying Country Boy by Daniel O.Donnell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Boy (Audio CD)
Only just got into this music but l can leave it on in the background and no worries and relaxing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, relaxing., 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Boy (Audio CD)
Nice lyrics, etc. Enjoyed listening to the music, and songs, though not quite the Daniel we know and love. Just me, probably,
expecting too much?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars D D, 25 Feb 2009
This review is from: Country Boy (Audio CD)
Brought for my Irish Mother-in-law who loves Daniel O'Donnall. She has commented that it is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like country/get this, 1 Feb 2009
This review is from: Country Boy (Audio CD)
If you like Daniel-O-Donnell or new to this type of music,(Country) then give it a try, he's great as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 3 Jan 2009
By 
GMCCLELLAND "gillianmcclelland" (co armagh northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Country Boy (Audio CD)
a must for any daniel odonnell fan is music stands out again .The music its sing along and cheers you up its a defnitely a download for youre i pod so go and buy a copy NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Country Boy
Country Boy by Daniel O'Donnell (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews