Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant
Can't tell you how fab this cd is, just look at the listings and you'll see why. Quality reggae at its best as far as I'm concerned
Published on 3 Feb 2011 by Sarah Ralphs

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CD
it was ok, nothing much more to add it was nice going back listerning to some old time music. ok
Published 16 months ago by Princess


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant, 3 Feb 2011
By 
Sarah Ralphs (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 100 Hits: Reggae (Audio CD)
Can't tell you how fab this cd is, just look at the listings and you'll see why. Quality reggae at its best as far as I'm concerned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100 reggae hits, 23 Nov 2011
This review is from: 100 Hits: Reggae (Audio CD)
Brilliant! Its lovely to hear all this music I grew up with. Brings back happy memories of days gone by, and of people no longer with us, and lifts your spirits and gets you dancing round the kitchen! Worth every penny,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 100 Reggae Hits, 7 April 2009
This review is from: 100 Hits: Reggae (Audio CD)
Gr8, couldn't believe that all 5 cds had gr8 songs that bought back a lot of fond memories.
One not to miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goosebumps!, 1 Mar 2012
By 
Radiojock (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Reggae (Audio CD)
I put this album on a few minutes ago and my skin is tingling. Seriously! I've always loved reggae/ska music and fancied a couple of albums that I've seen here. I'm always a bit wary of buying compilations these days because of the tampering they do with most recordings in the studios. To give you a 'for instance', many well known hits get re-recorded when the singers have become older and don't sing as they used to. The band members have changed by the time the new recording is made, or session musicians are used and it takes away from the song you remember when it first hit the airwaves! I was on constant alert for this sort of thing when selecting tracks for weekly radio programmes. Every single song here so far has been the original and I'm up to Harry J All Stars on disc 1. It feels like listening to The Ranking Miss P on Radio 1 again. Remember that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reggae like it used to be, 20 Jun 2011
This review is from: 100 Hits: Reggae (Audio CD)
What was once known as Bluebeat became reggae by the end of the 60s with this collection covering the hits in the U K from Millie Small in 1964 to the 70s and beyond.
Jamaica is near enough to the States to have been influenced by American music in the 50s as its main music was calypsos.It was supposely the West Indian attempt to copy the music of Fats Domino but the beat was slightly wrong-this remained and became the sound of Bluebeat.However Jamaica was really into American R & B where it was called Shuffle music.The liked plebnty of honing saxes and Lynn Hope's instrumental version of the song Tenderley was reggae before it was invented
Domino's music especially Rosa Lee I Can't Go On sounded very close to reggae and Carribean music had influenced the music of New Orleans especially Professor Longhair.It was simply give and take.Johnny Nash even moved to Jamaica and had a 2nd career there covering Bob Marley songs
Another variant is what was called Ska-a name which never lasted long but it was Americans who picked up on this before reggae-Pixie Girls like Annette and Tracey Dey were 2 of the more famous who dabbled in it for 5 minutes.I don't think reggae meant a great deal in the States till Desmond Decker and Bob Marley
Reggae is at it most interesting when it does covers-which forturnatly it does even during the Two Tone era of the 80s when UB40 did nothing but covers which is some cases were covers of covers of covers eg Red Red Wine from Tony Tribe who covered a Neil Diamond song.
There is no room in reggae for singer songwriters as I see it but probably Bob Marley has written songs after his first covers of Impressions songs.I know little of his music and am not that bothered about hearing it but I know Eric Clapton covered I Shot The Sherriff which is hardly a world shattering song but Marley was the island's biggest superstar whose first U K hit was in 1975 some 13 years after he cut his first singles
Reggae isn't my main collecting area but I especially liked Dave & Ansell Collins' Double Barrell and Chaka Demus & Pliers' version of Twist & Shout plus all the Beatles songs done reggae style-which took the whole give and take thing another meaning when the Beatles both solo and collectively touched many times on the music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality, 16 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Reggae (Audio CD)
Overall a good quality product. Was bought for my wife who plays it quite a lot she gets good music. I get brownie points. Win win
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation, 7 Dec 2013
This review is from: 100 Hits: Reggae (Audio CD)
I bought this album a while ago as someone wanting to get into reggae. It contains an awesome set of artists and songs that cover a load of the older hits from back in the day. Usually these boxsets contain a lot of "filler" songs just to bulk up the song count, not the case with this one.

Definitely a must buy for curious music fans yet to experience Reggae music.
Check out the track list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great compilation for reggae novices, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Reggae (Audio CD)
This is a definitive collection of reggae through the ages, it's the kind of collection everybody can enjoy whether they are familiar with reggae or not. I would feel happy putting this on whoever was present, and I defy anyone to listen to it without smiling. It's such a great price, I may even buy a couple of copies to give as gifts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Reggae (Audio CD)
Good item, received quickly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CD, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 100 Hits: Reggae (Audio CD)
it was ok, nothing much more to add it was nice going back listerning to some old time music. ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

100 Hits: Reggae
100 Hits: Reggae by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews