Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Game Will Screw With Your Mind!!!
Last week I bought Siren Blood Curse after reading online that it was a semi scary game and a decent game overall, man did I get a very pleasent surprise.

I put in the game and I didn't get a tutorial, a 10 minute long cgi intro or anytime what so ever to brace myself for what comes flying at you. The game cleverly throws you in the thick of it making you panic...
Published on 20 Feb 2009 by S. Lornie

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old school horror in more ways than one
Bought this after the belated Blu Ray release, and found it to be a chilling, if archaic, horror title.
Being new to the franchise, its difficult to determine how much of a sequel this is. Some say it's a remake of the original; in the additional documentary the games makers say this is an attempt to westernise the original concept. This means that American...
Published on 6 Dec 2008 by Stevie G


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Game Will Screw With Your Mind!!!, 20 Feb 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Siren Blood Curse (PS3) (Video Game)
Last week I bought Siren Blood Curse after reading online that it was a semi scary game and a decent game overall, man did I get a very pleasent surprise.

I put in the game and I didn't get a tutorial, a 10 minute long cgi intro or anytime what so ever to brace myself for what comes flying at you. The game cleverly throws you in the thick of it making you panic and hurry along the first level and from there things pick up greatly.

The game is a horror based in Japan (surprise) on some abandoned island where some village rituals use to go on (another surprise) and you play a series of american tv workers, teenage boys, little girl etc... lots of characters to go through which is great.

The story itself is not worth telling because that ruins the fun of the game and its worth finding out by playing it.

Anyway... this island is riddled with darkness, the skys are red, the water is full of blood and the island is mobbed with Shibito. Now these Shibito are creepy and just plain horrible. Basically they're zombies, who have a small portion of intelligence and their basic instincts are to rip you to pieces. Their voices are phased and destorted (like classic Evil Dead) and they will hunt you and never stop.

The Shibito are quite clever in my opinion. They'll go about their daily tasks etc until they spot you. Then they're literally roam around the entire map until they find you. Turn your torch off and hide under your bed because they're clever AI. Not only do they like to hunt you but they also love to taunt you. Level 3 you have to sneak out of this abandoned hospital as this little girl and having one of these sucker chase you shouting "Im going to find you, I saw you!" etc was tense!

The graphics for this game are stunning. I admit i'm not a fan of the PS3, I find some of their games quite unimpressive due to bad graphics, screen tearing etc but this game is absolutly beautifal in it's dark twisted ways. Everything inthe game is surrounded by darkness, fog and damp and the guys who made this game pulled it off soo well. The body animations are fantastic and detailed. They did a very good job here.

Now the controls... I'v read alot of complaints about the controls and it's perfectly understandable to find them abit WONKY. But, in my honest opinion they fit the game very well... awkward like the game itself. The controls will take a short learning curve and if you play too muchgames like me I wouldn't worry about it.

Gameplay, now this is where I was extremely surprised. Think Silent Hill meets Splinter Cell. Yes, what we have here is a stealth horror game. You don't do any split legged jumps or hack computers but a fair portion of the game is about sneaking about the place, laying traps for Shibito or finding ways to distract the devils so you can sneak past them. This stealth system works well, it creates a severe amount of tension and makes the game different from the usual horror games (ie Big guns and grenades).

Sound, this is my favourite part about the game. I installed it, loaded it and then had to see to my baby for 2 minutes only to hear this wonderful creepy soundtrack oozing out my tv speakers. I tell you it's very rare to find a spooky soundtrack on agame these days but this game certianly has it.

Overall this game is fantastic if you like horror games or fancy a severe change. It lives up to it's prequels (which if you havent played are worth the purchase : Forbidden Siren 1+2) and looks twice as good. I'd recommend it for the price it's going for, for the simple fact it's probably the best game on the PS3 that no one pays attention too. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing japanese horror, 14 Sep 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Siren Blood Curse (PS3) (Video Game)
I purchased this game through the Playstation Network and I'm glad to see they are now releasing this game onto Blu-ray disc as it truly deserves it. I'm going to be buying this game for the second time because I like it that much and as a download it also eats up quite a large amount of space on your HD.

Siren: Blood Curse takes you on a terrifying adventure set in Japan. An American TV crew find themselves deserted on an island where they have come to investigate and document the legend of Hanuda, a "vanished village" where human sacrifices are said to have taken place thirty years prior. Each are eventually split up and have to face the dangers of the island alone. Another character, a teenager named Howard is also on the island and you will get to play each and every character in the game throughout your journey.

Sam and Melissa are a seperated couple who have come to the island and their daughter Bella has been brought along by Sam which Melissa isn't happy about. You get to play as Sam and Melissa and even play as Bella in a terrifying hospital level which involves creeping around in stealth.

The occupents of the island appear to be Japanese zombie-like creatures which vary in strength and difficulty as you progress. There are also some larger and very obscure and frightening enemies later on in the game. Each of the enemies and the characters show off some amazing graphical details and the game looks absolutely stunning. A fantastic part of the game with a huge enemy shaking a bus as you try to make your way through stood out as a really memorable part of this game for me which is one of many great atmospheric and frightening moments within the entire 20+ hour adventure.

Some of the gameplay includes fighting off enemies with various weapons, solving puzzles, shooting, combat, using memory and most noticebly sightjacking. Sightjacking gives you the ability to see through the eyes of nearby enemies and other characters whilst you still view the character you are playingin a split-screen mode. This works really well once you get the hang of it and comes in useful for when you are required to creep around or attack enemies from behind.

Siren: BC gives you the true feeling of horror and suspense that alot of survival horrors find hard to pull off. I was genuinely scared at moments and the game can make you jump quite a bit. The graphics are excellent, they're dark but you constantly have light sources and it can feel very eerie exploring the village. Some of the people who have turned into zombies are some off the collest looking zombies I have seen in a game yet.

If you love a decent story, great graphics, a scary/creepy experience and a decent length game with great characters and dicversity then you will love Siren BC. The game is seperated into episodes within chapters giving you a re-cap of what happened in the last episode, these are really cool and effective and if you want to just continue playing it doesn't interupt the game or make it less fluid in any way.

An amazing game that surprised me and became one of my best PS3 titles of 2008. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who says survival horror is dead?, 2 Feb 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Siren Blood Curse (PS3) (Video Game)
I'm a massive survival horror fan. I love the way these games don't let you just run around like a lunatic and shoot everything in sight. They require thought. Do you press forward in the game or do you go back to look for ammo or health knowing such a move may well end up with you losing your head from your shoulders? It's a truly mature genre for the mature gamer. While I have enjoyed the recent resi games and dead space, they have taken away a huge part of the 'survival' in survival horror opting for a more gung-ho approach. And in some cases,(looking at you resi 5) they have even taken away the horror too.
That is why i'm so delighted I discovered Siren Blood Curse. Not only is it at times truly terrifying, but if you go in trying to kill everything in sight your in for a big shock. The enemies are relentless monsters that will stop at nothing to cut you into tiny pieces. Your only choice is to play tactically, hiding in lockers, shadows or whatever you can find. If your lucky enough to find a weapon, you have to hope your able to sneak up on an enemy because fighting face to face will usually result in death, especially when your up against more than one enemy.
To help you out, your given the ability to sight-jack enemies. Sightjacking let's you see the world from the perspective of another enemy. What they are doing, whether they can see you from their view point, so on. You would think knowing where your enemies are at all times would lessen the horror, but in some cases, it actually does the opposite. Say your hiding in a closet after running from an enemy, seeing that same enemy slowly approach the closet your hiding in from their perspective is one of the most terrifying experiences in gaming you will ever have. There are several moments in this game that will really send your pulse racing, many involving the stages where you play as a ten year old girl. I don't want to spoil anything but there is a part where you have to unlock a gate while playing as the little girl that actually caused me to scream out loud for the first time ever while playing a game.I can't say whether it'll get the same reaction from you or other players, but I guarantee that it WILL scare you.
So is Siren perfect? Far from it. Some of the levels later on in the game can get incredibly frustrating, especially any levels involving escorting bella. The way the game keeps re-using the same maps is also annoying and causes the game to get a little repetitive at times. But for this price, it's absolutely essential for any true survival fan out there. I can't remember the last time i've enjoyed a horror game this much since resident evil 4. There's nearly 20 hours of game here which is excellent value for money in my opinion. I reccomend that everyone at least gives Siren Blood Curse a go because in my opinion it is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fear the Shibito, 17 Sep 2014
This review is from: Siren Blood Curse (PS3) (Video Game)
STORY
We return the series to the doomed village of Hanuda, the setting of the original Siren. It is August 2007; an American television crew arrive in Hanuda and stumble upon a horrifying ritual involving a human sacrifice. There are seven characters that have made their way to this village of the damned, each of them with their own motive for being in Hanuda. They all share one common aspect, the Shibito are swarming the village and eagerly await the presence of these unlucky souls.

The story’s greatest strength is its ability to utilise seven playable characters and portray the horrific events through their eyes. The Shibito are not your average mindless zombies, they have human-like behaviour, which makes them intriguing to watch. Siren: Blood Curse's episodic structure also keeps things engaging. No single chapter is very long, so you're constantly jumping from one character to another and from one gameplay style to another.

GRAPHICS & SOUND
There’s a grainy quality to the visuals, which really works for the presentation. Everything about Hanuda is decayed, grimy and not what you’d consider a tourist destination. The eerie silence and abandonment of the village are great tools in employment, as they consistently convey a sense of dread and unease. One of the most memorable locales was a town square that had been flooded with blood-red water, not only did it emphasise detail, but it can also makes the player very nervous.

The Shibito are the true stars when it comes to their character models and animations. Their mangled and twisted bodies move erratically, although there is a very minor human-like quality to their behaviour. It’s very unnerving to be in their presence, whether you are engaging them or trying to quietly sneak around them. The Shibito make all manners of disturbing sounds, it’s just as creepy when they attempt speak and their tone of voice shifts up and down. The music is creepy and the stealth sections produce some chilling sound effects.

The character models for the playable characters have a lifeless look to them, considering they should be scared shitless. The limited facial animations do nothing to sell their performances. I understand that darkness cranks up the tension, but it never should be at the expense of restricting your field of view.

GAMEPLAY
The sight jacking system is this game’s trump card. Sight jacking is the ability to see through the eyes of any other character, and vital for sneaking past patrolling Shibito that are deadly when you are unarmed. There are plenty of stealth sections to come across; this is where sight jacking is crucial for getting you out alive. Sightjacking is a very interesting gameplay mechanic, but it also contributes to the horror and dread that symbolise this game. The episodic structure helps to keep things engaging. The style of gameplay differs from episode to episode, in one you may be unarmed, then you may have to use weapons or escort another character to safety. You won’t have access to many weapons throughout the game, and the time you spend with weapons is very limited. I like this approach from the developers; it’s a great way of using fear as a game mechanic.

You may think that stealth and escort missions are an annoying trait in video games; Blood Curse does enough to keep the experience fresh, switch the characters and change gameplay situations. The characters vary in their combat and movements. Each of them has a strength and weakness, which keeps you on your toes and differentiates your control of them. Objectives are always updated to tell you exactly what you're supposed to do next. and there's usually a handy icon on the map that tells you exactly where you need to go to do it. The Shibito can be a terrifying bunch to face; they are absolutely ruthless and will hunt you down whatever it takes. The camera performs extremely well and the frame rate remains solid‘ whether you use sight jacking or not.

The characters do control stiffly, the animations feel clunky and not attached tightly to the ;:ontrols. It’s very easy to get knocked down, not only does it take an age to get back up, you have [0 senselessly shake the controller to do so. I’m not sure why this was deemed to be fun or necessary, it’s a pointless addition and a very uninspired way of adding Six axis motion input.

OVERALL
For a downloadable title, Blood Curse serves its purpose as a sharp and satisfying experience. The visuals could do with greater love and care. although the gameplay makes up for that. Hanuda village is beautifully realised, intriguing characters inhabit the world and the immense presence of the Shibito truly propels the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Turn off the Lights - Hear the Siren !, 31 May 2009
By 
Kit (London UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Siren Blood Curse (PS3) (Video Game)
Siren Blood Curse - BDR (PS3)
Deep, engaging, atmospheric. A very Japanese survival horror ~
First of all, if you're a familiar with previous Siren games you're in for a treat ! More of a remix in my opinion rather than a remake of the first game, fans will be right at home with the setting and controls and very pleased with the new characters and unravelling story with plenty of mystery and suprise. If however you're new to the series, and maybe appealed by the Japanese horror movie genre(films like Grudge, Ring/Ringu) style you'll also be loving this.
As a previous reviewer metioned this is not a shoot 'em up run and gun style game, more so a stealth 'em up make it by the skin of your teeth type of affair. The best action is to stealthly negotiate a safe path through the swarms of shibito(zombies) avoiding combat as you creep around delapitated houses/builings/woodlands/mines in the darkness and when you do slip up and get spotted; my advice is run and hide ! But when you DO need to take down a shibito, your wisest move would be to creep up behind them (using 'sight jacking' to observe the enemy's point of view) and whack them over the head with a sake bottle !(or wench, hammer, axe etc.). I should also mention there are weapons like shotguns, pistols and sniper rifles for gun freaks too.
The format is really creative; like an interactive horror tv series with previous events previewed before the start of each chapter/episode just like the on TV. Not to mention being able to play from a diverse range of characters; from an American foreign exchange student, to a nun from the deranged cult to a 10 year old girl.
All in all if you're up for something quite different to recent hits like Resident Evil, and like to soak up some scary atmosphere and take your time to be absorbed with the intricate plot then definitely give it a play !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Scariest Game - Ever!, 17 Jan 2009
By 
E. M. Franklin "Euan Franklin" (Sevenoaks, Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Siren Blood Curse (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is probably the scariest game i have ever played. That's right! Scarier than F.E.A.R., Resident Evil, and Silent Hill. I expected it to be scary, but not as scary as that!

This game is based in an abandoned Japanese village, which is crawling with zombies. You first play an American teenage boy who gets lost in the middle of nowhere.

There are some cutscenes to people trying to make a movie in this Japanese village. You do not play any of these people in the first episode. I have only played the first episode, which didn't take long to complete, but still it terrified me.

This is a remarkable game by Sony. One of Sony's best games. Its definately up there with MGS4. And its much better than Haze and Resistance. I am a big PS3 fan, but Sony's games have been a bit weak recently (eg Resistance 2), but this game has made the PS3 rise up to its expectations. To me, its a good reason to buy a PS3. A bold claim, but i mean it!

No one thought that they could beat the 360 with Dead Rising, but Siren Blood Curse has beat Dead Rising by miles ahead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a real fear factor!, 2 Sep 2009
By 
M. D. Pattrick "1k0nd3f" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Siren Blood Curse (PS3) (Video Game)
As a fan of the survival horror genre Silent Hill 5 and Resident Evil 5, while good games, moved away from their traditional routes. RE5 became more of an action shooter, the atmosphere of being alone in a dark town as your comrades are killed one by one was replaced by a barrage of fast moving human zombie hybrids running around in broad daylight as you scrounged for ammo firing furiously. Silent Hill gave us a character that knew how to handle himself and became more focused on the action. Resident Evil was still successful and it is easy to understand why as the engine and gameplay really worked. Silent Hill, which so heavily relied on atmosphere and the sense of loneliness was doomed as soon as that was lost.

Fortunately, here we have a successor to the Silent Hill series. This game is quite astonishing. Firstly the graphics are crisp, clear and detailed, the atmosphere is terrifying, playing most of the game in a surreal darkness. The torch and other lighting effects are extremely accurate, creating a sense of dread at what is around the next corner. The Shibito zombies are hideous, largely due to the all too human form but with blood streaming from every orifice and the slow staggered movements. They can also speak and the voices echo as they look for you. This personification of the evil increases the panic. The back drops are fairly standard, not overwhelming but blend in well enough.

The basic premise is a town overrun with Shibito zombies which are immortal, although they can be shot, pummeled and pulverized they will soon come back to life within a few minutes creating a real sense of tension as you have to carry out a task before the monster wakes up. The inhabitants of the town are all Japanese, living in a "lost" Japanese village. You play a host of characters at different times from a Japanese Doctor with a hunting rifle to a ten year old American girl with a keen enthusiasm for hide and seek. This array of characters allow for different types of game play, in one chapter you may be Grabbing axes and hacking anything that gets on your way, and in the next you are a small child trying to find a cupboard to hide in so as not to be caught by the watchful enemy.

The story is complex and relies heavily on a paradox which may take some reading in order to fully understand the plot. As with many Japanese games and films parts of the story often has implications as opposed to any real solution and there are various files found throughout the game which open up more of the story. For some this can be annoying as the story should become a focal point with these games.

The gameplay is actually quite realistic, different characters that are controlled have different strengths and weaknesses, some are faster and others are stronger, I spent a whole hour finding a lightweight weapon for one of the characters because anything heavy made her incredibly sluggish and before I knew it I was being battered. Combinations of moves come into play but sometimes the melee controls are a little too slow and can become infuriating. Some of the characters are so helpless that the fear is amplified, knowing that all your character can do is run away and avoid the zombies means that if something drops from the ceiling or comes out of a room the player knows they are in trouble

Sight jacking is a unique feature which adds to the building tension It is a tool that allows the character to see through the eyes f the Shibito. During the activation of this tool the screen splits and you can see what the zombie sees. If you are hiding and are waiting for the right moment to make a move this tells you in which direction they are looking and when to time the move. However this also creates another source of fear as you move the character you await the monster to turn and lock onto you.

Overall an engaging and frightening experience with little snags about the gameplay and back drops but otherwise full marks. This game really does fill a whole in the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Siren blood curse, 11 Dec 2009
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Siren Blood Curse (PS3) (Video Game)
With instant action in a series from the tv sort of way, this is varied full of character and fun. The game recaps like a series from the tv, shows what your going to do next time!!! Its all a little weird but intrestingly compelling. You play as various characters each with different attributes. Your able to tap into the "ghosts" vision and see what they see while still playing. Shooter with a twist, normally you have a set number of tasks to do but follow the instructions at the top of the screen and you cant go wrong. Thats not to say this is easy, its not!!

For an older game on the market i have to say the graphics dont let it down either, simply they look great. Definetly not for the weak hearted or children!! This ones a little weird and plenty of violence!! Have a look and keep an open mind!! A well written and different game with plenty to do, puzzles to solve, zombie ghost like things to shoot, and to top it off you feel like one of the characters from neighbours or something!!

It is a bit weird though but that only adds to the fun!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super, 12 Feb 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Siren Blood Curse (PS3) (Video Game)
Siren Blood Curse is fantastic, everything is perfect except for one thing, the little girl is so annoying! Half the time I actually wanted her to get killed! But aside from that, this game is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Siren Blood Curse, 29 Sep 2008
By 
Ryan M. Booth "Biohazard 25" (Isle of Skye, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Siren Blood Curse (PS3) (Video Game)
Like the others before me, i too purchased this from the psn store. Its a brilliant game...great graphics and very atmospheric and dark. I would advise people to purchase the game on disc as the downloads themselves,even though they are good value for what you pay, do take up alot of your memory (around 9gb in total for the 12 episodic levels ) and can take up alot of your time to download. If you liked Silent Hill or the Resident Evil games then you will like this, plenty of characters to play though as the game swaps between them allowing you to view the storyline through different perspectives. One of the better levels is when you play as little Bella,sneeking your way around a hospital....if you thought silent hills hospitals were bad....you aint seen nothing yet!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Siren Blood Curse  (PS3)
Siren Blood Curse (PS3) by Sony (PlayStation 3)
Used & New from: £14.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews