Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars R&B ALBUM OF THE YEAR
After recently obtaining a copy of the Craig David "Born To Do It" CD, I was absolutely blown away by the unique melodies that are produced on this album. Though his style is similar to Donnell Jones, R. Kelly, and Eric Benet, Craig David I believe leads the pack by offering the same beats as his American counterparts, but he also adds flavor to his album by...
Published on 13 May 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Heard one track heard them all.
A disappointing album which after hearing the appealing 7 days and walking away seemed to have a lot of potential. Unfortunately this was not realised. Too samey too bland too everything execpt striking.
Published on 21 Dec. 2000


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars R&B ALBUM OF THE YEAR, 13 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Born to Do It (Audio CD)
After recently obtaining a copy of the Craig David "Born To Do It" CD, I was absolutely blown away by the unique melodies that are produced on this album. Though his style is similar to Donnell Jones, R. Kelly, and Eric Benet, Craig David I believe leads the pack by offering the same beats as his American counterparts, but he also adds flavor to his album by adding instruments that don't make it sound like the same old R&B we keep hearing. If Craig keeps making tracks as good as the ones he currently produced, I think this boy will blow up on the international scene in no time. Like many others, I am trying to get word of his album to everyone I know here in Cali and hope that his success and music will be a strong presence in America in the very near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, JUST PURE EXCELLENCE!, 17 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Born to Do It (Audio CD)
Okay, so people may not agree, but Craig David has done very well, especially for a debut! The song Rendevous (song 3) is great, as is Booty Man(song 9). A varying mix of music, which not a lot of artists do on one album, and there is not one bad song among them. This has been on my cd player, practically 24 hours a day, since i got it at 8am monday morning (thanks to amazon!). Listening to it now in fact! I must admit, when Rewind first came out i wasn't sure, but now i like it, and my fave has to be 7 days!
When is the new album out? okay i'm kidding, but when he said he was born to do it, he certainly was!
Deserves 6 stars out of 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Born To Do It, 18 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Born to Do It (Audio CD)
.... America do this music much, much better than us, and so Craig uses these influences, and is the best thing to come out of the UK, we should be proud of such an artist, who incorporates our UK garage sound, and mixes it with US styles R&B, not bringing him down. The album does not have one bad track on the album, sure to pop fans this may not be the album they wanted, but Craig David really never aims at the British pop fan, he just recieved a lot of coverage which turned him into a pop icon. The people he aims at are the ones who would've bought the album wheter it was 'in' or not. Tracks like "Rendevous" can take the wind out of the sails of almost any american R&B artist, who all just drop a albums full of heavy bass beats with Hip Hop influances to cover, not comliment the vocals. Craig David can sing, can write songs and is from the UK, I just don't think some can handle us having a successful artist without talking about the US. To put it bluntly this album is quality through and through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Craig D. a danceable debut whitch makes you long for more..., 28 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Born to Do It (Audio CD)
As I go to work each day, I start of by putting Craig Davids 'Born To Do It' on. It's new and yet very familiar sound just lifts you up. In a mix of accoustic instruments and the use of synthesisers, his voice weaves through it all like a butterfly, creating a very distinctive personal sound. His lyrics show that he is still a very young man, discovering the femalesex and enjoying the dating game. It makes me feel young as well and looking at the world as if I was his age again. I often find myself singing along his lyrics, dancing in my car, with not a care in the world. My favorites are "Fill Me In" because of the syncopic rythm, "Rendezvous" for the dreamy-story-telling-feel to it, "7 Days" its hot and funny all at the same time, "Walking Away" Craig's melangoly answer to the blues. Hope his next album comes out soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gonna be MASSIVE!, 17 Aug. 2000
This review is from: Born to Do It (Audio CD)
This album is a collaboration of smooth lyrics and slick instrumentals. It very much caters for an R'nB audience, and "Born to do it" definately has the flavours of US R'n'B, but with a lacing of UK garage sounds especially with the massive hit "Rewind", you can't help but feel proud that this boy is 'one of ours'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly amazing!, 25 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Born to Do It (Audio CD)
Craig David has pulled off a stunna with his album, only 2 singles brought out, only 19 yrs of age and he makes an album which has stayed in the top 5, and will do for many more weeks. The tracks are both sing a long, dance music, and it is relaxing and soft. Craig David has a brilliant voice, my favourite tracks are obviously his brought out singles. It is one of those albums which you can press play and listen to all the way through, all the tracks are top. The ones that stand out and shine is Can't be messin' around (2), Walking Away (7) and The Booty Man (9) This is a five star album and Craig David has to be one of the best individual singers. Rewind (12) the last track, I wasn't too keen on it when it was released, but the remix is good. You really can focus on what a good track Fill Me In is, it kick starts the album, and keeps you gripped for the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth, Suave, but Hopelessly Catchy, 13 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Born to Do It (Audio CD)
An excellent album.
Craig David surprised us all with his individual blend of garage and pop with Re-Rewind last December, and to capitalise his popularity, here comes his debut album, Born To Do It.
We had a taster of the album with Fill Me In and Seven Days but the new songs are at least as rich and catchy. From the burning melody of track two, to the friday vibe infused track Friday Night, this is a varied yet quality collection of rap/pop/ballad, with not too much of any one.
Particularly good songs include Last Night, Walking Away, and Once in My Life.
But Craig finishes with a tribute to the song that propelled him to his current fame, a funky remix of Re-Rewind. At the close, the words 'Cool, Fine, Done, Finished' are said, but if this superb album is anything to go by, I think Craig David is nowhere near finished yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great RnB album from the mighty fine Craig David., 18 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Born to Do It (Audio CD)
From the first time we heard Craig David and Artful dodger, we realised that not only did he have a soothing, sensual voice....but he was damn fine too. 'Born to do it'was the much awaited first album of the talented Southhampton lad, and he really produced something to be proud of. A great mix of upbeat and chillin' RnB, suitable for anyone who appreciated his first couple of singles. 12 tracks with lyrics boasting of 'Bad girls'and 'putting it down on them' may sound cheesy.....but he can do no wrong, as the bass and the tunes are all catchy and original. Craig David is brimming with talent, and this CD is a fine example of the sounds he is capable of producing. Let's just hope the standards he has set himself are not too high, and he can go on creating this high level of RnB for years to come. Jodie Clarkex
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Heard one track heard them all., 21 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Born to Do It (Audio CD)
A disappointing album which after hearing the appealing 7 days and walking away seemed to have a lot of potential. Unfortunately this was not realised. Too samey too bland too everything execpt striking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This album gives a whole new meaning to popular music!, 12 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Born to Do It (Audio CD)
The best album of the year, who said RnB was the new pop, as Craig has proven it just well definitely is! With this sexy stylish voice, street wise flavour and 12 fantastically written songs. You just can't help but want a bit of Craig in your record collection. This album is the must have album of the year! With the garage/RnB Fill me in, the fast n sexy can't be messin'round, the slick Rondezvous, 7 days u just can't help singing along to and Walking away the song people can all relate to at some point in their lives. Plus 7 more songs which just prove the extent of CDs everlasting talent. You will most definitely will not be disapointed with this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Born To Do It
Born To Do It by Craig David
Buy MP3 Album£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews