Customer Reviews


163 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music player with a huge capacity
There is a lot of choice when it comes down to portable devices for on the go entertainment, from basic storage / playback "boxes", through gadget rich touchscreens, to audiophile quality FIIO type mp3 players.

I wanted a solid multimedia capable device with proven reliability and quality, which has a track record of surviving the rigorous commuter trip...
Published 3 months ago by Timothy Jones

versus
157 of 175 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 7th Generation/6th Generation - all the same product just a different price
Apple don't describe the current iPod Classic 160GB model as either 6th Generation or 7th Generation, it's just that the current iPod Classic model followed the 5th Generation and vendors have taken it upon themselves to label it such. Since the 5th Generation models the iPod Classic 160GB has been through two iterations - fat and thin. Originally the 160GB capacity was...
Published 13 months ago by Oskar Pig


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music player with a huge capacity, 4 Jun 2014
By 
Timothy Jones (Northants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple iPod classic 160 GB Black - 7th Generation (Electronics)
There is a lot of choice when it comes down to portable devices for on the go entertainment, from basic storage / playback "boxes", through gadget rich touchscreens, to audiophile quality FIIO type mp3 players.

I wanted a solid multimedia capable device with proven reliability and quality, which has a track record of surviving the rigorous commuter trip or longhaul flight, and with a battery which lasts the journey. In addition I needed a capacity which did not require a high level of selectivity when deciding which of my extensive music and video libraries to transfer to the device - an issue that I found increasingly frustrating with my previous 16GB Nano.

This led to just one option - the 160GB IPOD Classic. Massive capacity (I just sync my entire library), long battery life, iconic design which I actually prefer to touch screen, colour screen, and still small enough to be incredibly portable with shirt pocket sizing.

Provided you can live with apple software limitations I would have no hesitation in recommending the Classic as a must have accessory for reliable on the go multi-media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Volume Limit Removed!!, 29 Dec 2013
By 
Traffic (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Apple iPod classic 160 GB Black - 7th Generation (Electronics)
I recently bought this iPod classic from a local PC world on sale after my previous 7th Gen classic died after dropping it one too many times.
I have decided to post a review on here as it might help some customers wondering if the Volume cap issue was addressed by Apple.
The good news is yes, it has been. With Firmware version 2.0.5 there is an option to Disable "EU Volume Limit" within settings.
The bad news is that most existing iPod Classic 7th gen owners are unable to upgrade existing 2.0.4 firmware revisions.
I'm not sure if this was done consciously by Apple in order to make customers go out and buy new iPods but it's a possibility.
I have tried to upgrade the firmware of my friend's iPod classic 7th gen from 2.0.4 to 2.0.5 but it simply does not work. There are various forums confirming the same problem.

If you are in the market for a new iPod classic and were worried about the much reported volume cap then you can rest assured it's been addressed. just make sure you pick up the latest iPod classic 7th Gen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Volume Limit Removed!!, 29 Dec 2013
By 
Traffic (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I recently bought this iPod classic from a local PC world on sale after my previous 7th Gen classic died after dropping it one too many times.
I have decided to post a review on here as it might help some customers wondering if the Volume cap issue was addressed by Apple.
The good news is yes, it has been. With Firmware version 2.0.5 there is an option to Disable "EU Volume Limit" within settings.
The bad news is that most existing iPod Classic 7th gen owners are unable to upgrade existing 2.0.4 firmware revisions.
I'm not sure if this was done consciously by Apple in order to make customers go out and buy new iPods but it's a possibility.
I have tried to upgrade the firmware of my friend's iPod classic 7th gen from 2.0.4 to 2.0.5 but it simply does not work. There are various forums confirming the same problem.

If you are in the market for a new iPod classic and were worried about the much reported volume cap then you can rest assured it's been addressed. just make sure you pick up the latest iPod classic 7th Gen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had the common hard drive problem with the 6th generation, meaning it broke within 2 years! But this one is fixed now, so it's fabulous. And they've changed the hold button so that now it's smooth and feels really nice. In a way i'm not really sure how, it all feels and looks nicer, but I can't quite put my finger on it! It's expensive, but worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


157 of 175 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 7th Generation/6th Generation - all the same product just a different price, 9 Aug 2013
This review is from: Apple iPod classic 160 GB Black - 7th Generation (Electronics)
Apple don't describe the current iPod Classic 160GB model as either 6th Generation or 7th Generation, it's just that the current iPod Classic model followed the 5th Generation and vendors have taken it upon themselves to label it such. Since the 5th Generation models the iPod Classic 160GB has been through two iterations - fat and thin. Originally the 160GB capacity was achieved through a dual platter hard drive - hence the fat descriptor. Since the Classic 160GB's relaunch in 2011 it has used a single platter hard drive - hence the thin descriptor. This model is exactly the same as: Apple iPod classic 160GB - Black - 6th Generation. Do yourself a favour, save £30 or so by buying the current model described as 6th Generation as it is exactly the same as this model but cheaper [think about it why don't amazon.co.uk directly sell the 7th generation model - because it's no different to the 6th generation model, that's why].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Bliss, 9 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple iPod classic 160 GB Black - 7th Generation (Electronics)
I was never an Apple man, preferring Sony players but as Sony lost the plot with their SonicStage software and DRM I am finally buying an Apple player. Does what it says on the box. I have it in the glove compartment of my MX5 and never have to touch it. It plays, it charges, all via the AUX connection of the built in Car Stereo system. Pure bliss and my whole music collection to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was purchased as a replacement for my previous 160 GB Classic that I had for 5 years. The old one died, but no criticisms as nothing lasts for ever. This generation is vastly superior, particularly download speeds. I play my mine through the media center in the car, so the volume suppressor doesn't apply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great ipod., 9 Jun 2014
By 
Ian Thomas (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple iPod classic 160 GB Black - 7th Generation (Electronics)
Replaced my old 30gig classic. This ones great, lots more room, lots more music
Does what it says on the can
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Aug 2011
Great service - I received this product in less than a week. Great product. Exactly what I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 7th Generation/6th Generation - all the same product just a different price, 9 Aug 2013
Apple don't describe the current iPod Classic 160GB model as either 6th Generation or 7th Generation, it's just that the current iPod Classic model followed the 5th Generation and vendors have taken it upon themselves to label it such. Since the 5th Generation models the iPod Classic 160GB has been through two iterations - fat and thin. Originally the 160GB capacity was achieved through a dual platter hard drive - hence the fat descriptor. Since the Classic 160GB's relaunch in 2011 it has used a single platter hard drive - hence the thin descriptor. This model is exactly the same as: Apple iPod classic 160GB - Silver - 6th Generation. Do yourself a favour, save £30 or so by buying the current model described as 6th Generation as it is exactly the same as this model but cheaper [think about it why don't amazon.co.uk directly sell the 7th generation model - because it's no different to the 6th generation model, that's why].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Apple iPod classic 160 GB Black - 7th Generation
Used & New from: £300.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews