Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money but not well set up.
This bike is fantastic value for money, it looks amazing and is very comfortable to ride. The gears are a little stiff but very usable. The seat is very comfortable and the suspension I found was just right. The handle bars are a little small and after long periods of riding your hands can stiffen up in that position, though that's not a major issue.

Though the...
Published on 8 Nov 2009 by Mr. R. H. Nakarja

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blackdown
the bike is good value for money

On the downside the peadal arms are always working loose and need constant tighening. The seat suffers the same problem.

Apart from that the bike is well built.
Published on 23 May 2010 by John W. Garrett


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money but not well set up., 8 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Boss Blackdawn Men's Dual Suspension Mountain Bike - 26-Inch, Black (Sports)
This bike is fantastic value for money, it looks amazing and is very comfortable to ride. The gears are a little stiff but very usable. The seat is very comfortable and the suspension I found was just right. The handle bars are a little small and after long periods of riding your hands can stiffen up in that position, though that's not a major issue.

Though the most important problem with it is the set up.

PLEASE GET IT SET UP BEFORE USING IT!

It arrives reasonably well put together. all you need to do is attach the handle bars, seat, pedals, front wheel and mud guards. However, the insertion of the front wheel means it wont have a correctly set up brake so it will rub and squeak horribly. After a week of use some of the cables slipped slightly including the gears and brakes.

I LOST THE REAR BRAKE DOWN A HILL!! Fortunately the front one was okay. Ensure you get the bike professionally set up due to the sensitive brakes.

The bike only comes with a spanner and one size alenkey so you will need a couple more tools to put the bike fully together. I made the mistake of not having other spanners with me and using the bike without making sure everything was tight.

Apart from that it's a great bike, it just needs a bit of effort to get it up and running =].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blackdawn the boss., 1 Oct 2009
By 
Nburton "nelly" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boss Blackdawn Men's Dual Suspension Mountain Bike - 26-Inch, Black (Sports)
i bought this bike for exersize andfor its looks, which are both good.i read the other reviewes wich i found very helpfull. when it arrived i put it together in about 20 mins, after riding most days for the last month i have found no probs with gears/frame or pedles,as with most things you buy like this you must check nuts +bolts are tight,i am a 16 stone lump and it carries me very well, overall very good bike for the price.
neil
doncaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blackdown, 23 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Boss Blackdawn Men's Dual Suspension Mountain Bike - 26-Inch, Black (Sports)
the bike is good value for money

On the downside the peadal arms are always working loose and need constant tighening. The seat suffers the same problem.

Apart from that the bike is well built.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointed, 8 Mar 2009
By 
T. Wheldon (Huddersfield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boss Blackdawn Men's Dual Suspension Mountain Bike - 26-Inch, Black (Sports)
Just got this bike and was very happy with it but then on first ride out we went on a 6 mile bike ride and the peddle snapped and the bolt at the bottom of the frame came out leaving the frame twisted and very dangerous to ride. It wasn't like we were riding dowm a mountain it was only a canal. Also the haddle bar gips are a bit small and I found the a bit uncomfotable. I appreciate I may just have been unlucky and received a faulty one. Other than that the bike seemed like a nice bike but after my experiences with it I couldn't recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Far, So Good!, 16 Jan 2011
This review is from: Boss Blackdawn Men's Dual Suspension Mountain Bike - 26-Inch, Black (Sports)
I bought this bike as a cheap 'run-around'. I didn't expect award winning quality for the price and anyone who did needs to have a chat with themselves. Only once i'd ordered this bike, did i read the reviews! I have owned it for a month now and it feels/looks a lot more expensive than it is.

I am sorry if people received this bike with a 'bent frame' etc, but mine made it all the way to Germany without a scratch!

Can't recommend it enough, i'll update if there are any problems in the near future. Once again, if you want a bullet-proof bike people....Pay for one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great bike, but a few problems, 12 Jan 2009
By 
S. Salih - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boss Blackdawn Men's Dual Suspension Mountain Bike - 26-Inch, Black (Sports)
Hey people
Just got this, bike, it rocks, best bike I had so far
but....there are some minor problems,
Firstly: when you change into a lower gear, sometimes the chain can come off the wheely thing (no idea what it is called :) )
this is simply fixed and has happened on every mountain type bike i have ever owned, so for me is no biggy
Secondly: the mudguards are crappy and don't really work or look good, but you could solve this by simply not attaching them in the first place
Overall, a fan-tubby-tastic bike and a great bargin, especially at this price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid like the plague!!!, 31 Oct 2009
This review is from: Boss Blackdawn Men's Dual Suspension Mountain Bike - 26-Inch, Black (Sports)
Rubbish bike. Doesnt come with the correct tools to build it, chain keeps falling off and the pedal broke off after a few days. In future Ill buy from my local bike shop where at least I can put it in for repair easily if they sell me junk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not bad for the price, 22 April 2009
This review is from: Boss Blackdawn Men's Dual Suspension Mountain Bike - 26-Inch, Black (Sports)
this bike is a sound value for money product. there were a few teething problems with my individual bike, the gears, rattle, and the wheels have a slight wobble. the build quality is reasonable, but not exceptional, you have to check all nuts n bolts to be sure, but all in all, not a bad buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boss Blackdawn, 30 Dec 2010
This review is from: Boss Blackdawn Men's Dual Suspension Mountain Bike - 26-Inch, Black (Sports)
Excellent bike- arrived within days of purchase- well worth the money in relation to similar bikesRaleigh Helmet Missle Ii Purp 54-58cm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my beast, 15 Nov 2010
This review is from: Boss Blackdawn Men's Dual Suspension Mountain Bike - 26-Inch, Black (Sports)
a quality bike for the price and requires putting together but make sure ur crank (the pedal arms)are ok as mine was damaged due to faulty bearing which is a 1 in a million thing so buy and enjoy !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab56f594)

This product

Only search this product's reviews