Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joni at her best
I have always noticed that in guidebooks to music, reviewers very rarely give live albums as high a rating as studio albums. odd since for many artists it is the natural arena. This, for me, certainly is Joni at her best, surpassing the efforts of Ladies of the Canyon and even Blue. It mixes well the acoustic and electric, showcases new arrangements, has both the well...
Published on 9 Aug 2002 by george geddes

versus
28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Imperfect CD transfer
Two albums into her Asylum contract came this double album recorded live in California in 1974. Treading water prior to her next studio album a full year later (The Hissing Of Summer Lawns), the album also usefully provided Asylum with shiny new versions of some of her Reprise back catalogue, at a time when her vocal style had matured. Some of these now sounded...
Published on 2 Aug 2007 by Lozarithm


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Imperfect CD transfer, 2 Aug 2007
By 
Lozarithm (Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Miles of Aisles (Audio CD)
Two albums into her Asylum contract came this double album recorded live in California in 1974. Treading water prior to her next studio album a full year later (The Hissing Of Summer Lawns), the album also usefully provided Asylum with shiny new versions of some of her Reprise back catalogue, at a time when her vocal style had matured. Some of these now sounded considerably different, having been rearranged to incorporate the LA Express, the band led by Tom Scott with whom Joni had been working since their involvement on the Court And Spark album released at the start of the year. Perversely though, the one song from that album, People's Parties, is performed live acoustically.

Big Yellow Taxi, Woodstock, Carey, The Last Time I Saw Richard and Both Sides Now in particular appear in marked contrast to their studio counterparts, making them of some interest whether or not in the final analysis they are improvements. The album concludes with two previously unrecorded songs, Jericho (later to appear on Don Juan's Reckless Daughter) and Love Or Money.

Most of the concert was recorded over four August nights at the Los Angeles Universal Amphitheater and mixed to create the atmosphere of a single live performance (though two of the tracks come from earlier concerts at different venues in March).

However, much of this atmosphere has been sacrificed on this CD in an attempt to squeeze the albums onto to one disc. With the exception of Joni's amiable preamble to The Circle Game, all the between song chat and some of the applause has been crudely excised, with applause frequently being unceremoniously cut short by the clean start of a new track. As the running time is only 74 minutes, one hopes that any HDCD remastered edition will be able to restore this album to something approaching the whole, in line with the original production intentions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joni at her best, 9 Aug 2002
This review is from: Miles of Aisles (Audio CD)
I have always noticed that in guidebooks to music, reviewers very rarely give live albums as high a rating as studio albums. odd since for many artists it is the natural arena. This, for me, certainly is Joni at her best, surpassing the efforts of Ladies of the Canyon and even Blue. It mixes well the acoustic and electric, showcases new arrangements, has both the well known and the not so. You can certainly see her turning to more complexity and jazz influenced arrangements. The recording quality is good, the performance are expert my both Joni, Tom Scott, and the LA Express. It is a moving album - some of the songs are just so so beautful and poignant but it certainly rocks in places. And of course it is all shot with a very pleasant atmosphere which draws you to the sunny LA of 1974
a must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miles of Aisles, Joni Mitchell, 14 Sep 2001
By 
This review is from: Miles of Aisles (Audio CD)
I recently got this album out of my box of old vinyl and was impressed by the wing collars and floppy hats on the cover. Did people really wear that stuff? This album is shot through with transatlantic '70's style. Even now the recording is so evocative that you think you are right there with Joni and her band, calling out between the songs and wowing to the music. If you ever wanted to remember or imagine of how it felt to be at one of those gigs then look no further. This is a magical evocation and highly recommended to all who love authentic vintage sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Joni album, 26 Aug 2012
By 
Cressida (Minstead, Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Miles of Aisles (Audio CD)
I have always loved this live Joni Mitchell album. There is just something about the performances that really appeals to me. A few of the songs are done quite differently from the studio versions. That doesn't mean they are better or worse, just different. But this is definitely my favourite version of Both Sides Now. Tom Scott and his group are a wonderful complement to Joni. I know that some people have complained about a certain loss of atmosphere because some of the in between stuff that was on the vinyl was edited out for the CD. But the songs are still there and this is one album I will never tire of listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miles of Joni, 25 May 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miles of Aisles (Audio CD)
This live set from 1974 captures Joni Mitchell with the L.A. Express performing some of her best material up to that time.

Joni is in scintillating form. Her voice at this time was as good as it ever got, and that means you're listening to one of the most flexible female voices in the history of rock music. You'll have no doubt about this when you hear a track like "All I Want". The pitch and control of dynamics she gets from her voice on this track are simply amazing.

The band are also tremendous. Listen to the rocking version of Big Yellow Taxi with Tom Scotts fabulous solo.

There quite a few tracks from Blue, plus many other well known songs such as "Woodstock", "Jericho" and a moving version of "Both Sides Now". This is a little heard treasure of an album thats essential for anybody who wants to hear Joni at her absolute best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A really good collection of live tracks, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles of Aisles (Audio CD)
Joni is one of those artists you either love or hate,frankly I love her and the treatment she gives to this live album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joni at her live best, 5 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. GF Settle (Cheshire,UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles of Aisles (Audio CD)
I bought this as an LP back in the day and now I have it as a CD to play again. Joni always brings back great memories of the 70's when I still think that she was at her best. All the fantastic songs are there and as it's live she occasionally adds a great twist. You won't be disappointed, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful! One of Joni's best., 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles of Aisles (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic cd that I had as an Lp first time round. The LA Express were just right to support Joni's jazz style vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Miles of smiles, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles of Aisles (Audio CD)
Reworking classic songs is usually a recipe for disaster. Not on this occasion. Joni pulls it off with consummate ease. She owns the songs in every sense of the word, breathing new life into songs I didn't think needed it. Most are more upbeat than the originals. I don't think they are any better or worse than the original recordings,but sung live they have a new and deserved life of their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A live greatest hits of real distinction, 8 Oct 2011
By 
os - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Miles of Aisles (Audio CD)
This is a live album that strives for, and achieves, a feeling of intimacy and sense of performance. The focus is communicating the songs rather wowing the audience with extended solos or radically reworking the material in order to create 'interest' for the diehard' fans. There is little to say about this set except that Joni is in great voice, her band funky and tight and the song selection excellent as it reads almost like a greatest hits line up. Purists need not worry, the band add a little bit of tasy light -jazz ornamentation, but otherwise don't hinder Joni in the slightest. Particular attention should be paid to guitarist Robben Ford who adds wonderful little lines here and there, keeping things interesting and just that little bit gritty on occasion.

It is too easy to forget that Joni is not just one of the great song writers of modern times she's also a natural on stage. She sounds so carefree and in her element on this album, its positively infectious! Live albums are all too frequently cash-in's but it's fair to say that 'Miles For Isles' grabs and holds the attention from start to finish simply because it is so good. The only problem is that in order to squeeze in all the material from the original 2 LP set , a sense of continuity has been sacrificed due to hasty editing of on stage patter and crowd applause, robbing the listener of the full `you are there' experience. A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miles Of Aisles
Miles Of Aisles by Joni Mitchell
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews