Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 August 2013
How that man understood country life at the latter end of the 1800s and the hardships suffered by folk then. I found this production of Far From the Madding Crowd more pleasing than than the Julie Christie one and Tess of the d'Urbervilles very well done. But nothing eclipses the Olivier/Oberon version of Wuthering Heights. A good buy for the money!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
Must confess I didn't realise that these were really series and I sat down to watch Madding Crowd as if it was a 2 h film ( couldn't see any time lengths on the box). Realised after 1 1/2 h that something was up as nowhere near the end of the story! Anyway they were much better than I was expecting - yet to see Wuthering Heights. I bought more for friends as were so good and excellent value.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
everything works fine - good value maybe not as `top starry' as other versions but very watchable and I enjoyed it
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
wuthering heights was chillingly disturbing, watch madding yest, wonderful hours of entertainment and looking forward to the last film on there. it goes a little wibbly from time to time at the top of screen, yet to work out if it is dvd or maybe our player is starting to malfunction..things don't last 5 minutes these days!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
Great! Took me back to high school Literature classes. So many memories came flooding back. Good story, good producing but waivers from original book some wot but then all films do. Will watch again and again
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2015
Wonderful productions of 3 favourite period dramas, 2 Thomas Hardy novels & 1 by Emily Bronte. If you like period dramas these you will enjoy & are beautifully acted & filmed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2015
Excellent service.Product as described. I haven't viewed the dvd as its a Christmas pressie.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
Favourite stories made into lovely movies, really enjoyable.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
I have thoroughly enjoyed watching these DVD's and am happy to recommend them. Each individual film has been developed in such a manner that you are there with them throughout, the strengths and weaknesses of each character is portrayed in a believeable manner and nothing is stunted or false.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2016
Arrived in good time for Christmas present.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)