Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


150 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical filmmaking
Watching this movies was like walking into a dream world of nature at its most beautiful. The seasons unfold one after another with magnificent intensity as a lovely 10 year old girl seeks friendship with a wisely wary fox. I was amazed by the incredible patience that she displayed as she wooed the fox, day after day, in the hope that she could connect with him, and is...
Published on 27 Sep 2008 by keven

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too real for the younger viewers
This film started off wonderfully, our 5 year old was enjoying it. She fell asleep but i carried in watching as it was so lovely, the fox was so adorable and visited the girls house, then out of the blue it freaks out, bites the girl, jumps out a closed window smashing glass everywhere and dies.
I didn't watch anymore and am grateful that our daughter fell asleep,...
Published 3 months ago by MacandAmy


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

150 of 151 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical filmmaking, 27 Sep 2008
This review is from: The Fox And The Child [DVD] (DVD)
Watching this movies was like walking into a dream world of nature at its most beautiful. The seasons unfold one after another with magnificent intensity as a lovely 10 year old girl seeks friendship with a wisely wary fox. I was amazed by the incredible patience that she displayed as she wooed the fox, day after day, in the hope that she could connect with him, and is rewarded with a genuine friendship, with film footage that astounded me on every level. Yes, the fox is very cute, but the sensitivity with which this movie was filmed takes the story to a whole new level. I won't go into the story, as I wouldn't want to ruin if for you, but I can't imagine anyone watching this film and feeling a moments boredom or disappointment. I think that it is about time I spent some time sitting quietly in the woods. Perhaps, after watching this, you will feel the same way too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 6 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: The Fox And The Child [DVD] (DVD)
This is a truly beautiful film. My two and a half year old is completely enchanted by it and has watched it many times. It's educational too, teaching about the seasons, the animal world and love. Thoroughly recommend this for any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magical tale, 23 Mar 2010
By 
T. Vitali - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fox And The Child [DVD] (DVD)
This is a stunningly beautiful film and an exquisite portrayal of a child discovering the wonders of the natural world and responding to it through her innate affinity with the wild environment she grew up in. We watch, mesmerised, as she develops acute sensitivity to the tiniest flap of an insect's wing around her. We see pure magic through her eyes, and become part of her slow earned tender intimacy with the fox. Yet we also witness the eventual tragic rupture of such a fragile bond, as she ultimately fails to appreciate that wild things will not be possessed. It's the most inspiring visual enactment of William Blake's lines: "He who takes to himself a joy /doth the winged life destroy / He who kisses the joy as it flies / lives in Eternity's sunrise". Unmissable, for those that wish to know the meaning of love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite charming tale, 4 April 2011
By 
B. E. Capsey (Somerset GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fox And The Child [DVD] (DVD)
Obviously intended for kids, but heartily recommended. It's a delightful tale with superlative photography in a stunning region. It's peanuts to buy via Amazon, and thoroughly enjoyable for all age groups. (Too good to be just for kids!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice and peaceful story, 27 Dec 2009
By 
R. Petersen (NORWAY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fox And The Child [DVD] (DVD)
This is a quiet and beautiful simple story about a girl and a fox. The children kept up their attention right through the film. A good film for getting down the pace and preparing our minds for christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's magic....but you need the eyes of a child to see it., 26 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. I. L. Penwald "Skywalker63" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fox And The Child [DVD] (DVD)
This film actually came out in 2007 but only had a limited cinema release in the UK. It comes from the creators of the much acclaimed 'March of the Penguins' and is directed by Luc Jacquet. This is a French creation, narrated in english by the only headline artist many non-francofones will recognise - Kate Winslet. I had seen a press advert for the film when it was out in cinemas in the UK, but then forgot about it and so missed it on the big screen and that was a huge mistake for reason's I'll explain later on.

OK...one big tip when watching this film for the first time so as not to spoil your enjoyment of it. You have to kind of leave your adult mind, values and responsibilities behind and try and view this film with the eyes and innocence of a child. Otherwise, you might start pulling your hair out in frustration mainly aimed at the child's parents, who we never actually get to see in the film. I found myself at times shaking my head is disbelief that there could exist such parents that would let their child wander off alone for seemingly days on end in deep mountain forests full of precarious ravines with frothing rivers, dark caverns and wild animals. More than that you really want to press charges for child neglect at them when it appears this poor young girl posesses just the one outffit which she wears more or less for the full duration of the movie, which spans the course of a year. But the film is not about the story of a family or even of the little girl. It's about trust and friendship and through experiencing the highs and lows that friendship brings...it is in the end about learning the difference between love and posession.

So...having put aside your adult mind and all the cynical baggage that comes with it, you can start to be taken on a pure adventure, experienced through the eyes of a child...and the magic begins. The friendship at the heart of this movie is that struck up by the little girl and a Fox, whom she first encounters on her way home from school one evening walking through the forest (In know, I know...what about those irresponsible parents blah blah. We've put adult mind to bed now, haven't we?). The child becomes fascinated by her encounter with the Fox and is determined to tame it and befriend it. What follows is the gentle story of how both had to learn to trust and become familiar with each other when all their natural instincts have taught them that each must always eye the other with suspicion and fear. Having gained the trust of the Fox, the child is finally led to learn one of the biggest lessons of her young life when she discovers how easily friendship and trust can be broken, no matter how innocently. Now stop your balling - you are not going to experience a 'Bambi's mother death' scenario. Well...not quite.

It's a slow paced film, charmingly acted by young Bertille Noel-Brunneau who is for 99.5% of the film the only human protagonist. All the rest is nature and an amazing cast of real animals. The real beauty of this film (and hence my angst at not having seen it on the big screen) is the cinematography. It is quite simply stunning. You just want to feast your eyes on the wonderful scenery, the changing of the seasons, the bright colours, and the amazing lighting. One minute you are taking in the grandeur a mountain sunset and the next, the delicate close-up beauty of a Ladybird. You can almost smell the outdoor freshness of the movie and you just want to breathe it in. Children and adults will love this film. If you are a nature lover, this is a must for your video collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Dec 2008
This review is from: The Fox And The Child [DVD] (DVD)
At last, a film for young girls that isn't about boys, falling in love, getting rescued by princes and getting married! It's good, wholesome entertainment, with beautiful cinematography and educational too. They can learn about nature, seasons, wildlife and patience, with a little bit of action thrown in. Ideal for my 5 and 3 year old girls alike, which is also a rarity. My daughter cried when it finished, because she didn't want it to end! It's delightful, an absolute must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful story for children, very suitable for grown ups, 29 Jan 2013
By 
Dignas, Angela Elsbeth (Polcenigo, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fox And The Child [DVD] (DVD)
I must confess, I bought the film for myself. I saw it on TV and was absolutely enchanted. The little girl is adorable, the nature breathtaking and the fox....I have no words. I wonder how they did it, is it a tame, trained animal?
The story is very simple and straightforward. The little girl loves roaming in the fields and the woods, where one day she sees a fox. She tries to befriend it and finally succeeds to a certain extent.
PARENT GUIDANCE required for small children, as there are some scenes that might be upsetting (the fox jumps out of the window and gets hurt) and even scary (the scene where wolves are out to attack the fox).
The film teaches to love nature and its inhabitants, but mainly respect. Very good soul food!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 April 2009
This review is from: The Fox And The Child [DVD] (DVD)
I sat and watched this dvd with my 5 and 7 year old grandchildren, they never said a word all the way through! They loved all the different animals especially the fox, I think it teaches children to respect animals in the wild which is a good thing. I enjoyed it too and even cried! a must see film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit too real for the younger viewers, 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fox And The Child [DVD] (DVD)
This film started off wonderfully, our 5 year old was enjoying it. She fell asleep but i carried in watching as it was so lovely, the fox was so adorable and visited the girls house, then out of the blue it freaks out, bites the girl, jumps out a closed window smashing glass everywhere and dies.
I didn't watch anymore and am grateful that our daughter fell asleep, she would have been devastated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fox And The Child [DVD]
The Fox And The Child [DVD] by Luc Jacquet (DVD - 2008)
£3.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews