Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting
Jodi Picoult weaves a tale of marital breakdown set against a religious backdrop concerning a Jewish girl and a Catholic faith. Faith, the central character in the book, is a young girl troubled by her parents' divorce and has begun talking to God whilst her mother, Mariah, struggles to keep her sanity whilst still believing her daughter. Mariah will do anything to...
Published on 18 Feb 2006 by K. Stringer

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not vintage Jodi but a good read
I am a big fan of Jodi Picoult but this isn't her best work. It centres around a little girl, Faith White and her visions of God and her mother's (Mariah White) custody battle with her father when a media circus follows Faith's revelations. It starts off slowly and some of it's all a little far fetched and difficult to relate to. I have to admit I nearly gave up on it but...
Published on 3 May 2007 by Ms. C. F. Stewart


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting, 18 Feb 2006
By 
K. Stringer "carbrasmar" (Lake District, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keeping Faith (Hardcover)
Jodi Picoult weaves a tale of marital breakdown set against a religious backdrop concerning a Jewish girl and a Catholic faith. Faith, the central character in the book, is a young girl troubled by her parents' divorce and has begun talking to God whilst her mother, Mariah, struggles to keep her sanity whilst still believing her daughter. Mariah will do anything to keep custody of her daughter whilst her husband believes that she is endangering her daughter's life. Picoult uses many philosophical issues such as the existence of God and the possibility of resurrection against medical evidence to provide the book with sustenance and texture. Once again, Jodi Picoult's representation of a court case (like in her book, My Sister's Keeper) keeps you on tenterhooks and is one of the most tense parts of the story. Your must read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Picoult!, 8 Mar 2007
By 
S. Barnes (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keeping Faith (Paperback)
Faith is a 7 year old little girl. "Keeping Faith" is the story of a custody battle between her mum Mariah, and her dad Colin - who gets to keep Faith?

7 years before the novel begins Mariah found out that her husband, Colin, was having an affair, and she fell to pieces. After a failed suicide attempt Colin has her committed to a mental hospital where she later finds out she is pregnant... with Faith. So when they let her out of the hospital she turns her life around and learns how to be a mum.

Then Colin does it again. This time she catches him in the act, and Faith also is witness to his infidelity. Separation is inevitable. Colin goes to live with his mistress and when the divorce is settled, he freely gives over custody of his daughter to Mariah.

However, neither of them account for what comes next. Faith starts to perform miracles and to show "stigmata", involuntary bleeding corresponding to Christ's wounds. Faith becomes the subject of media interest - TV, media, journalists, Rabbis, Fathers (as in the Catholic Church), priests, psychiatrists... they all want a piece of Faith. What in the world is happening to Faith? And why? Needless to say, all this attention results in Colin wanting his daughter back. Doubts creep in... is Mariah doing this to her? The heart-wrenching custody battle ensues.

Wonderfully researched, beautifully written. You can't fault Picoult here. She takes an explosive subject and skilfully weaves her way around the different arguments and religious and non-religious approaches. Very thought provoking, and a page-turning read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not vintage Jodi but a good read, 3 May 2007
This review is from: Keeping Faith (Hardcover)
I am a big fan of Jodi Picoult but this isn't her best work. It centres around a little girl, Faith White and her visions of God and her mother's (Mariah White) custody battle with her father when a media circus follows Faith's revelations. It starts off slowly and some of it's all a little far fetched and difficult to relate to. I have to admit I nearly gave up on it but it's worth ploghing on as it does get better and the story gets meatier after about 100 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC, 13 April 2007
This review is from: Keeping Faith (Paperback)
Jodi Picoult is one of the best authors out there. She writes fearlessly and the research and detail in all of her books is amazing. If you like any kind of courtroom dramas you should read her books. They keep you guessing till the end and you are on the edge of your seat waiting for the next chapter to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I've read this year!, 26 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Keeping Faith (Hardcover)
My first book by Jodi Picoult, will definitely not be my last! An intelligently written, beautiful story which I could not put down! Read this book! You will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Jun 2006
By 
O. Doyle "celticshedevil" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keeping Faith (Hardcover)
I'm definitely a fan of Jodi Picoult and before reading `Keeping Faith' I'd read My Sisters Keeper, Vanishing Acts, The Pact, Plain Truth, Salem Falls & Perfect Match. I love Picoult's style of writing as she always manages to suck you in so you feel you know all the characters intimately. While I was disappointed with The Pact and Perfect Match I was not disappointed with Keeping Faith.

The story centers around Mariah, Colin and Faith White. Mariah and Faith arrive home unexpectedly and find Colin in bed with another woman. Colin has had many extra-marital affairs and the first time resulted in Mariah trying to take her life. Instead of getting her the help she needed Colin had her institutionalized for four months. While there Mariah found out she was pregnant with Faith. Faith is now 7yrs old and the one constant in Mariah's life. When Colin leaves after his latest dalliance Faith develops an imaginary friend. Mariah isn't too worried until Faith starts referring to her friend as God. Shortly afterwards Faith starts exhibiting stigmata and `healing' powers. When word of Faiths healing powers gets out every news crew and cult from here to kingdom-come flocks to the White's front lawn. When Colin sees the coverage of his daughter on the news he initiates legal proceedings to have full custody of Faith.

This is a fantastic book which I managed to read in about 3 days.....I probably would have finished it sooner only I had to go to pesky work! The characters are explained so well that you can almost picture them in you're mind as you're reading. Whatever your feelings about God and miracles this is one book that will have you wondering one way or the other. I definitely rank this book up on the best books list with My Sisters Keeper and Plain Truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspend your disbelief, 25 Feb 2006
This review is from: Keeping Faith (Hardcover)
If you're already a fan of Jodi Picoult, you'll be aware that her books tend to follow the format of serious decisions and dilemmas, legally, ethically, and maternally. She writes as if her books are pure crime stories - whodunnit, pageturner types - while simultaneously juggling the moral issue she's chosen to address. Somehow her style manages to perfectly balance the two, and she's come up with some difficult-to-define but incredibly gripping way of turning an ethical dilemma into a suspense novel that'll make you stay up reading till 2am.
Unlike some of her previous books, 'Keeping Faith' will require the average reader to suspend their disbelief a little in order to get totally involved. If you're put off by anything you think might verge on the religious or supernatural, this probably isn't the best JP novel to start with. If you're open to a little suggestion, jump in. When you're still awake at 2, don't say I didn't warn you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jodi Picoult on form, 7 Feb 2007
This review is from: Keeping Faith (Paperback)
First I must say I am a Jodi Picoult fan, although I have been disappointed by a couple of her latest book releases (Vanishing Acts and Salem Falls).

But Keeping Faith does not disappoint - it is a fascinating, thought-provoking page-turner.

The story focuses on Faith, a seven-year-old girl who starts seeing God after her parents go through a traumatic divorce. Then she starts appearing to heal and performing miracles. It culminates in a classic Picoult court battle, as Faith's father sues for custody.

The plot is interesting and I found all the issues it brings up fascinating. The characters are well-developed. I loved the relationship between Mariah (Faith's mother) and Ian (a "teleatheist" covering the story of Faith's apparent miracles), and Mariah and Millie (Mariah's mother).

I loved this book - it's gripping fiction that makes you think - classic Jodi Picoult on great form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Motherhood and God, 29 Jun 2011
By 
Rev. M. Bonser (Dunfermline, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keeping Faith (Paperback)
This is my first Jodi Picoult book, but it will not be my last. My wife and one of my daughters, mature Christians, couldn't finish it, even though they are Jodi Picoult fans, and one of my reading group found it disturbing. So there are challenges.

The New York Daily News says, "Picoult is at her best when she is writing about motherhood." This is essentially a book about motherhood, but by the end it is not clear who is mother to whom. There are four main characters, Faith's friend (God as mother), Faith, Mariah (Faith's mother) and Millie (Mariah's Mother). It is signficant that Millie's name doesn't appear until she is addressed by Colin (the schmuck). Until then, in relation to Maria and Faith, she is mother, Grandma, Ma and Mom. Maria is always 'Mommy' to Faith, . This is Faith's first word on two key occassions. The prologue introduces the main themes, Maria's fear of reality expressed in her OCD, "I don't like surprises", and her attempts at completely ordering and controlling of life, (of which there are hints in Colin's new love, Jessica; "At the departure gate Colin watches Jessica check the tickets for the hundredth time"),and the possibility of death, Millie's "coffin-table". The key men are predominantly unpleasant characters, Ian the atheistic protagonist, with the heroic past and vulnerable secret, and Colin,the serial betrayer, but both experience growth in their humanity over the course of the novel. Joan Standish, Dr Keller and Kenzie van der Hoven are portayed much more positively.

Picoult handles the Judeo-christian traditions well on the whole, although the Catholic figures are possibly a little charicatured. The ambiguity of Faith's unseen friend is completed with the twist on the final page. This I found the least satisfying part of the book. The extent of the miraculous healing, and the character of Faith's vicarious suffering, make it clear that God is around, but would she behave as she does in this book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Favourite Jodi Picoult novel so far, 10 April 2007
By 
K. Barnett (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keeping Faith (Paperback)
I've read 5 of Jodi Picoult's novels now and this is the first of which I have felt compelled to write a review.

I thought the story was very moving, well written and thought provoking.

Jodi Picoult portrays each character extremely well as I felt for them all in different ways, the way their emotions were portrayed really brought me, the reader, into the story.

I'm not religious, but the book had me thinking more and more about different faiths, and people's beliefs and perceptions of them.

Although the story took a couple of chapters to get going, it became a page turner and I struggled to put it down, particularly towards the end during the courtroom scenes.

As a mother, I found a lot of the experiences Mariah White went through and a lot of her thoughts, although unlifelike, very close to home.

I recommend this book to anyone who would like a thought provoking, emotional page-turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Keeping Faith
Keeping Faith by Jodi Picoult
3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews