Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attractive triple bill in refurbished prints, 11 May 2010
By 
Guy Mannering (Maidenhead, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Night To Remember/The Red Shoes/Caesar And Cleopatra [DVD] (DVD)
Here's an attractive threesome of well-regarded British movies. A Night to Remember from 1958, about the sinking of the Titanic, has a semi-documentary feel to it and whilst not as spectacular as the James Cameron movie it's more accurate and thankfully devoid of novelettish elements. Even so, when the great ship goes under it's still a pretty awesome moment and always brings a lump to my throat. (I'm old enough to remember watching a TV chat show in the 60s which featured one of the survivors, by then an old lady, whose porcelain pet pig was thrown into the lifeboat forcing the frightened young woman to follow, so saving her life, an incident included in this movie.) The Red Shoes is still the best movie made about the world of ballet (of which admittedly there ain't exactly a whole lot) and makes one regret that the late Moira Shearer made so few movies. Caesar and Cleopatra, based on Bernard Shaw's play, was made under difficult conditions in the final days of WW2 as Hitler's flying bombs were dropping around the studio, and was the most expensive British film production up till that time. The colour, sets and costumes are magnificent and there's a fine cast of British thespians with Vivien Leigh a fabulous-looking Siren of the Nile (knocking spots of Liz Taylor's dumpy, scratchy-voiced Cleo.) But the tone of the movie wobbles uncertainly between light and heavy, there's an excess of Shavian clever-chat and an epic sweep that might have justified the lavish production values is never quite achieved (I suspect, incidentally, that Senna the soothayer in Frankie Howerd's Up Pompeii got her "Woe! Woe! And thrice woe!" from this movie.) An impressive failure, then, but not devoid of interest or visual splendours. The technical quality of this release is excellent, all three movies appear to have been refurbished resulting in nice crisp prints and enhanced colour. And there are some bonus features with a particularly interesting documentary on the making of A Night To Remember. Warmly recommended.

Postscript re: A Night To Remember(10.4.2014) A recent newspaper article I came across shows my memory as a bit faulty. The toy pig referred to above was actually made of papier-mache, not porcelain, and it was also a musical box. The article was accompanied by a 1950s photo of the survivor, by now an old lady, posing with the young actress who briefly appears as her in the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A WINNING BRITISH TRIO, 31 Mar 2009
By 
Olivier Comte (Neuilly FRANCE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Night To Remember/The Red Shoes/Caesar And Cleopatra [DVD] (DVD)
A NIGHT TO REMEMBER 1958. Justly celebrated movie. TITANIC was not bad but we have here a more dramatic film. The Second Officer is very well played by KENNETH MORE, more subtle than the stiff upper lip type that would have afflicted us in the thirties. Do you know that the nazis produced a film to show that the upper class passengers were decadent and cowards? The WALTER LORD book was thankfully short and the screenplay by ERIC AMBLER is quite good. We can see DAVID MC CALLUM and (briefly) SEAN CONNERY.
THE RED SHOES 1948. I don't enjoy the ballet and I'm not a systematic fan of POWELL/PRESSBURGER (except for A CANTERBURY TALE and BLACK NARCISSUS, of course), but we can only ask:how did he did it? A very thin plot and the ballet.It must be the miracle of great moviemaking AND the great director of photography JACK CARDIFF.
CAESAR AND CLEOPATRA 1945. I am a big fan of SHAW and was ready to savage that lavish production, but it's a triumph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic films triple, 3 Jun 2011
By 
Mrs. Susanne Willshaw "mitzymu" (shetland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Night To Remember/The Red Shoes/Caesar And Cleopatra [DVD] (DVD)
As an oldie can remember going to the cinema to see these films and being enthralled. The passage of time has not diminished despite the great leaps in film technology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Red Shoes, 28 Nov 2010
By 
Maura Devine (Dublin Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Night To Remember/The Red Shoes/Caesar And Cleopatra [DVD] (DVD)
Bought the compilation for the Red Shoes which brought back very happy memories. The other two films were an enjoyable bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The original film of The Titanic disaster, 3 July 2014
This review is from: A Night To Remember/The Red Shoes/Caesar And Cleopatra [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film! It is the original film of the tragic story of the Titanic and the people on board who lost their lives after the ship hit an iceburg and the heroism of the captain and crew. I prefer this version to the remake with Leonardo de Caprio (although that was a good film). This film has so much charm and atmosphere that I defy you to dislike it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice dvd, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Night To Remember/The Red Shoes/Caesar And Cleopatra [DVD] (DVD)
i only ordered this for the first film,the other 2 are ok but i am well happy with this dvd,well packaged and on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First Class, 12 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. S. Donnelly (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Night To Remember/The Red Shoes/Caesar And Cleopatra [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this mainly for the Red Shoes which I saw as a child. I was enthralled then and feel exactly the same now! This is a masterpiece expecially the dancing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic films triple, 1 July 2012
By 
Anthony J. Hynes (Billinge England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Night To Remember/The Red Shoes/Caesar And Cleopatra [DVD] (DVD)
These 3 films are excellent value for cinema buffs who wish to see how films were made back them and compare with moderndays
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabby dabby doo, 17 Jan 2010
By 
Henry Dunlop - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Night To Remember/The Red Shoes/Caesar And Cleopatra [DVD] (DVD)
i will be buying stuff from you again.i give you 5 stars an more.thanks again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Night To Remember/The Red Shoes/Caesar And Cleopatra [DVD]
8.18
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews