Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing japanese horror
I purchased this game through the Playstation Network and I'm glad to see they are now releasing this game onto Blu-ray disc as it truly deserves it. I'm going to be buying this game for the second time because I like it that much and as a download it also eats up quite a large amount of space on your HD.

Siren: Blood Curse takes you on a terrifying adventure...
Published on 14 Sep 2008 by BritReader

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old school horror in more ways than one
Bought this after the belated Blu Ray release, and found it to be a chilling, if archaic, horror title.
Being new to the franchise, its difficult to determine how much of a sequel this is. Some say it's a remake of the original; in the additional documentary the games makers say this is an attempt to westernise the original concept. This means that American...
Published on 6 Dec 2008 by Stevie G


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing japanese horror, 14 Sep 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Siren Blood Curse (PS3) (Video Game)
I purchased this game through the Playstation Network and I'm glad to see they are now releasing this game onto Blu-ray disc as it truly deserves it. I'm going to be buying this game for the second time because I like it that much and as a download it also eats up quite a large amount of space on your HD.

Siren: Blood Curse takes you on a terrifying adventure set in Japan. An American TV crew find themselves deserted on an island where they have come to investigate and document the legend of Hanuda, a "vanished village" where human sacrifices are said to have taken place thirty years prior. Each are eventually split up and have to face the dangers of the island alone. Another character, a teenager named Howard is also on the island and you will get to play each and every character in the game throughout your journey.

Sam and Melissa are a seperated couple who have come to the island and their daughter Bella has been brought along by Sam which Melissa isn't happy about. You get to play as Sam and Melissa and even play as Bella in a terrifying hospital level which involves creeping around in stealth.

The occupents of the island appear to be Japanese zombie-like creatures which vary in strength and difficulty as you progress. There are also some larger and very obscure and frightening enemies later on in the game. Each of the enemies and the characters show off some amazing graphical details and the game looks absolutely stunning. A fantastic part of the game with a huge enemy shaking a bus as you try to make your way through stood out as a really memorable part of this game for me which is one of many great atmospheric and frightening moments within the entire 20+ hour adventure.

Some of the gameplay includes fighting off enemies with various weapons, solving puzzles, shooting, combat, using memory and most noticebly sightjacking. Sightjacking gives you the ability to see through the eyes of nearby enemies and other characters whilst you still view the character you are playingin a split-screen mode. This works really well once you get the hang of it and comes in useful for when you are required to creep around or attack enemies from behind.

Siren: BC gives you the true feeling of horror and suspense that alot of survival horrors find hard to pull off. I was genuinely scared at moments and the game can make you jump quite a bit. The graphics are excellent, they're dark but you constantly have light sources and it can feel very eerie exploring the village. Some of the people who have turned into zombies are some off the collest looking zombies I have seen in a game yet.

If you love a decent story, great graphics, a scary/creepy experience and a decent length game with great characters and dicversity then you will love Siren BC. The game is seperated into episodes within chapters giving you a re-cap of what happened in the last episode, these are really cool and effective and if you want to just continue playing it doesn't interupt the game or make it less fluid in any way.

An amazing game that surprised me and became one of my best PS3 titles of 2008. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Game Will Screw With Your Mind!!!, 20 Feb 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Siren Blood Curse (PS3) (Video Game)
Last week I bought Siren Blood Curse after reading online that it was a semi scary game and a decent game overall, man did I get a very pleasent surprise.

I put in the game and I didn't get a tutorial, a 10 minute long cgi intro or anytime what so ever to brace myself for what comes flying at you. The game cleverly throws you in the thick of it making you panic and hurry along the first level and from there things pick up greatly.

The game is a horror based in Japan (surprise) on some abandoned island where some village rituals use to go on (another surprise) and you play a series of american tv workers, teenage boys, little girl etc... lots of characters to go through which is great.

The story itself is not worth telling because that ruins the fun of the game and its worth finding out by playing it.

Anyway... this island is riddled with darkness, the skys are red, the water is full of blood and the island is mobbed with Shibito. Now these Shibito are creepy and just plain horrible. Basically they're zombies, who have a small portion of intelligence and their basic instincts are to rip you to pieces. Their voices are phased and destorted (like classic Evil Dead) and they will hunt you and never stop.

The Shibito are quite clever in my opinion. They'll go about their daily tasks etc until they spot you. Then they're literally roam around the entire map until they find you. Turn your torch off and hide under your bed because they're clever AI. Not only do they like to hunt you but they also love to taunt you. Level 3 you have to sneak out of this abandoned hospital as this little girl and having one of these sucker chase you shouting "Im going to find you, I saw you!" etc was tense!

The graphics for this game are stunning. I admit i'm not a fan of the PS3, I find some of their games quite unimpressive due to bad graphics, screen tearing etc but this game is absolutly beautifal in it's dark twisted ways. Everything inthe game is surrounded by darkness, fog and damp and the guys who made this game pulled it off soo well. The body animations are fantastic and detailed. They did a very good job here.

Now the controls... I'v read alot of complaints about the controls and it's perfectly understandable to find them abit WONKY. But, in my honest opinion they fit the game very well... awkward like the game itself. The controls will take a short learning curve and if you play too muchgames like me I wouldn't worry about it.

Gameplay, now this is where I was extremely surprised. Think Silent Hill meets Splinter Cell. Yes, what we have here is a stealth horror game. You don't do any split legged jumps or hack computers but a fair portion of the game is about sneaking about the place, laying traps for Shibito or finding ways to distract the devils so you can sneak past them. This stealth system works well, it creates a severe amount of tension and makes the game different from the usual horror games (ie Big guns and grenades).

Sound, this is my favourite part about the game. I installed it, loaded it and then had to see to my baby for 2 minutes only to hear this wonderful creepy soundtrack oozing out my tv speakers. I tell you it's very rare to find a spooky soundtrack on agame these days but this game certianly has it.

Overall this game is fantastic if you like horror games or fancy a severe change. It lives up to it's prequels (which if you havent played are worth the purchase : Forbidden Siren 1+2) and looks twice as good. I'd recommend it for the price it's going for, for the simple fact it's probably the best game on the PS3 that no one pays attention too. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who says survival horror is dead?, 2 Feb 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Siren Blood Curse (PS3) (Video Game)
I'm a massive survival horror fan. I love the way these games don't let you just run around like a lunatic and shoot everything in sight. They require thought. Do you press forward in the game or do you go back to look for ammo or health knowing such a move may well end up with you losing your head from your shoulders? It's a truly mature genre for the mature gamer. While I have enjoyed the recent resi games and dead space, they have taken away a huge part of the 'survival' in survival horror opting for a more gung-ho approach. And in some cases,(looking at you resi 5) they have even taken away the horror too.
That is why i'm so delighted I discovered Siren Blood Curse. Not only is it at times truly terrifying, but if you go in trying to kill everything in sight your in for a big shock. The enemies are relentless monsters that will stop at nothing to cut you into tiny pieces. Your only choice is to play tactically, hiding in lockers, shadows or whatever you can find. If your lucky enough to find a weapon, you have to hope your able to sneak up on an enemy because fighting face to face will usually result in death, especially when your up against more than one enemy.
To help you out, your given the ability to sight-jack enemies. Sightjacking let's you see the world from the perspective of another enemy. What they are doing, whether they can see you from their view point, so on. You would think knowing where your enemies are at all times would lessen the horror, but in some cases, it actually does the opposite. Say your hiding in a closet after running from an enemy, seeing that same enemy slowly approach the closet your hiding in from their perspective is one of the most terrifying experiences in gaming you will ever have. There are several moments in this game that will really send your pulse racing, many involving the stages where you play as a ten year old girl. I don't want to spoil anything but there is a part where you have to unlock a gate while playing as the little girl that actually caused me to scream out loud for the first time ever while playing a game.I can't say whether it'll get the same reaction from you or other players, but I guarantee that it WILL scare you.
So is Siren perfect? Far from it. Some of the levels later on in the game can get incredibly frustrating, especially any levels involving escorting bella. The way the game keeps re-using the same maps is also annoying and causes the game to get a little repetitive at times. But for this price, it's absolutely essential for any true survival fan out there. I can't remember the last time i've enjoyed a horror game this much since resident evil 4. There's nearly 20 hours of game here which is excellent value for money in my opinion. I reccomend that everyone at least gives Siren Blood Curse a go because in my opinion it is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Turn off the Lights - Hear the Siren !, 31 May 2009
By 
Kit (London UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Siren Blood Curse (PS3) (Video Game)
Siren Blood Curse - BDR (PS3)
Deep, engaging, atmospheric. A very Japanese survival horror ~
First of all, if you're a familiar with previous Siren games you're in for a treat ! More of a remix in my opinion rather than a remake of the first game, fans will be right at home with the setting and controls and very pleased with the new characters and unravelling story with plenty of mystery and suprise. If however you're new to the series, and maybe appealed by the Japanese horror movie genre(films like Grudge, Ring/Ringu) style you'll also be loving this.
As a previous reviewer metioned this is not a shoot 'em up run and gun style game, more so a stealth 'em up make it by the skin of your teeth type of affair. The best action is to stealthly negotiate a safe path through the swarms of shibito(zombies) avoiding combat as you creep around delapitated houses/builings/woodlands/mines in the darkness and when you do slip up and get spotted; my advice is run and hide ! But when you DO need to take down a shibito, your wisest move would be to creep up behind them (using 'sight jacking' to observe the enemy's point of view) and whack them over the head with a sake bottle !(or wench, hammer, axe etc.). I should also mention there are weapons like shotguns, pistols and sniper rifles for gun freaks too.
The format is really creative; like an interactive horror tv series with previous events previewed before the start of each chapter/episode just like the on TV. Not to mention being able to play from a diverse range of characters; from an American foreign exchange student, to a nun from the deranged cult to a 10 year old girl.
All in all if you're up for something quite different to recent hits like Resident Evil, and like to soak up some scary atmosphere and take your time to be absorbed with the intricate plot then definitely give it a play !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super, 12 Feb 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Siren Blood Curse (PS3) (Video Game)
Siren Blood Curse is fantastic, everything is perfect except for one thing, the little girl is so annoying! Half the time I actually wanted her to get killed! But aside from that, this game is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Scariest Game - Ever!, 17 Jan 2009
By 
E. M. Franklin "Euan Franklin" (Sevenoaks, Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Siren Blood Curse (PS3) (Video Game)
This game is probably the scariest game i have ever played. That's right! Scarier than F.E.A.R., Resident Evil, and Silent Hill. I expected it to be scary, but not as scary as that!

This game is based in an abandoned Japanese village, which is crawling with zombies. You first play an American teenage boy who gets lost in the middle of nowhere.

There are some cutscenes to people trying to make a movie in this Japanese village. You do not play any of these people in the first episode. I have only played the first episode, which didn't take long to complete, but still it terrified me.

This is a remarkable game by Sony. One of Sony's best games. Its definately up there with MGS4. And its much better than Haze and Resistance. I am a big PS3 fan, but Sony's games have been a bit weak recently (eg Resistance 2), but this game has made the PS3 rise up to its expectations. To me, its a good reason to buy a PS3. A bold claim, but i mean it!

No one thought that they could beat the 360 with Dead Rising, but Siren Blood Curse has beat Dead Rising by miles ahead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Siren Blood Curse, 29 Sep 2008
By 
Ryan M. Booth "Biohazard 25" (Isle of Skye, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Siren Blood Curse (PS3) (Video Game)
Like the others before me, i too purchased this from the psn store. Its a brilliant game...great graphics and very atmospheric and dark. I would advise people to purchase the game on disc as the downloads themselves,even though they are good value for what you pay, do take up alot of your memory (around 9gb in total for the 12 episodic levels ) and can take up alot of your time to download. If you liked Silent Hill or the Resident Evil games then you will like this, plenty of characters to play though as the game swaps between them allowing you to view the storyline through different perspectives. One of the better levels is when you play as little Bella,sneeking your way around a hospital....if you thought silent hills hospitals were bad....you aint seen nothing yet!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old school horror in more ways than one, 6 Dec 2008
By 
Stevie G "Stevie G" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Siren Blood Curse (PS3) (Video Game)
Bought this after the belated Blu Ray release, and found it to be a chilling, if archaic, horror title.
Being new to the franchise, its difficult to determine how much of a sequel this is. Some say it's a remake of the original; in the additional documentary the games makers say this is an attempt to westernise the original concept. This means that American characters are thrown into the mix. Seeing things through their perspective does create the illusion of being an outsider to this possessed Japenese village.

The story itself is a convoluted mess, that takes some Acts to pace out and make sense of. Every completed section unlocks an item of a specific character, that links into the story. If the player takes time to look at these, the absurd plot does begin to make sense. Like why a young girl has been taken on a documentary about the occult.
Gameplay is split into Acts, originally intended for edisodic download, that lends itself well to late night sessions. The beginning of each Act recaps events so far, and also works well.

Graphics range from excellent, usually during indoor environments where the lighting is truly menacing. Wider, more open spaces dont work so well. Effects like lens flare, and a grainy look, (made famous by Silent Hill) is very effective for creating suspense in these limited environments.

Despite some originality in the form of 'sight jacking' (the ability to see through the eyes of your enemy), Sirens puzzles havent moved on from the previous generation. Objectives are listed on the pause screen, but most puzzles are remarkably obscure, the rest a case of trial and error. Regardless, hunting around for a missing key quickly frustrates. At best the puzzles feel like filler, designed to prolong the levels. At worst they ruin any tension or fear the rest of the game has so carefully built.

Another negative point is the combat. Admittedly, this doesent have to be particularly sophisticated for a horror, yet the one button approach is still underwhelming. Once even a small weapon has been obtained, the Shibito are easily contained, bypassing the need to creep around and sight jack. Its no coincidence that the scariest sections are when defenceless.
If combat was going to be such a prominent feature, the controls and overall system should have been upgraded significantly. This is only exascerbated as the game progresses - where Shibito are stronger and more numerous.
Levels are recycled a lot, usually playing exactly the same section with a different character. For the whole, this feels cheap, but on a handful of times does enrich the experience.

The budget price does reflect the content. Siren Blood Curse is good while it lasts, but there isnt a huge amount of gameplay, and as mentioned, the controls are quite poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a screamer from the far east, 18 Sep 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Siren Blood Curse (PS3) (Video Game)
i bought this game as a download through the playstation network, i was a bit sceptical about what i would receive in return for my pounds, this game is absolute quality on all fronts, gameplay and atmosphere play out like resident evil 4, only much darker and grittier. take a flutter on this gem of a game.....10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this Game!!!, 18 Feb 2014
This review is from: Siren Blood Curse (PS3) (Video Game)
I brought this game late 2010 and was not disappointed it truly is what a survival horror game should be and its such a shame that more games like this don't get enough support or media coverage. Buy this game because its the last truly survival horror game that was released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Siren Blood Curse  (PS3)
Siren Blood Curse (PS3) by Sony (PlayStation 3)
Used & New from: 9.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews