Customer Reviews


296 Reviews
5 star:
 (120)
4 star:
 (67)
3 star:
 (49)
2 star:
 (21)
1 star:
 (39)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'll give it a thumbs up!
Well, there's already the known classic movie based on Jules Verne's timeless book. Fact is, in the trendy "Let's shoot all the film classics new!"-hype, there could basically be no such better adventure than "Journey to the center of the earth." In todays computer-driven blockbusters, the whole power of Vernes epic idea could blast us from our seats in the 21st century...
Published on 30 Oct 2008 by Oliver Knieps

versus
34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun and looks amazing!
10 years after the death of his brother, Trevor (Brendan Fraser) and his young nephew Sean find an old copy of Jules Verne's Journey To The Centre Of The Earth with various notes written amongst the pages. This takes Trevor and Sean to Iceland where they meet Hannah, their guide, and they begin their own journey to the centre of the Earth.

Yes, this is a kids...
Published on 24 April 2009 by Dr Evil


‹ Previous | 1 2 330 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 7 Jan 2012
This review is from: Journey To The Center Of The Earth 3D [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
this is a waste of money the 3d is like in the 70s. dont waste your money, i was wearing the red and blue paper glasses that are in the dvd. headace after 4 mins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, poor, poor, 7 Dec 2008
This review is from: Journey To The Center Of The Earth 3D [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Poor story.

Poor 3d.

3d was in wierd colors. Purple seemed to overpower everything.

I had a throbbing head after an hour and my eyes were sore.

Also the 3d was out of focus.

i believe there is a scene where a gun or a pike is thrust forward. All i could see was two images out of focus. Not at all clear.

Agree spykids was better with the 3d effect.

Didnt anyone watch this before releasing onto DVD? Perhaps they did as it was thrown in as a freebie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film 3D affect stunning, 6 Nov 2008
By 
Engelbrecht Geoffrey (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Contrary to the other reviewers I really enjoyed the 3D version. The colour is not perfect because it is red/green 3D but you can see colour and the 3D effect is stunning. The disc also includes a 2D version.

The film was also very entertaining. All round I thought I got my moneys worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The 3D version sucks big time!!, 3 Nov 2008
This review is from: Journey To The Center Of The Earth 3D [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I never got round to seeing "Journey" in the cinema and so I was really looking forward to seeing the 3D version of this film on DVD. I had read rave reviews about the 3D effect in the cinema and so had hoped I would get to see some of that on the DVD release. Let me first say, before I comment on this release, I do have other "anaglyph 3D" releases such as Spy Kids 3D and so know all about the "issues" of the red/cyan glasses versions of 3D movies.
So I sat down in anticipation to watch the 3D version of this movie, on a 70" projection screen, hoping it would look great and be an improvement, or at least "on a par" with the excellent 3D in Spy Kids 3. Well, from the start, the 3D effect on journey looks, quite frankly, horrible!!! The colours are terrible, a kind of sickly brown and blue wash throughout, (I understand that the glasses effect the colour so it was a bit expected) but the worst thing is that throughout the film, there is a terrible "ghosting" effect. I can't remember one moment in the the 3D version, which isn't out of focus or suffering from this "ghosting" effect which gave me a feeling of "double vision". I persevered and "tried" to watch the whole 90 minutes of the film, hoping it might improve, but it didn't. I came away from the viewing with eye strain and a headache it was that bad and a feeling of being cheated out of my money with regards to the 3D version which is the version that I originally bought the DVD for. With regards to the film itself, what I actually did see seemed like fun, but I can't really make a proper judgement until I watch the 2D version sometime. I was hoping to "enjoy" not "endure" the 3D version of this film but I felt like I was suffering from concussion while viewing it, it's that bad.

If Hollywood wants 3D to succeed this time around then it will have to release better 3D versions than this woeful attempt. Watch the 2D version instead or maybe even rent it before buying.

Very disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice 3d experience, who cares about story?, 16 Mar 2009
By 
J. Lange "lanske" (Berlin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The only reason for this buy was the 3D Version, because I love everything in 3D.
The story is far away from Jules Verne, but who cares?
You will need magenta/green glasses to see this film in 3D. They were exclusively made and you have to buy a minimum of 50 if you need more than the 2 included in the package.
The effects are acceptable. Do not expect too much even if this is a BD. There a just a few scenes in which the picture came out of the screen. The rest is divided in fore- and background. The actors are mainly in the foreground and the background is kind of blured.
Anyway, compared to other productions this one is on the better side even for me as a colourblind male ;o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 8 Oct 2009
By 
Darren Watkins (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed watching this film in 3D. It is a shame you only get two pairs of glasses, you should really get four. And wish they had been better made (eg plastic and not card).

Anyway, really enjoyed the film and watching it in 3D is a whole new experience. The 3D effects are really good, and of course will depend on the size of the screen you are watching it on. Yes, the colour isn't really there when you are watching the 3D version, but the 2D version is also on the disc.

Don't know about anyone else, but I was seeing green and red for about five minutes after I took the glasses off!

Would recommend getting this film, and as more films are coming out in 3D hopefully they will start bringing out better quality glasses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'IT'S ENJOYABLE FAMILY VIEWING', 27 Aug 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The film is a whole lotta-fun, the '3D' version ? When i was a kid there was a cinema in town that showed '3D' movies on a regular basis, i remember the glasses and the visuals always caused eye strain, now...technology has moved on down the years,the 3D experience is somewhat more realistic than that of the early days
The film was never going to win Oscars for acting, however the stunts and Special-Effects were really enjoyable and made it worth watching ( miles better than the other '2008' film 'Journey to the Center of the Earth' i'd bought from the U.S earlier ..but i knew it had to be )
The film was made to be watched on '3D' you'll see what i mean if you choose to watch on '2D'
The story ' Trevor' ( Brendan Fraser ) is asked to look after his nephew for a week or so, it's his presumed-dead brothers son.
'Trevor's' sister in law hands him a box with some of his brothers belongings in, he finds clues in the box and in the copy of 'Jules Verne's' book which leads him to believe there might just be truth in the legendary passage to the center of the earth.
He sets out with 'Sean' ( Josh Hutcherson) ( Bridge to Terabithia ) his nephew to find a scientist that is mentioned in his brothers notes, they find the institute but the scientist had died a few years before, however his daughter 'Hannah' (Anita Briem) offers to be their guide, at a price.
The three now set out on their adventure.
As i've said the script and story line are not up to much but don't let that deter you, the film is great fun with some awesome visuals.
If you do watch it in '3D' you may find yourself ducking out of the way,especially when they set of on their journey and beyond.
Good 3D and 2D and Sound Quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars red & blue 3D ? ..... Rubbish !!, 31 Oct 2010
This review is from: Journey To The Center Of The Earth 3D [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
please dont make same mistake as i did when buying this version of this film get the blu-ray 3D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stick to the cinema for 3D, 9 Nov 2008
By 
stephyj "book bod" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Journey To The Center Of The Earth 3D [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this movie when it was out at the cinema......the 3D effect was amazing. The 3D specs were much better too.
I ordered this dvd simply because the 3D was so good in the pictures.
However, How wrong I was to think a dvd would replicate the megga effect of the cinema....the glasses are poor quality, offering an even more poor quality 3D experience. The whole picture has a green/grey tinge (from start to finish). Most of the movie is blurred ,which is no good for your eyes.

Its not bad in 2D but overall....3D is no good.

Before I forget, Have some paracetamol handy, you will need them for the head ache caused by straining to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all., 27 Nov 2008
By 
Ally (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So long as you don't expect too much, the 3D aspects are good fun. The 3D isn't perfect, of course, but even if turns out that you don't like it, the normal version of the film is also included, so you haven't lost too much. The 3D glasses provided are no different to those that they used to give away free with comics in the 60s - it would be interesting to try this movie with 'proper' 3D glasses, if they exist. Other than that, the movie itself isn't bad either, if you can ignore the fact that it's more than a little far-fetched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 330 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Journey To The Center Of The Earth 3D [2008] [DVD]
£2.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews