Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You keep me under your skin...
There's something in the water in Australia at the moment with bands like Cloud Control, Tame Impala and this lot channeling all sorts of wonder psychedelic stuff. 'Howlin' is a heady stew of The Byrds, The Beach Boys, Teardrop Explodes and Radiohead all filtered through looping pedals, layers of guitar and the splashiest drums this side of Michael Clarke (The Byrds...
Published 12 months ago by Timothy Hooper

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hyped Up as usual
When I read the nme review of Howlin (9/10) i thought it sounded cool and
was interested in the Stone Roses comparison.
Ive since purchased the album and listened to it ten times and im still not
convinced at all with the vocals on most of the songs and the overall feel
of the album, neither good enough to be Tame Impala level or guitar heavy to...
Published 12 months ago by WILDMAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You keep me under your skin..., 15 July 2013
By 
This review is from: Howlin (Audio CD)
There's something in the water in Australia at the moment with bands like Cloud Control, Tame Impala and this lot channeling all sorts of wonder psychedelic stuff. 'Howlin' is a heady stew of The Byrds, The Beach Boys, Teardrop Explodes and Radiohead all filtered through looping pedals, layers of guitar and the splashiest drums this side of Michael Clarke (The Byrds again). Best of all it's drenched in brilliant melodies and thus utterly addictive.

It sounds great in the summer sun and I have a hunch it will sound great in the depths of a snowy winter too - clever that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jagwars rule!!, 11 Jun 2013
This review is from: Howlin (Audio CD)
I have had this album pretty much on loop since i purchased it; Howlin is a really bright, party album and will no doubt be the soundtrack to my summer. It marries the best parts of 60's psychedelic pop music with contemporary rhythms to create a sound that would bring Bez out of retirement to shake his maracas with great fervour. The song that drew me to this album was "The Throw", which perfectly illustrates Jagwar Ma's seamless mix of the new & old...it starts out with a surf guitar riff and trippy vocals before turning into an acid style dance track; it's a brilliant track and i would love to hear it live. Having now listened to the rest of the album, i was pleased to discover that The Throw wasn't a singular highlight, the whole album is excellent. The pace does drop off on the last two tracks, but after the upbeat nature of the earlier tracks it's nice to have a couple of lovely, chilled out songs to smoothly bring the album to a close....before playing the whole thing again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Summer sounds, 31 Mar 2014
By 
M. Stevens "Bee" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Howlin [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Reminiscent of Stone Roses and Primal Scream. Nice laid back psychedelic sound. The first three tracks are great. I think this is a great sound for the summer. Good quality double vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well impressed, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howlin (Audio CD)
saw the video of one of there songs on MTV Rocks and it was a catchy track ands the rest of the CD is just as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As described, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howlin (Audio CD)
my son loved this album . I ordered it for Christmas and it arrived promptly and in good condition . Great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howlin (MP3 Download)
These guys were recommended by a friend of mine. Very impressed with this album - great mix of psychedelic indie music (hope that doesn't do them an injustice). Listening from start to finish, it all works very well together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OK - album, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howlin (Audio CD)
thought it was OK, not sure what all teh hype was about really. listended to it a couple of times but solid enough, but possibly just not my gerne 9althrought that is ahrd to tie down with this) whcih i suppose is a plus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Album, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howlin (MP3 Download)
I really liked this one. My favourite of 2013.

They've got great lyrics combined with Chemical Brothers / Oasis / Happy Mondays style dance backing.

I saw them at Lattitude and am keen for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Buy it., 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howlin (MP3 Download)
Your mates will know you are cool when you pop this little beast on the ipod.
Attractive women will want to know who it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 22 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howlin (Audio CD)
Wow, how are they going to do a second album after that? :-) Every track is great! Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Howlin
Howlin by Jagwar Ma (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews