Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The results obtained from use of the Marumi DHG Super are outstanding.
The Marumi DHG Super CPL isn't cheap but it really is outstanding regarding performance.

If you are looking for a high end Polariser, it provides a standard I have yet to see rivalled for the price from any other manufacturer.

An independent test and review of many popular Polarisers can be found here - [...] (link deleted by Amazon)

To...
Published on 6 Sept. 2010 by NL

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Too thin, hard to use
Purchased after reading many positive reviews about this filter.

However I am finding it very difficult to actually use compared to other polarising filters that I have. Its extremely slim so thenotched rotating grip is very very thin, you arent sure whether you are rotating it, and as the filter is so thin to operate it your fingers catch the lens barrel...
Published 4 months ago by Michael J. Davies


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The results obtained from use of the Marumi DHG Super are outstanding., 6 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Marumi DHG Super Circular Polarising 77mm Filter (Accessory)
The Marumi DHG Super CPL isn't cheap but it really is outstanding regarding performance.

If you are looking for a high end Polariser, it provides a standard I have yet to see rivalled for the price from any other manufacturer.

An independent test and review of many popular Polarisers can be found here - [...] (link deleted by Amazon)

To summarise the results from the extensive test - I confidently based my choice on them - the Marumi DHG Super CP came joint first (identical results) with the significantly more expensive B+W Slim KSM C-POL MRC 72 mm.

Both filters performance and low distortion exceeded the Hoya, Kenko, Fujiyama, Sigma, Tiffen and lower spec B+W filters on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not cheap but top notch quality, 5 Jun. 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Most folks run to Hoya for all their filters, nothing wrong there as the company makes some fine filters at various price points (avoid the super budget stuff though) But in this case it's worth looking at other makers too.

Marumi are a make I've been using for a few years now, and I've been very pleased with their products overall.
This Polariser isn't cheap, you can hit the usual auction site for bargains (some are ok, some are not) The DHG is the digital high grade range of filters (the super DHG has an additional coating on it to aid cleaning)

At this price you start to get good quality, but without the B+W wallet busting price. This filter outperformed the B+W CPL filters on lenstip's testing, and most other makers too. In the real world it's well made, with a slim frame so vignetting is less of an issue on wider angle lenses.

Rotating the filter is smooth and without any grinding, optical quality is very good with an excellent polarising effect on images.
As a side note a CPL is useful for a few areas in photography

- Removing reflections on non metallic objects, and for effect in Landscape photography (darkening of the sky and increasing contrast)

I tend to use them mostly for removing reflections which can be useful for product photography or items in display glass, but the effect can also be handy for cutting out water reflections too. If it's not metal a CPL will kill reflections with ease.

For scenic work a CPL can be very useful, however I'd resist the temptation to use one all the time, or to always use one "dialled up to the max". When you rotate the filter the effect of polarisation becomes stronger, but there are times when you might not want to use it at it's strongest. In short a very useful filter (I'd buy a step down ring for smaller filter sizes it can get expensive otherwise), though to be used when required and with some caution (with wider angle lenses you get edge darkening with a CPL this is the effect of polarisation not vignetting)

It's also worth noting you do lose some light with a CPL

The Marumi is a good filter, well made and with good optics, there can be some very slight flare when used with strong light sources, though many rivals have a little here too. Having used both it's hard to say which to go for the super has additional coatings (which makes it easier to clean) both are good though and a clear cut above some cheaper rivals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good quality for the money, 22 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read a few on-line reviews before buying this polarising filter as i had previously bought only Hoya and B+W.This filter is very nicely made, the multi-coating is excellent giving much lower levels of reflection than on my Hoya circular polariser. It is a very thin mount so should not cause a problem with wide lenses. Colours are neutral and extinction is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top quality product, 12 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At this price level you've got right to expect top quality. And so quality this filter has. I've did some extended research before my purchase and this was one of highest rated polar filters. After testing I can only agree with all reviews I have red. It's good purchase. If you need polar filter and you know what effects you could expect you won't be disappointed. It's much cheaper than comparable products from B+W or Heliopan too.

The good
+ ring works smoothly
+ easy to clean
+ robust
+ great homogeneity
+ small reflections

The bad
- it's expensive anyway
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marumi DHG Super Circular Polarising 77mm Filter, 3 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marumi DHG Super Circular Polarising 77mm Filter (Accessory)
I bought this after seeing it reviewed well against B+W filters which I know from experience to be excellent.

I have used this on a number of occasions now on a Nikon D7000 with 3 Nikon lenses attached to brass step-up rings: 18-70mm, 50mm f/1.8G and 105mm f/2.

Flare is well controlled and the polarising effect is well controlled across the field of view, with no colour variation problems.

The filter rotates easily and firmly enough to retain its position.

The filter is relatively thin, and I only really had vignetting on my 18-70 when I stacked this with two other filters and shot at 18mm.

My lens cap attaches easily to it.

I didn't have any trouble with stiction, using my brass Heliopan step-up rings.

The filter cleans easily with a Kauser (microfibre) cloth without problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marumi DHG Super Circular Polarising 77mm Filter, 16 Dec. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marumi DHG Super Circular Polarising 77mm Filter (Accessory)
Delivered promptly. Very good quality product - enhances images very well. Rotates freely and very thin - does not significantly worsen vignetting on my 12-24mm lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marumi CPZ Filter, 3 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Did a lot of Googling before picking this particular filter and the review of Circular Polariser filters by lenstip.com highlighted the Marumi. Used on my Sony a55 with 18-250mm travel zoom, the results are excellent. Many more keepers than before. The only downside is the inevitable loss of light, maybe 1-2 stops, however the ability to clean up most bright daylight scenes to get the contrast and saturation you're after ( not just landscapes ) is more than worth it. My UV protection filter has been replaced by the Marumi as the "always on" filter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every DSLR owner should have one of these, 7 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marumi DHG Super Circular Polarising 77mm Filter (Accessory)
"Instant better photographer" when taking pictures in bright sunlight. Makes colours pop and pictures significantly more dramatic. Indoors it can be used to adjust the amount of reflection from glossy surfaces/glass. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant CPL filters, 4 July 2013
By 
C. Rabe (Twickenham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marumi DHG Super Circular Polarising 77mm Filter (Accessory)
While I am relatively new to the world of interchangeable lenses and filters, I have learned the value of this brand very early on.

I initially bought cheap filters, which was fine for poorer quality glass I guess, but as my lenses got sharper (and more expensive), I found out how much they can really mess up the quality of decent glass.

Played around with the idea of some of the more established, and despite knowing the down side of cheap filters, was not going to pay the cost of something like the B+W. Read some good stuff about Marumi, and thought I would give it a go, and boy am I glad I did.

Still relatively expensive compared to the cheap ones, but reasonably priced I think. Though when you stick them on your lens, and notice how little your image quality is degraded, it becomes very much worth it.

I only have one 77mm, which I alternate between my several lenses, using an adapter for my 72mm lenses, and will one day purchase a proper 72mm (as sometimes can be a pain to get off the adapter).

No doubt a 5 star product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Marumi DHG Super Circular Polarising filter, 6 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marumi DHG Super Circular Polarising 77mm Filter (Accessory)
The Marumi DHG Super Circular Polarising filter, has had a very good review on lenstip.com, comparable with the B+W, which are considered the best generally. Being a bit of a cheapskate and also interested to see how well the filter would work, I went ahead and bought a 77mm (and since a 58mm).

Circular Polarisers are one of the few filters I will use (the over being ND filters) and they can do a very good job of, getting rid of reflection, haze and other issues, which are either very hard or can't really be cleaned up in photoshop. The big issue can be that, you do lose optical quality, with cheaper filters and you do lose light, which depending on the day can be good or bad.

I have used the polariser for a couple of jobs now and it does a good job, generally. You can't do miracles but, it does what it is meant to do and does it well.

Marumi has released a recently released a new top of the line circular polariser the Exus, which promises improvements over the DHG Super, though it is more expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews