Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bangkok humbles a hit man
Short Attention Span Summary (SASS):

1. Nicolas Cage plays a hit man named Joe
2. Poor Joe - he has to go through the whole movie with Cage's bad hairstyle
3. Joe has rules that make him the best in the hit man business
4. People depend on Joe to do his job, get paid, and disappear.
5. We often wish that 4. above would apply to Cage...
Published on 16 Dec 2008 by Amanda Richards

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre and by the numbers but not as bad as its reputation
Despite boasting one of the oddest posters of recent years (just [I]what is Nicolas Cage doing with his arm - searching for his credit card or scratching his armpit?), the Pang Brothers' remake of their breakout hit Bangkok Dangerous doesn't quite deserve the critical drubbing it got in theatres. It's no great shakes either, a mediocre by the numbers effort only very...
Published on 14 Aug 2011 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre and by the numbers but not as bad as its reputation, 14 Aug 2011
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bangkok Dangerous [DVD] (DVD)
Despite boasting one of the oddest posters of recent years (just [I]what is Nicolas Cage doing with his arm - searching for his credit card or scratching his armpit?), the Pang Brothers' remake of their breakout hit Bangkok Dangerous doesn't quite deserve the critical drubbing it got in theatres. It's no great shakes either, a mediocre by the numbers effort only very loosely related to their 1999 original as Cage's professional hitman and his latest, er, interesting hairstyle relocates from Prague to Bangkok and finds himself breaking all his own rules as he befriends his expendable messenger (a very personable Shakrit Yamnarm) and falls for Charlie Yeung's appealing deaf chemist. It replaces the original's frantic energy with something more akin to pure old-fashioned sentimental 50s b-movie stuff while the action scenes tick all the usual boxes - half-hearted training montages, a couple of brutally efficient hits, the one that goes wrong and the big potentially fatal job that makes him the target of his employers - exploiting the occasional tourist traps like a floating market for a boat chase and temples and restaurants for the odd romantic rendezvous. It doesn't help that a jetlagged and underpowered Cage either hadn't acclimatized or was simply in bad shape when they shot the action setpieces, which are never good enough to raise the film a notch above routine. Yet while it never does anything unexpected or breaks out of cliché, it does it efficiently enough to pass master for an undemanding hour-and-a-half or so.

The DVD also includes a less convincing happier ending along with a what-a-great-time-we-all-had making of featurette.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bangkok humbles a hit man, 16 Dec 2008
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bangkok Dangerous [DVD] (DVD)
Short Attention Span Summary (SASS):

1. Nicolas Cage plays a hit man named Joe
2. Poor Joe - he has to go through the whole movie with Cage's bad hairstyle
3. Joe has rules that make him the best in the hit man business
4. People depend on Joe to do his job, get paid, and disappear.
5. We often wish that 4. above would apply to Cage also
6. Joe heads to Bangkok for a four-hitter for a man named Surat.
7. One night in Bangkok makes a hard man humble as he decides to break his own rules
8. Some rules aren't meant to be broken
9. Best ending for Cage in recent times.

This movie is about a hit man with an extremely high achievement rating. He owes his success to his personal set of rules, which don't allow for friends, relationships, loose ends or sticking around in the business for too long.

For some inexplicable reason, Joe decides to deviate from the rules while on duty in Bangkok, and finds himself in all sorts of trouble.

Cage does a pretty good job as the heroin-using, dour hit man, once you can get past what appears to be a dead animal splayed out on his head and down his neck. The real star however is the scene stealing Shahkrit Yamnarm as his disposable sidekick Kong.

Action wise the movie is okay, except for the scenes shot in blue and red lighting where you can't really see what's going on. The romantic parts are sweet at first, but the sight of Cage doing goo-goo eyes may be upsetting to some viewers. The plot requires as little thought as possible, as it doesn't really make much sense.

Recommended for fans of action-crime movies, and people with a morbid fascination for Cage's hairstyles.

Rated: 3.5 stars

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ENJOYABLE 'NICHOLAS CAGE' MOVIE', 12 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bangkok Dangerous [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Have to again admit to being a fan of sorts of 'Nicholas Cage' films, i first took notice of him with films like 'The Rock' - 'Con-Air and 'Face/off' the latter of which remains one of my all-time favourite films, yes like most actors he has been involved in a few 'turkeys' .........but...this is not in my view one of them, though many obviously didn't either get on with it or indeed rate it.
'Joe' is a highly efficient 'hit-man' who leaves nothing to chance, he covers his tracks leaving no evidence behind that would lead back to him including any human contact he may have had.
He accepts a series of hits in 'Bangkok' when there he sets up his normal line of comunication with the people paying for his services.
But..does he let his guard down when he puts his set up in place ?
The hunter becomes the hunted in this role that in my view see's 'Nicholas Cage' in the type of role that best suits his acting prowess.
I loved the film and found it hugely entertaining, certainly worth at least a watch.
The HD quality is perhaps not the best you'll see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not too bad, 31 Jan 2010
By 
G. Williams (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bangkok Dangerous [DVD] (DVD)
a typial hit man set up film but seen better. some very nice girls and a tour of bangcock gave the film an added bonus which kept things interesting. a particularly moving seen when the hit man is searching to connect with someone . he meets a girl who cannot speak but the emotions and feelings say enough for both of them to connect with each other without words.a very powerful scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CAGE AT HIS BEST, 17 July 2014
This review is from: Bangkok Dangerous [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
What a great film nicolas cage who plays the part of a assassin is very good at his job but when a job goes wrong he then comes the target, there are some great fight and chase scenes and i loved the moments when he dates a blind girl, but i must say the soundtrack was just wonderful and the ending was so gripping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but not bad., 29 July 2009
By 
M. Huxley (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bangkok Dangerous [DVD] (DVD)
Like most SE Asian action flicks that get given the Hollywood remake treatment, this fails in comparison to the original.

HOWEVER, saying that it was still fairly enjoyable. The action was pretty good, the love story bit a bit drawn out and unbelievable, as was the whole suddenly deciding to take on an apprentice thing, but hey. As someone who has backpacked extensively through Thailand as well it was a nice little trip through nostalgia to see a few locations too.

Basically speaking it is hardly going to set the action world alight, and will not be in anyones must see lists, but it is well worth watching once, it is an enjoyable way to pass an evening, especially at a knock down price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars IT'S NO CON AIR!!!, 24 April 2009
By 
Jason Thorne (England / Oxford) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bangkok Dangerous [DVD] (DVD)
This is not one of Mr Cages better films come to that has he done one lately the answer is no not since Con Air which was a good action film. This film however was Mr Cage falling in love with a deaf girl which would have been alright if it had been done better and as for him being a hitman you are having a laugh. I also was led to believe it was a action film I must of drifted off at some point because there was nothing really to note. Please do not waste your money on this pile of rubbish you have been warned it really is not good viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Blue ray Disc, 8 Jan 2009
By 
N. Fawcett (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bangkok Dangerous [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is by far the worse Blue ray dics I own to date. Im watching in 1080p through a Sony Bravia KDL 52 W 4500 - LCD TV with onkyo amp, kef speakers etc and it looks poor. It looks like a standard dvd on the whole. The dark Knight, wanted, apocalypto to name just a few, these are what Blue ray quality is about, not this. Really disappointed . If this was the first Blue ray film I would of bought I would have not known what the fuss was about.
Film was pretty good though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Film, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bangkok Dangerous [DVD] (DVD)
love Nicholas Cage and lov ed this DVD , the action packed film was amazing. Saves trawling through the DVD's in the shops
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bangkok Dangerous [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
i personally love Nic Cage, and i love Thailand. Especially Bangkok...it's true what they say...it's called Bangkok for a reason i would love to go into more detail but amazon would probably give me a row.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bangkok Dangerous [Blu-ray]
Bangkok Dangerous [Blu-ray] by Danny Pang (Blu-ray - 2008)
5.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews