Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pushing Daisies - why did they give it the heave-ho?
Pushing Daisies is one of the best TV shows there has ever been with the exception of Twin Peaks and Carnivale which co-incidentally were both given the brush-off before they had a chance to tell us the whole story and gather more fans deservedly.

Pushing Daisies wasn't given much advertisement by ABC thus no one tuned in apart from the hardcore fans because...
Published on 28 May 2009 by B. S. Tuck

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pushing Daisies
Generally good condition, but towards the end of one episode the disc seems to be scratched or something- so you miss the last 10 minute as it doesn't play.
Published 9 months ago by Sophie Grant


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pushing Daisies - why did they give it the heave-ho?, 28 May 2009
By 
B. S. Tuck (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Pushing Daisies is one of the best TV shows there has ever been with the exception of Twin Peaks and Carnivale which co-incidentally were both given the brush-off before they had a chance to tell us the whole story and gather more fans deservedly.

Pushing Daisies wasn't given much advertisement by ABC thus no one tuned in apart from the hardcore fans because nobody even knew it was on! Hence, lack of high ratings which lead to ABC being able to have an excuse to stop the show (reportedly because they were a bit worried because Pushing Daisies was quite genre-breaking and cutting edge because of it's style and content and also because it cost a lot to make, most probably because of the latter).

I find it unbelieveable that shows like Friends is allowed to carry on for umpteen needless boring empty series and Pushing Daisies gets ripped off the air after only 22 episodes and 2 series.

No the end doesn't give closure. Only a little, but not much. It rushes to tie up ends and tell us what the characters do next but there is no closure whatsoever, just a MASSIVE cliffhanger and some really tasty leads that weren't follwed up. What a crushing disappointment. Anna Friel and Lee Pace were extremely angry at PD being taken off the air and legions of fans are left weeping into their Rice Crispies and have nothing left but to endlessly discuss what 'might' have happened (Like with Twin Peaks in the 90's ...till now!) ...me being one of them.

Series 2 is just as much as a visual and aural delight as series one. Brilliant plots and character development, beautiful music usage and faultless scripting. Great introduction of sub-characters that don't jarr the main casting too much. Just ..well, perfect.

There are rumours of a movie or a comic being made but this is all doubtful, the cast have already moved onto other projects and now Pushing Daisies is left drowning in a sea of shows that had the potential to be groundbreaking if given a bit more time but never got given the chance. Such a shame. Same thing happened with Wondefalls (Which is a blessing if you like Lee Pace's character Ned) made by the same chap Bryan Fuller.

Buy this DVD whether you saw the first series or not, they pick up from where they left off at the start but also give a quick briefer incase you missed anything. Worth every penny and an absolute Televisual delight.

RIP Pushing Daisies, you'll always be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pushing Daisies- Season 2, 9 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pushing Daisies is....Well, its a lot of things;Its a romcom with a twist, a dective show with humour, a real-life fairytale but most of all it is totally breath-taking. Created by Bryan Fuller, a man whom I regard as a genius(check out Dead Like Me and Wonderfalls), this show had a glorious,if crushingly short run. It follows the adventures of Ned,a pie-maker with the ability to raise the dead. If you are familiar with the show, you know the rules and regulations that go with this, if unfamiliar read elsewhere. The main facts are these: he has a girlfriend he can't touch for she has already died, he runs the pie-hole with a waiter in love with him and is a partner in a P.I. firm with a surly,lonely grouch.
Every episode is a little film,bursting with colour and charm. The cast is excellent,Lee Pace and the beautiful Anna Friel starring in the main roles. The stars however, are Chi McBride as Emerson Cod, aforementioned P.I. and Kirsten Chenoweth, whose comedic-timing, serious acting and singing are all brillant.
The music of James Dooley and the narration of Jim Dale only add to the magic.This a show to be cherished,caressed and loved.Included are all 13 episodes. Buy it, Buy it, Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pushing Daisies in hi-def, 6 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Pushing Daisies: Complete Second Season [Blu-ray] [2009] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
The bluray of the second series of Pushing Daisies plays fine on UK Region B Bluray players.

Languages are English 5.1 French 5.1 Spanish 2.0 German 2.0

Subtitles also in English, French, Spanish, German

The extras are the same as those on the standard DVD release.

Pictures is 1080p and, as expected, better than the DVD release (though the DVD picture is no slouch)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I So Wish This Weren't the End, 21 July 2009
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a show that doesn't look like it should work on paper. Ned (Lee Pace) is a pie maker who also happens to have a gift. With one touch, he can bring the dead back to life. But a second touch kills them forever. While he owns a pie restaurant that he runs with the help of Olive (Kristin Chenoweth), he moonlights helping private investigator Emerson Cod (Chi McBride) solve murders by interviewing the murder victims. In the first season, Ned kept one such victim alive. He just couldn't let childhood sweetheart Charlotte "Chuck" Charles (Anna Friel) stay dead. But she has to keep her life secret from Aunts Vivian and Lily (Ellen Green and Swoosie Kurtz).

Yes, the set up takes a little bit to explain. But once you buy into the premise, it works. Every week, the crew takes on a new murder investigation in such locations as a circus or with magicians. Heck, they even get thee to a nunnery. They solve the murder of a modern day Robin Hood. And there's a synchronized swimmer killed by a shark.

But each week also involves ongoing stories about the character's lives. As the season opens, Olive knows a secret about Chuck's mother. As things progress, Emerson hunts for his missing daughter, Ned finds some long lost relatives, and Chuck and Olive become roommates.

All this leaves out my all time favorite episode of the show. "The Legend of Merle McQuoddy" makes so many references and jokes to the Disney film Pete's Dragon a fan of that movie must watch it. Adding to the fun, Jim Dale, one of the stars of that movie, is the narrator of this series.

Honestly, I can't rave about this show enough. It is whimsical and fun. Each week's mystery plays perfectly into the on going storylines. The acting is perfect. The dialogue is fast and clever, leaving you hanging on every word. And it looks amazing. This show was made for HD. Trust me, this is the way to watch it.

Unfortunately, the ratings for the show were poor, so the 13 episodes here represent the final episodes of the show. Because of how the show was canceled, the producers weren't given enough time to wrap everything up. Having said that, the final episode has a nice coda that left me very satisfied. Now, if only I knew how some of the dangling plots played out.

If you missed this show, correct that now. Get both this and the first season. Before you know it, you'll be hooked on this quirky, intelligent, and fun show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GLORIOUSLY QUIRKY & HILARIOUS, 2 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The welcome return to a world of fantasy, everything delightfully over the top. Private Investigator Emerson Cod has every reason to be grateful to Ned the pie maker. He can raise people from the dead. Corpses tell exactly how they met their end, cases thus solved most lucratively.

There are drawbacks. If those revived live for more than a minute, it means instant death for someone close by. If those selected for long term survival are touched by Ned again, they are at once dead for ever. Chuck, Ned's girlfriend since childhood, lives on thanks to him - the two, deeply in love, thus fated to be untouchables.

The series remains as weird as can be - Ned, Chuck and Emerson all with family secrets that need resolving. Meanwhile thirteen episodes abound with bizarre killings, some extremely amusing. Diminutive waitress Olive adds to the fun, especially when in a nunnery. Enjoy, too, those flashbacks of the four when very young - wittily indicating how they now came to be. Jim Dale narrates, his timing precise - this appropriate in a show where an extra second can make such a difference.

Everything is just great: scripts, performances, the look of it all, mischievous music, awesome special effects. Creators and cast are clearly having a ball, ensuring most viewers will do so too.

Almost thirty minutes of "Extra Helpings" interestingly explain how various stunts were achieved.

No Season 3, alas. At least everything here ends on a high, key storylines receiving closure of sorts.

A big thank you to all responsible for one of television's most refreshingly different shows!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Death is real. Or a fairytale., 8 Jan. 2012
By 
J. Flaton (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...let us sit upon the ground
And tell sad stories of the death of shows;
How some have been erased; some slain in rating wars,
Some haunted by the ghosts they have deposed;
Some poison'd by producers: some sleeping kill'd;
All murder'd...

There are many ways to tell an eloquent tale of that faithful companion of life. Shakespeare did it, as well as a host of poets, writers and other artists. But no network executives. They can't write, but they do have the powers to cancel. They should never be allowed to be revived, not even for one minute, but this will only be made clear to you if you take the delightful trouble to visit the realms of a pie-maker and his troupe.

What Bryan Fuller and this amazing troupe of cast & crew has accomplished is an absolute joy. Yes, it may look like a fairytale, but for once the almost disneyfied sets and props succeed where not many dared to go (Fuller has also been in the thick of Star Trek scriptwriting). This is no science fiction show, but a beautiful story, and as with many a Hans Anderson tale, it is bittersweet indeed. The 22 episodes do not only let you smile, or outright laugh, but it also shows you that death becomes us all, and that it should be accepted without too much regret.

The whole thing does remind you of "Rashomon" - a story told from many points of view - and the continuity is amazing, talked together by the redoubtable Jim Dale. This superior pie-making does also remind you of "The 10th Kingdom", or "Wonderfalls", another one of Fuller's gems, also cut short, or "Dead Like Me", yet again originated by Fuller and, o my, axed as well. Do we detect a pattern here?

While the cast is wonderful, special kudos must go to the petite Kristin Chenoweth, who also lighted the Leo character in "The West Wing", and won a deserved Emmy for her role in "Pushing Daisies", reminding us that she is also a very accomplished opera singer, an unsusual but delightful combination of talents, and it shows, with the glorious over-the -top parafrase of "The Sound of Music" in the "Bad Habits" episode. The whole show, by the way, is brimming with a fantastic number of references to a slew of great movies, and so does the music.

Buy this set and enjoy this great fantasy of almost 17 hours of life, death and mayhem. Your only regret will be that the only way to revive this experience is to watch the series again. And you will do that, I guarantee you. Only network executives will stay dead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as entertaining as season 1, 15 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pushing Daisies is an absolute gem of a tv show. It was a travesty that ABC network in the states axed the show during this, the second season.

You know it's ironic that people bemoan reality tv shows like Big Brother or X Factor/ American Idol and how there is too much of this sort of stuff clogging up tv schedules these days and yet, a show as creative, original and spellbinding as Pushing Daisies can't garner a mainstream audience to keep it on air...

I guess it's a case in point... we get what we deserve from the tv networks because it is what we watch they give us...

It was always going to be an uphill struggle for the show... it's so expensive looking to produce, the vivid detail in the colourful sets and props must have cost a fortune per episode but it really gives the show a huge wow factor...

the casting is superb and the characters are so well drawn and believable despite all the incredulous goings on in each episode... there is real vulnerability and likeabilty to each and every one of the central characters... Ned and Chuck have amazing chemistry, poor Olive feeling left out in the cold as Ned doesn't feel the same as she does for him, Emerson's yearning for his lost daughter and Aunts Lily and Vivian's struggle to shed their reclusiveness all make the characters very real.

The show has real warmth due to the character's vulnerabilities but yet it is so funny and quirky at the same time... the witty dialogue and quick-fire one-liners vollied by the cast lighten the show and the crime- solving aspect to the show allows the show veer off into fantastical sub-plots that are entralling and entertaining..

I have both seasons on Dvd and have just finished re-watching them recently... watching them back reminded me just how big a loss Daisies is.. there really won't ever be a show as quirky, as funny, as warm and as visually stunning as this..

Season two picks up neatly from where the very short first season left off... and although it feels a little rushed at the end, the show at least does get a proper conclusion as loose ends are tied up somewhat.. there was certainly life in the show beyond these two short seasons but at least we have these two great ones to cherish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sad end..., 14 July 2009
By 
Bjørn Melbøe "Borough Medley" (Easter Island) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How I'd love to write a review, to put in words what this tv show in general, series two essential, means to me. This is the end. THE end. No more. 9 episodes in the last series and the final 13 in this, making a total of 22 episodes of the best tv has had to offer in years, if not ever. Once in a while there comes a tv series that stands out. Like Twin Peaks, The X-files and Lost, to name the best known, but also the Northern exposure (maybe I write a review about them some time..)
But this is a show everyone should experience for their own, it just wouldn't be right to say what it is or write a review telling you it's great. You're gonna have to see it your self...

Award winning TV series that are put to rest after two series. It's not fair you know. Anyway.. If you have this dvd in your collection then you know what's in store for you, it's just wonderful to watch Ned beeing happy with Chuck and Chuck beeing happy just looking at her aunts, from a distance ofcourse, you know.. There is wonderful Olive Snook giving us another old show tune and teaming up with Emerson Cod, which by the way should get a series of his own. He's brilliant. He even has some secrets of his own..

You'll learn more of the Darling mermaid darlings and other family secrets, Ned has some hidden away as well. But there is more, none of which I will mention. At all. If you know about the first series, buy this, if you haven't got a clue buy both series of televisions greatest. I showed the very first episode to a girlfriend of mine, tried not to tell to much about it, only that she would fall in love with it and want to see more. I was right, you know.

I hate to see it end, but at least there is some closure. You're not left with all sorts of questions. You'll learn some and other issues you have to learn about yourself. Untill the movie comes, if at all.. There is a happy ending, sort of and quite a few surprises along the way. I'll miss tuning in to this magic world...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior series to flawless show, 11 Dec. 2010
By 
Alan J. Cartwright (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'd go as far as to say that "Pushing Daisies" is my favourite TV show ever made. The premise has already been explained by other reviewers - Piemaker wakes dead, brings back childhood sweetheart, solves murders etc. What makes this show unique and so fantastic is just the way in which it is shown - imagine a fairytale for adults. Bright colours everywhere, alliterative names, humorous crimes and a splash of heart-warming romanticism. I find the acting to be flawless (special mention to Anna Friel who plays her character "Chuck" to perfection).
Onto the series itself, I actually found S2 a big improvement to S1, the running themes of the series seemed bigger and bolder, the episodes just as colourful and exciting, and the acting better. I'd note that I found the beginning of the series a little slow to start, but once it reached the conclusion (just before it got cancelled) in particular the final 2 episodes ("Water and Power" and "Kerplunk") we were treated to some of the best television I'd ever seen.
Pushing Daisies is a one-of-a-kind gem of a TV show and I can do nothing more than highly recommend you watch it right away, every one of my friends that I've shown it to has loved it as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece. It's a shame this TV series has been untimely and undeservedly closed., 15 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the best and entertaining TV series I've ever seen.
It may be visually inspired by the "Amelie" movie, but the story is original and extremely funny and quirky.
It has a style of its own.
The direction is topnotch, the actors are excellent.
You can easily see Fuller's (remember "Dead like me", which was also fantastic?) style behind them.
The characters are well drawn, the dialogues are extremely witty, and most of the times, and punningly fast paced.
I suppose that, if I'd seen this series without subtitles, I'd have understood only 70% of the script (I'm not a native speaker)!
The bright colours, the kind of 60's mod clothes of the Anne Friel and Kristi Chenoweth, which sometimes reminds me of the British 60's outstanding classic The Avengers, make the episodes unique and visually extemely enjoyable.
I don't understand why "Pushing Daisies" had an undeserved, inopportune and untimely end of production.
It is really a shame.
I have been eagerly waiting for the Region 2 bluray edition of the second season to be reissued
Now only a US version is available
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pushing Daisies: Complete Second Season [Blu-ray] [2009] [US Import]
£20.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews