Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where was that all those years?!
(asked the no-bootleg man...).

Being a life-long Bowie fan, I tend to purchase all his new releases. As soon as this came out, I grabbed it. My, oh my - this is a tremendous Ziggy live performance that makes the original Ziggy Stardust live sound like a rehearsal! I simply couldn't believe my ears.

Admittedly, the sound quality is not top. But it...
Published on 14 Dec 2009 by N. Lazaridis

versus
50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware, this is an edited release!
First off this is truly a superb gig. The track listing is faultless and the performances, though beautifully flawed at times, are blistering. It is a far superior document of the Ziggy period Bowie to the 73' retirement gig at the Hammersmith Odeon.

I already own the 94' official release of this concert on the mainman `golden years' label. I bought this new...
Published on 1 July 2008 by Stephen Lloyd


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Censored Ziggy..., 4 Feb 2010
By 
Milt Ingarfield "milt_fm" (Arbroath, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Santa Monica '72 (Audio CD)
Before this live recording came out officially in October 2008 on the EMI label it was one of the most sought after vinyl bootlegs, of this F.M. broadcast from the 20th of October 1972 at the civic auditorium in Santa Monica U.S.A.
The bootleg was a double album and had a photocopied cover (oh why did I sell mine?).

There is also a semi-bootleg issued in 1994 on the Mainman label the number is Golden Years GY002 and has a colour cover owned by Bowie's ex-manager Tony DeFries.

The 1994 semi-bootleg lasted 76 minutes 40 seconds and for some strange reason Bowie has edited this version of the show to 74 minutes 22 seconds as he is believed to supervise all his EMI re-issues they have taken out most of the interaction between Bowie and the Audience, so I have taken off one star.

This show trashes the "Ziggy Stardust motion picture" in terms of musicality but not in terms of historical significance, as that was the last show Bowie played the Ziggy Character.

Can we please have the complete show and not this censored version, Ziggy deserves better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where was that all those years?!, 14 Dec 2009
By 
N. Lazaridis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Santa Monica '72 (Audio CD)
(asked the no-bootleg man...).

Being a life-long Bowie fan, I tend to purchase all his new releases. As soon as this came out, I grabbed it. My, oh my - this is a tremendous Ziggy live performance that makes the original Ziggy Stardust live sound like a rehearsal! I simply couldn't believe my ears.

Admittedly, the sound quality is not top. But it still is perfectly audible - don't think for a moment that it will spoil the experience.

The band is at its absolute absolute top. Ronson's guitar playing is sublime, Mick Woodmansey's drumming is insane and Bowie sings his heart out. And the true bonus: on stage, Mike Garson is playing the piano!

I get the feeling the band were quite enjoying this performance, it's got a lot of spark that I at least hadn't heard before.

True gem, worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware, this is an edited release!, 1 July 2008
By 
Stephen Lloyd (Bradford, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live Santa Monica '72 (Audio CD)
First off this is truly a superb gig. The track listing is faultless and the performances, though beautifully flawed at times, are blistering. It is a far superior document of the Ziggy period Bowie to the 73' retirement gig at the Hammersmith Odeon.

I already own the 94' official release of this concert on the mainman `golden years' label. I bought this new EMI edition because I had read somewhere that Bowie had remastered the recording himself. He hasn't! Listening to it I cannot really detect any significant differences in sonic quality from the 94' release.

What is shockingly obvious however is the absence of big chunks and small snippets of Bowie's playingly camp dialogue with his audience throughout. Where's his "painter from New York" impression of Warhol for example or his "give me a pair of pliers.... or a strong hand". I'm absolutely gutted that this historical artefact has been hacked in this way. These edits are unnecessary and unforgivable in my opinion and I'm sure that I like many others will consequently always consider this release inferior to the earlier one because of them.

On the plus side the disc does come in a nice box with handsome RCA period memorabilia. 3 stars worth in fact. Also I'm hoping, because he sanctioned this release, that the Dame may give the nod for more official bootleg releases in the future. A little something from the `station to station' tour perhaps? Just don't rip chunks out of them please!

Buy this only if you can't get hold of the mainman release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ziggy Wigs Out..., 26 July 2009
By 
Og Oggilby "Og Oggilby" (North London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live Santa Monica '72 (Audio CD)
This is a great live album, an encapsulation of Bowie and the Spiders From Mars in their prime. he never had a better guitar foil than Mick Ronson, and the latter's sizzling guitar work is smeared all over this recording. Check out 'Width of A Circle' - Ronson's Jeff Beck style licks and sulphurous guitar tone are magnificent. Quality is excellent throughout, and is an essential purchase for anyone wanting to hear the very best of where Brit Rock was at, circa 1972.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ziggy: warts and all, 13 July 2008
By 
M. SIRL "Man With Ears" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live Santa Monica '72 (Audio CD)
A bit of a holy grail for Bowie fans, this is identical to the earlier CD release back in the 90's so if you already have then that don't buy this. That said any self-respecting Bowiephile should have a copy of this in their collection.

It's not perfect: what you get here comes complete with technical hiccups, Mick Ronson's flat backing vocals and bum guitar notes, and Bowie's attempt to recreate the 'lift off' section from Space Oddity ranks alongside The Laughing Gnome as a truly cringe-worthy moment. But what you also get is the definitive historical record of Ziggy in his most formative and creative period. When Bowie introduces one number with "This song was written by Ziggy" he's not kidding. At the time he recorded this he was living and breathing his most famous creation.

And there are some very special moments, too. Acoustic versions of My Death and Andy Warhol stand out, the latter adopting an eerie quality lacking in the Ken Scott studio production. All in all this is THE definitive Ziggy live album, rivalled only by the original bootleg versions of 'last' show at Hammersmith Odeon the following year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STUNNING LIVE ALBUM FROM BOWIE, 9 Jan 2012
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (HBMV) "Hayling Is... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Live Santa Monica '72 (Audio CD)
With the January blues, I thought I would buy this to give myself a lift...and what a shot in the arm it proved to be!

The album was originally released as a bootleg but Bowie loved it so much, it has since been given an official release by EMI.

The quality is truly excellent and the atmosphere is superb. I personally prefer it to the Hammersmith Odeon release which has been around for a while.

Bowie and his band are at the top of their game and very much into their alter egos of Ziggy and his Spiders.

Sonically it is a great listen. Songs from the Ziggy album are interpersed with Space Oddity, tracks from 'The Man Who Sold The World' and 'Hunky Dory'.

The musicianship isn't perfect, but too much gloss would have spoilt such a spontaneous and joyous performance.

An absolute pleasure from beginning to end.

Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for Bowie fans!, 27 May 2008
By 
i wrote this "i did" (Bucks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Live Santa Monica '72 (Audio CD)
This isn't the first time that this classic bootleg of a radio broadcast has been released on CD. But new Bowie fans should stick this in their basket straight away as it's a great set list and much better then the 'Ziggy Stardust motion picture sound track', even with that album's recent remastering. The high light of the show is the acoustic section which features brilliant versions of Andy Warhol and Space Oddity.
If all you've got is a Bowie 'greatest hits' or maybe the Ziggy studio album, this makes a great companion piece and good introduction to some of this other early 70's work.
It's worth the cash for Mick Ronsons guitar solos on 'width of a circle' alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time flexes again, 29 Sep 2008
By 
J. C. Andrews "Boycie" (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live Santa Monica '72 (Audio CD)
I've been waiting for this for so long - happy memories of 1973 onwards with this as the soundtrack. There are some of the original comments missing but most of them are there (including the pliers/strong hand one which one reviewer mentioned was missing). It's a fantastic live gig, far beter than the one from Hammersmith and if you haven't heard it already then get it now! It's great to hear Mick Ronson's spectacularly raw guitar playing which is a perfect complement to David's haunting vocals.Love it, love it, love it and it hasn't been off either my car CD player, Ipod or sound system since I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great performance of iconic songs., 18 July 2008
This review is from: Live Santa Monica '72 (Audio CD)
I've not listened to Bowie for many years, but when I saw this had been released I decided to get it straight away. This was my favourite era, and I'm a big fan of live albums, seeing how well a small group can reproduce the songs on stage - and they certainly don't disappoint. The band wend their way through a brilliant 18-song set, ranging from the full-on rock of Suffragette City to a wonderful version of Space Oddity - just 2 vocals and a 12-string acoustic guitar. There are only one or two tracks which don't quite match up to the quality of the studio versions; but this is live music and you would expect that. The one thing that stops me giving this five stars is the sound quality and mix. Mostly it is very good, but frequently there are problems: Bowie's guitar is nearly always too quiet (almost inaudible, in fact) and his vocals are occasionally a bit lost in the mix, but my biggest complaint is that various sounds seem to wander over from one side of the stereo mix to the other during the songs, for no apparent reason - Ronson's guitar frequently does this, as do some of the vocals, which is really annoying. I've no idea of the sound source, but surely in this digital age something could have been done to fix it? The CD is nicely packaged in a small box, great artwork and lots of little goodies inside: postcards, booklet, etc. - a lot of effort has gone into this project - it's well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT LIVE CD!!!, 21 July 2010
This review is from: Live Santa Monica '72 (Audio CD)
bought this because i had never heard a live ziggy show before(i'm 24 so it is way before my time) and although this Cd was released before(in 1994 under the 'mainman' label) the previous issue had an ugly cover and the sound wasn't that good. this version however is FANTASTIC, the sound still isn't perfect but is pretty close! the concert is so damn good you don't want it to end! if you do not have this Cd then GET IT NOW!!! you will NOT be disappointed! nice cover too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live Santa Monica '72
Live Santa Monica '72 by David Bowie (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews