Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good starter pack
If you have a Philips 'Senseo' machine, you are probably aware of the range of beverages that can be made using this machine. It is quite versatile, and I'm pleased to note that there is now a chocolate alternative. Chocolate is so much better as a nightcap than coffee, even decaffeinated!
This pack is a good way to start off. You get 8 chocolate pods, and,...
Published on 8 July 2010 by Mikex

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Brown water
Great idea, lousy hot chocolate. Even if you only make a small (espresso) size it is tasteless. Hopefully now someone has started making pods, someone else will make better ones and I won't have wasted all my money.
Published on 1 Dec 2011 by woofgang


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good starter pack, 8 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have a Philips 'Senseo' machine, you are probably aware of the range of beverages that can be made using this machine. It is quite versatile, and I'm pleased to note that there is now a chocolate alternative. Chocolate is so much better as a nightcap than coffee, even decaffeinated!
This pack is a good way to start off. You get 8 chocolate pods, and, importantly, you get the pod holder which takes the chocolate sachets packed in the box.
Thereafter, you just need to buy the pods themselves, as you now have the holder.
The chocolate is excellent, if you bear in mind that it will not make a huge mug. I usually watch the water stream coming through the spouts of the machine, and determine when the water is starting to become clear - that is, when the 'goodness' has all been extracted from the contents. Even if you make a mistake, and pass this point, the chocolate is still drinkable.
I found that there are two chocolate based drinks for this machine - the one under review, plus one called 'café choco' which, as the name might suggest, is coffee with a chocolate flavour. This item does NOT need a specific pod holder, as it uses the mug-size one supplied with the machine.
If it's chocolate that you are wanting, be careful about choosing the right one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Choco pods and pod holders, 4 Jan 2011
The Pod Holders are compatable with Senseo machines HD7805/HD7810/HD7811/HD7812 which are usually referred to as base models or Senseo 1 and Senseo 2. The Pod Holders are not compatable with the Senseo Quadrante or any Senseo machine with a small LCD screen and will need another size of holder (available on Amazon). The choco pods work in all Senseo machines but do require the correct holder. Douwe Egberts (Maison du Cafe), the manufacturers of the pods, and Phillips, manufacturers of the holders, do not make them available in the UK through major supermarkets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not really thick hot chocolate but good enough!, 25 Jan 2011
Really good alternative, though if you feel that you can get a mug/double cup out of one coffee pod, you can't do the same with the chcocolate version. I'm not sure what the other reviewers machines are,but it fits ours, which is a HD7814. I ended up checking on the Phillips website - don't try the Senseo one it's just a marketing website - no essential info!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Brown water, 1 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great idea, lousy hot chocolate. Even if you only make a small (espresso) size it is tasteless. Hopefully now someone has started making pods, someone else will make better ones and I won't have wasted all my money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good starter, 21 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. I. Bradbury (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This kit is a good quality starter kit. Buying extra hot chocolate pods is a bit more expensive than buying other pods for some reason, but provides a good drink
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hot chocolate, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot Choco Start-Set with Pod Holder HD7007 for Senseo normal HD7805, HD7810, HD7811, HD7812 (Grocery)
I was very disappointed , you can't taste the chocolate it is very weak. And I feel expensive for what you get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars choc, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this so I could have a hot chocolate at night but when I had one it tasted very weak. Couldn't really tate the chocolate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish. Don't bother., 23 April 2013
By 
L. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this in the hope that it would make a decent hot chocolate. Shouldn't have bothered. Very thin and not nice tasting. Perhaps unsurprising as its just using water. Wouldn't buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars choco, 23 Jan 2013
i paid 16.9 9 and it wasnt for my machine so i returned it and only got 9.00 back as the choco pods had been openend and now i think they should send me back the choco pods
this i understand but the choco pods only cost 3.99 so i dont see why there took 7.99 .i had told them i would keep the choco pods but there said i had to send it all back which i did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Senseo Chocolate is yuk!, 15 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this for my 7 year old for when we had a coffee so she could enjoy the new coffee machine with us. What a mistake! She hated it! And so did I! It had no taste. Dont waste your money like I did. I now have a pod holder for a drink I won't ever purchase again! Buy "green and blacks" powder and make it the old fashioned way with a spoon and kettle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews