Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable thriller and excellent performances
I enjoyed this thriller with its neo-noir look ( very evocative of Manhattan) and its excellent casting and performances. The plot is credible, even if some of the twists are probably a little too easy to project. But the buildup is tension-filled and the resolution is a tongue-in-cheek nod to the profession of the main protagonist ( certainly a made-in-accountant heaven...
Published on 27 Jun. 2008 by Reader

versus
31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the best
In many areas, Deception is a bit of a disappointment. The script is poor, enough so that the top quality actors struggle a little with some of the cheese, the plot twists are a little too obvious and occasionally slapdash, and I left watching the film feeling that the full potential for the film itself hadn't been reached. Half of the problems seem to be caused by a lack...
Published on 27 Aug. 2008 by Innocent Jaguar


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the best, 27 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Deception [DVD] (DVD)
In many areas, Deception is a bit of a disappointment. The script is poor, enough so that the top quality actors struggle a little with some of the cheese, the plot twists are a little too obvious and occasionally slapdash, and I left watching the film feeling that the full potential for the film itself hadn't been reached. Half of the problems seem to be caused by a lack of decent characterisation. Unless you're a bored accountant yourself, you might need a little more on Ewan MG's character to fully care what's happening to him, and I have to admit even in the dullest moment of my working life I think I might shy away from accepting drugs from a random colleague I'd never seen before in the middle of a meeting room (even if it is late at night). To emphasise the character's weedy/boring status, he is dressed in possibly the worst clothing - wait till you see the underwear, which is presumably what all good bashful boys are wearing this season - although I assume that the clothing is there to help the pretence that Hugh Jackman could look like Ewan MacGregor at one stage in the plot. McGregor's outfit basically turns into a character costume, which just seems like an easy way for the script to answer things and on a practical front is damned risky on the part of Jackman's character.

Saying that, there are some good moments in the film and these are the reasons why I have bought it myself. Sure, the plot is cheesy and obvious and won't be winning any awards for originality any time soon (or even for a good adaption of a theme). The camera work looks a little amateurish for some reason, which does distract from the actors and situation. However, there are some scenes which are worth sitting through the more cringe worthy points - I particularly like McGregor's initial forays into the sex club, and more the point the women's amused reaction to him. Jackman is wasted in it, but is blatantly having fun when he does his "evil" scenes and this does come across well - it's these scenes that give some of the more memorable quotes from the film. Michelle Williams gives a reasonable performance, but then again she's never given much to work with and what she does is probably the best out of the lot. The person I do feel sorry for is Ewan McGregor. I'm not a particular fan of his, but he is a good actor and he seems destined to get into roles which limit his acting. He is also a good looking man, which meant that a lot of unnecessary hair gel was used in order to make him into the geek that apparently the character was (I hope accountants get hair gel as part of their expenses if this is the case). You just want to enter him in some type of makeover programme after about half an hour. His utter naivity with regards to Jackman's character is also a little odd - sure, dismiss the considerations if you'd like as he's desperate for friendship, but at least have the thoughts running through his head at some stage. He is, after all, supposed to be used to fraud cases. At the start I wasn't entirely sure whether Jackman was trying to chat him up due to his sudden and somewhat excessive attention that seemed over the top to just "hey, we're both blokes stuck doing a boring job, let's be pals". Mind you, depending on your perspective this is no bad thing.

Ultimately, if you're a fan of one of the principle actors then you'd probably want to purchase this DVD and, like me, find parts of it that are worthy of rewatching. However, if you're just after a good thriller then you might find yourself frustrated and a little bored after a while. There are much better films by all three actors out there, and certainly better thrillers. The erotic areas of the film are ok, but nothing particularly special (hampered again by the camera work) and the whole sex club aspect definitely wasn't utilised enough and might even cause more disappointment if you're watching the film because there's a sex club with Jackman, Williams and McGregor involved. Vodaphone presumably would have been delighted by the amount of phone use as well.

All in all, I'd say it rated an average 3 stars, dropping to 2 if you're not a particular fan of the actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable thriller and excellent performances, 27 Jun. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this thriller with its neo-noir look ( very evocative of Manhattan) and its excellent casting and performances. The plot is credible, even if some of the twists are probably a little too easy to project. But the buildup is tension-filled and the resolution is a tongue-in-cheek nod to the profession of the main protagonist ( certainly a made-in-accountant heaven solution!). The most memorable scenes are the bonding moments between two unlikely friends in a world where it can be very lonely if you didn't belong! In this case, the club is a sex club, populated by successful New York financial community professionals looking for "intimacy without the intricacy" ( in the words of the character portrayed by Charlotte Rampling, in a cameo).

I particularly liked the excellent performances. There is the very good performance from Ewan McGregor as the low-key, fun-starved auditor who plods along from one audit job to another. He embues his characterization with the right timidity and somewhat awed regard for his new-found friend and social mentor. Hugh Jackman is equally outstanding in a dramatic shift from his usual leading-man roles, this time as a villain with a criminal agenda. He is suave, sophisticated, and self-assured but when he forces the timid Jonathan to pursue a major international fraud, he is chilling! Very credible portrayal from Jackman, who is increasingly taking on more and more varied screen roles ( his 1-2 acting punch in The Prestige and The Fountain still stuns). Michelle Williams ironically projects an air of vulnerability in a role that is key to the plot.

Go get the DVD, if you missed the movie in the cinema!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...This Isn't A Negotiation..." - Deception on BLU RAY, 19 Jun. 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Mild-mannered accountant Jonathan McQuarry (Ewan McGregor) sits alone at his laptop in the plush boardroom of yet another New York high-rise mega-company doing employee audits. It's 10:30 pm and he's still working.

From out of nowhere - Jonathan is joined by the handsome and very slick Wyatt Bose (Hugh Jackman) - a lawyer who is clearly living a life poor McQuarry could only dream of. Bose feels sorry for the sad number cruncher - stays for a chat that soon becomes a shared spliff - joking about life (or the lack of it) as they watch the city go by on the streets down below. Next thing you know they're playing tennis together - Jonathan sees Wyatt's fabulous apartment - his uber babe lifestyle in city bars - his equally well-heeled work colleagues...

Then by accident at lunch in the park one afternoon - Jonathan mixes up his mobile with Wyatt's - and that night while Wyatt is in London closing a business deal - he get's a phonecall from a sexy female executive voice asking if "...he's free tonight?" Jonathan soon works out that playboy Wyatt is part of a group of sex connoisseurs - powerful people enjoying anonymity and physical liaisons in plush hotels around New York because they're on "The List". He takes a chance and soon he's engaging in hot passion with gorgeous corporate women on "The List" who would never have looked at him twice.

But then one night in yet another hotel room - in walks a blonde girl he saw on the subway that he really liked (Michelle Williams) - and an immediate spark is lit between them. He doesn't want her to take clothes off - but talk - like normal human beings. But just as the relationships is moving away from call girl to partner - he wakes up in yet another strange room with one too many drinks taken and her naked body is missing - replaced with bloodied sheets. Then Wyatt suddenly turns up and he's not the nice guy he once seemed. And on top of corporate blackmail - the woman Jonathan now loves - is in danger from this oily confidence man...

Directed by Marcel Laggenegger in 2008 - Mark Bomback's razor-sharp script is brilliant - twisting and turning and constantly leading you astray. It's helped by a trio of superbly chosen actors - McGregor as the put upon nobody who must become a somebody - Jackman as the smiling beguiling snake who knows how to press the emotional buttons in suckers - and Michelle Williams as the reluctant participant - caught up in something that gets out of hand - even murderous...

The BLU RAY picture quality is top notch - beautifully filmed to give it that silver-suit office slickness (Aspect Ratio 2.40:1). Extras include a feature length Commentary with the Director, a Making Of called "Exposing The Deception", Deleted Scenes and a feature on the various nightclubs called "Club Sexy". Audio is English 5.1 DTS and English 2.0 Dolby Digital - while the lone Subtitle is English SDH.

"Deception" on BLU RAY is a superb thriller with brains, cool, sexiness and angles you didn't see coming. Play the game with this one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable thriller, but with terrific performances, 20 Mar. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deception [DVD] (DVD)
'Deception' had been gathering dust on my DVD shelves for sometime, but I finally decided to watch it recently. Any movie with Hugh Jackman, Ewan McGregor and Michelle Williams as the lead actors couldn't be a complete disaster.

Set in New York, the cameras follow gentle, soft spoken accountant Jonathan McQuarry (McGregor) who is introduced to a seedy and mysterious sex club known as 'The List' by his outgoing and worldly wise lawyer friend Wyatt Bose (Jackman), who is also a successful lady's man.

After accidentally swapping phones, McQuarry starts to receive calls from an older women, who is a member of the club. After meeting her there, he also encounters a stunning young blonde (Williams), who is keeping her name a secret apart from the letter 'S'. Almost immediately, they become close, subsequently sleep together, and McQuarry develops real feelings for her. When he is attacked, she suddenly disappears, and Jonathan discovers that there is something much more unsavory going on than he realised.

Now, I'm not usually an expert in predicting what is going to happen in films before they do, but this was an exception. The plot twist really is obvious, and if you are used to thrillers, you'll probably be able to predict the ending as well.

'Deception' is nothing new, there have been similar movies like this before, most of which are better, and when you think of it, even the title is very unoriginal isn't it?

It isn't likely to become your new favourite movie, but it isn't particularly bad either. The cinematography is excellent, and the brilliant performances by the three actors make it worth watching. There are a couple of a very good scenes between McGregor and Williams, but for me, Jackman stole the show. He really demonstrates what a good actor he is, and his character allows him to play a variety of completely different emotions, friendly and fast talking, to cold and ruthless, almost as though he is two different people, which he almost is towards the end.

In short, don't expect a classic, but don't expect it to be a turkey either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable enough for the entrance price, 29 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Deception [DVD] (DVD)
I was surprised to see this in my local cash converters for 60p - and even more astonished to find I'd never heard of it. All three actors are well known if not quite A list yet this one seems to have quietly escaped rather than having been released.

The film itself is a decent enough thriller in that the setup is intriguing (a bored accountant is inducted into a sex club for movers and shakers) but it doesn't quite deliver on the promise. It's obvious from almost the first time you meet them - who the bad'un is and how. The very small cast list means there's no red herrings at all. The twists are exactly what you expect too.

But the performances are well done and reasonably believable - especially from the three leads. There are a few moments of unintentional hilarity - Ewan after removing his $4,000 suit looks like he is wearing underwear his mum bought him from Marks and Spencers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'ARE YOU FREE TONIGHT ??, 30 Jan. 2015
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deception [DVD] (DVD)
Jonathan' ( Ewan Mcgregor ) aspires to have the pleasures and skills his new friend appears to have, 'Wyatt' ( Hugh Jackman ) is happy to play along, however he has a hidden agenda for the accountant .
The film starts really slow, but the events and 'dangled carrots' including 'Wyatt's' supposed partner 'S' (Michelle Williams) is placed before 'Jonathan' which leads us to the plot as the film progresses.
The film picks up as the plot unfolds which is why I've given '4' stars,
There are many twist's and turns toward the end of the film.
The second half of the film makes it worth at least a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice try that just doesn't come off!, 25 July 2012
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception [DVD] (DVD)
Unfortunately this Hitchcock-style movie - produced by Jackman - fails, as its so full of plot "holes" which the excellent cast cannot overcome. Jackman and McGregor - acting against type - give credible performances but you never really believe one word of the convoluted but very obvious plot which signals it's many "twists" so far in advance that few ever work.? Well filmed with an excellent score and a tremendous 5.1 audio and luminous video transfer you will find the movie entertaining enough - especially if you only pay the 1p I did on Amazon marketplace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deception, 11 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception [DVD] (DVD)
This film was nothing like what I expected(being a huge Hugh Jackman fan), but I was pleasantly surprised.
It shows off Hugh's versatile acting skills, the complete opposite of any character I have seen him play to date.
It will have you on the edge of seat at parts and lead you into a false sense of "I know how this is going to end" before twisting unexpectedly.
I definitely reccommend this film to anyone who loves either Hugh Jackman or Ewan McGregor, they play their roles perfectly :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good performances, a lot of suspense., 9 Nov. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception [DVD] (DVD)
I really liked this picture because the actors are really good ( see the changes in their personality when Hugh Jackman turns to bad ( he also is a good actor because he can be nice and smiling and also cold and ruthless) and Ewan gets his revenge.
What I like best is Ewan: he is really a chameleonic actor, what I mean is you see him in a picture and then in another and he's not the same person, he looks like someone else too: he has the power to metamorphose himself in the part he's playing ( like for example Peter Sellers)and look as if he were a different person each time.In this film, he changes radically from the timid accountant to the player and a winner in Hugh's game.
The plot is a classic one but the way the picture is made is different.They say it's hichcockian but it's a bit true but things are maybe not strange enough.
It reminds me a bit of Vertigo when Kim Novak disappears.
I recommend this film, you will have a nice time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Glossy, enjoyable and slick but a little predictable, 10 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Deception [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ewan McGregor's shy accountant is brought out of his shell a litte when Hugh Jackman's confident lawyer introduces him to a private and anonymous phone hook-up 'sex club' of Wall Street's rich high-rollers, but soon it turns out he's in over his head in a scam he'snot emottonally equipped to handle.
McGregor is engaging and likeable as always, playing his role perfectly. Jackman oozes star quality and charm as the sleek Alpha-male introducing him to the richer side of life, and Michelle Williams is beguiling as McGregor's love interest.
The first portion of the film plays out as a fascinating drama of sex and secrets, and then escalates into a high-stakes scam thriller.
Little more can be said without spoilers. Simply put, it's easy to see where it's going but it's excellently directed, the music score is utterly perfect, and the photography by skilled lensman Dante Spinotti is gorgeous and amber-hued.
The plot and the dialogue aren't the most original in the world but Marcel Langenegger's restless direction keeps the tension high and it's more fun than it has any right to be.
Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deception [Blu-ray]
Deception [Blu-ray] by Marcel Langenegger (Blu-ray - 2008)
£6.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews