Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Seventies Romantics
If you are a fan of early and mid seventies soft rock, you are already a fan of "Bread". Although considered more for their chart topping ballads with `middle of the road' arrangements, they often inflected a mysterious and innocent ideology in their songs. Sometimes simple and sometimes more complex, they wrote songs that stuck in your head - whether you liked it or not...
Published on 22 Nov. 2004 by Martin A Hogan

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past
I bought this as a bit of nostalgia and whilst it is exactly that, it does sound very dated now.
Published 14 months ago by Jenny - Healer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Seventies Romantics, 22 Nov. 2004
By 
Martin A Hogan "Marty From SF" (San Francisco, CA. (Hercules)) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Bread (Audio CD)
If you are a fan of early and mid seventies soft rock, you are already a fan of "Bread". Although considered more for their chart topping ballads with `middle of the road' arrangements, they often inflected a mysterious and innocent ideology in their songs. Sometimes simple and sometimes more complex, they wrote songs that stuck in your head - whether you liked it or not. There are some memories to be had here and all of these songs were popular. It is not hard to forget the plaintive, "Everything I Own" or the wistful, "If". There are few tear-jerkers more successful than, "Diary". However, "Bread" proves to be a rocker band as well, with cuts like, "Mother Freedom" and "Down On My Knees". But "Bread" will be remembered mostly for their ballads. The other collection, "Anthology" also has twenty songs but changed four of them. These four are lesser known, other then, "London Bridge', a David Gates number that falls down along with London Bridge. Check out the song list and decide which suits your tastes - or buy both!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories and Nostalgia, 23 Feb. 2007
By 
Peter A. Wood (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Bread (Audio CD)
I first heard London Bridge whilst sitting in the dark one night listening to the radio. Who's this? Bread? Who are they? Anyway by the end of the 70's I had all their albums plus 2 solo albums of David Gates! This album is a must for those of you who like good songs, well written, brilliantly produced and lovingly sung. The hard edge of the early Griffin/Royer compositions mixed with the heartachingly beautiful ballads from Gates made for some of the best light pop ever to come out of the USA. Sit back, darken the lights, relax, feel the music, listen to the words and let nostalgia wash over you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for people 35 and over, 7 Feb. 2003
This review is from: The Best of Bread (Audio CD)
If you are 35 and over, you will probably know almost every song on this CD. It will bring you back to wonderful memories of childhood. Wow, what a great group, that should have made more music. I would compare them to The Carpenters. Buy this, you will cherish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great overview of their music, 31 Oct. 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best of Bread (Audio CD)
Melodic soft rock, predominately ballads, was the trademark of Bread, a major pop group of the early seventies, who wrote their own songs. Song writing was itself a cause of friction within the band. David Gates wrote ballads, while James Griffin and Robb Royer (who wrote as a team) wrote generally more up-tempo material. However, their songs were not very successful, so it is easy to understand why people think David Gates was Bread's only songwriter. Of the Griffin-Royer songs, perhaps Look what you've done is the best known - but it was another ballad, not one of their more customary up-tempo songs.
So most of Bread's hits are by David Gates, including all the classics that everybody remembers. Make it with you, It don't matter to me, If (covered by actor Telly Savales, famous as Kojak, who had a British number one hit with it, but the original is far superior), Baby I'm a-want you, Everything I own (covered by reggae singer Ken Boothe, who had a British number one hit with it) and The guitar man. All these were huge hits in America, but only Make it with you was really big in Britain. However, the success that others had with covers proves that Brits like their songs. Other great songs include Diary, Sweet surrender and Lost without your love.
Those wishing to explore Bread's music further can either buy the original albums or the double CD (Retrospective), but this compilation has all the songs that most people want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bread of life!, 5 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Bread (Audio CD)
if ever there was a 70s supergroup it was bread with superbly written songs like "make it with you" "if" and "guitar man" they were permanently in the top 20!
there first number 1 (and last unfortunatly) was make it with you a more than brilliant ballad from the excellent writer and lead singer david gates and thye rest of the songs take of in this vein.
this album is one of the best set of songs written in a period when the writing was a top notch affair and people enjoyed listening to great music unlike todays busted and korn crap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Bread, 21 April 2004
This review is from: The Best of Bread (Audio CD)
Listen to the album, listen to it with relaxtion! It really is good, the vocals, the guitars all put together and you dont have to be over 35 to enjoy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 23 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Bread (Audio CD)
found it difficult to get this cd anywhere else. I am delighted with it. Happy with the price and service as well. No delays in fact the order arrived earlier than the ETA. Will deffo use again. highly reccomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Bread CD, 19 Jun. 2011
This review is from: The Best of Bread (Audio CD)
What a super cd! I had this album years ago but had forgotten how good it is.
From the smooth classic 'Make it with you' to the more rockie' Mother Freedom' and 'Down on my Knees', just great listening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music legends, 12 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of Bread (MP3 Download)
All time classic Rock music still enjoyable after all these years.It's a must have for my Ipod .Great listening reminds me many happy days of youth!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars c d, 7 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best of Bread (Audio CD)
just one of the best groups ever and takes me back to happy times now I sing along and annoy the neighbour but I have heard her joining in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best Of Bread
Best Of Bread by Bread
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews