Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars131
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 December 2001
This DVD is excellent value - more laughs per pound than many other 'comedy' films. As with the first film, there's plenty of puns, references to other works and so on - more than enough to keep you coming back again and again. The extra features are also good, including some scenes cut from the final release (in my humble opinion, many of them should have stayed in). This film is what your DVD player was made for.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2004
In A Nutshell:
Dr Evil travels back in time and steels Austin Powers' "mojo." This leads to a series of events which lead Powers to travel also back in time and try and regain his "mojo" before time runs out. Meanwhile, Dr. Evil is planning to destroy a city every hour of every day from a giant "laser" on the moon, unless he is paid something like a million billion dollars by the US government.
What's Right With It?
The witty and entertaining quotes of Powers never fail to make you laugh, no matter how many times you watch it. The hilarious prose in the movie, with the exceedinly action-loadsmorecomedy atmosphere and storyline make Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me one of the best comedy films of modern day cinema.
What's Wrong With It?
Some of the more, let's say, vulgar scenes (e.g. Fat Bast*rds backside, or Austin Powers drinking Fat Bast*rds faesces) make you press the fast forward button a bit, leading to missing quotes. If you can handle this kind of comedy then you certainly shouldn't find much more wrong with it. However, some of the comedy moments certainly could be expanded to give the film its complete full potential.
Verdict:
No matter about the negatives, it's always the positives that count. It's still brilliant. Myers will never fail to be his best Powers, and nobody can beat that can they? It's funny, it's got a decent storyline, and it's got a groooovy English agent (of course, being Austin Powers) in it aswell! How much better can it get!?
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 October 2013
The original Austin Powers film kind of took a lot of people by surprise by its success. Therefore, a sequel proved too hard for studio bosses to resist. The first film lovingly lampooned the early James Bond films perfectly, always poking fun while never being cruel. Some may think that it would be hard to stretch this concept out into two movies. I myself was cynical, but I'm glad to say that I was wrong.

`Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me' is - amazingly - even funnier than the first film. It's even more daft, even more crude and just simply great fun to watch. You have to have a kind of silly sense of humour to really appreciate it, but I'm glad to say that, judging by the fact that it took lots more at the box office that its predecessor, I'm not the only one to think so.

Its success is majorly down to the cast. There's never a bad performance and nearly every smutty joke is timed to perfection. Special credit to its writer/star Mike Myers who introduces yet another disgustingly wonderful character to his repartee - `Fat B*****d' who, dare I sat the voice was a precursor to a famous green ogre he was later to voice.

Dr Evil is again back to stop his ultra trendy nemesis Austin Powers from thwarting him by... well, who cares? The film-makers certainly don't let story get in the way of giving you a fun time. Ignore the plot holes in this film - the film itself even pokes fun at how not everything actually makes sense and just enjoy the ride (again).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2000
I went to see this film with mixed expectations...but came out still clutching my stomach! It's soo funny and the costumes are great, Dr Evil is my ideal man and Mike Myers is a genius.Having only recently seen the first I would say that together the Austin Power's collection is a triumph in the world of comedy.So don't be snobbish about it...snap this baby up before it walks...oh,and if anything buy the sequel as it stars the adorable "MiniMe"
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Bit of a blast from the past this one now, but couldn't resist it on offer via Amazon Fire. A little raunchier than the original and treading some of the same ground it still has many laugh out loud moments. The best in the series for me (plus you can imagine Fat Ba5tard as a crude Shrek!)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2000
Despite all the comments on Myers wonderful potrayal of the infamous Fat B*stard, I think that this film is somewhat better than the original! Much that I loved 'International Man of Mystery', I thought that there was a distinct lack of Seth Green, playing the rather dashing Scott Evil... I think that Scott Evil is far better than Mini-Me, although the wonderful musical interludes, 'Just the Two of Us'and 'What is God was one of us'....are damn hilarious! The episode of Jerry Springer was hilarious and the twist with Dr Evil's secret Love Child, pure genius! I hope that Myers decides to make another, (with more Seth Green of course) and of course, more Jerry Springer! A great film! Definite buy for anyone who is sane...or in this case..INsane...Groovy baby! Grrrrrr....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2000
If you liked Austin Powers: International Man Of Mystery, you'll love this - yeah, baby, yeah! Mike Myers sheer comic brilliance shines through in one of the many great comic movies released during the past 12 months. We've had classics such as American Pie, South Park: Bigger, Longer And Uncut, The Waterboy, Big Daddy and many more, yet still great, original comic masterpieces shine through. What started out as a spoof of James Bond has gained a following almost as large as 007's! This movie is unbeatable for laughter, and the 12 certificate allows it to be seen by all the family! A classic movie, with unforgettable catchphrases and hilarious support characters - such as Fat B****** and Mini Me. You simply must see it; one of the great comic masterpeices of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As my title says, this is one of the things I think about when the 90's is brought up. Austin Powers was already a huge hit among us teens at the time, and the sequel does a great job!

Indeed, it takes a slightly different approach, but it still retains the comedy and humour we expect from Mr Powers. I love the soundtrack, and Madonna's Beautiful Stranger was a perfect choice.

Great fun! Just dont take it too seriously and you'll enjoy it even more :)
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2000
when i went to the cinema to watch austin powers 2 i thaught it was so shagadelic. everything was great just like a comedy/spy film should be! but recently when i bought the DVD from "ASDA" i couldn't wait to get home a see it all over again, but sadly i was disapointed because the format of the film, it was shown in 16.9(widescreen) and looked terrible and squashed to watch! dont buy this DVD! buy the VHS format it is so much better and easyer to see!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2000
After watching Austin powers 1 : international man of mystery which I thoroughly enjoyed, I then watched the sequel and found it equally amusing. The jokes were witty, funny, and a source of light relief after a hard day at work. For some reason, I found the part where he says "Oh no, I've gone cross eyed!" particularly amusing for some absurd reason, and my friends use this as a way to get me into fits of giggles. Well done Mike Myers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)