Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jagwars rule!!
I have had this album pretty much on loop since i purchased it; Howlin is a really bright, party album and will no doubt be the soundtrack to my summer. It marries the best parts of 60's psychedelic pop music with contemporary rhythms to create a sound that would bring Bez out of retirement to shake his maracas with great fervour. The song that drew me to this album was...
Published 21 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hyped Up as usual
When I read the nme review of Howlin (9/10) i thought it sounded cool and
was interested in the Stone Roses comparison.
Ive since purchased the album and listened to it ten times and im still not
convinced at all with the vocals on most of the songs and the overall feel
of the album, neither good enough to be Tame Impala level or guitar heavy to...
Published 21 months ago by WILDMAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jagwars rule!!, 11 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Howlin (Audio CD)
I have had this album pretty much on loop since i purchased it; Howlin is a really bright, party album and will no doubt be the soundtrack to my summer. It marries the best parts of 60's psychedelic pop music with contemporary rhythms to create a sound that would bring Bez out of retirement to shake his maracas with great fervour. The song that drew me to this album was "The Throw", which perfectly illustrates Jagwar Ma's seamless mix of the new & old...it starts out with a surf guitar riff and trippy vocals before turning into an acid style dance track; it's a brilliant track and i would love to hear it live. Having now listened to the rest of the album, i was pleased to discover that The Throw wasn't a singular highlight, the whole album is excellent. The pace does drop off on the last two tracks, but after the upbeat nature of the earlier tracks it's nice to have a couple of lovely, chilled out songs to smoothly bring the album to a close....before playing the whole thing again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You keep me under your skin..., 15 July 2013
This review is from: Howlin (Audio CD)
There's something in the water in Australia at the moment with bands like Cloud Control, Tame Impala and this lot channeling all sorts of wonder psychedelic stuff. 'Howlin' is a heady stew of The Byrds, The Beach Boys, Teardrop Explodes and Radiohead all filtered through looping pedals, layers of guitar and the splashiest drums this side of Michael Clarke (The Byrds again). Best of all it's drenched in brilliant melodies and thus utterly addictive.

It sounds great in the summer sun and I have a hunch it will sound great in the depths of a snowy winter too - clever that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Album, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howlin (MP3 Download)
I really liked this one. My favourite of 2013.

They've got great lyrics combined with Chemical Brothers / Oasis / Happy Mondays style dance backing.

I saw them at Lattitude and am keen for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howlin (MP3 Download)
These guys were recommended by a friend of mine. Very impressed with this album - great mix of psychedelic indie music (hope that doesn't do them an injustice). Listening from start to finish, it all works very well together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Buy it., 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howlin (MP3 Download)
Your mates will know you are cool when you pop this little beast on the ipod.
Attractive women will want to know who it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars jagwar ma have raised the bar, 31 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howlin (MP3 Download)
If you like the mancunian indy dance scene of the late 80s/early 90s you'll love this. Best album of the millennium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best album in years, 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howlin (MP3 Download)
I bought this album on the back of hearing one track. I'm glad I did, it is the best album released in years! It has a feeling of early nineties Madchester/house whilst still sounding new and fresh. Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OK - album, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howlin (Audio CD)
thought it was OK, not sure what all teh hype was about really. listended to it a couple of times but solid enough, but possibly just not my gerne 9althrought that is ahrd to tie down with this) whcih i suppose is a plus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Summer sounds, 31 Mar. 2014
By 
M. Stevens "Bee" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Howlin [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Reminiscent of Stone Roses and Primal Scream. Nice laid back psychedelic sound. The first three tracks are great. I think this is a great sound for the summer. Good quality double vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Retro/modern gem, 7 July 2013
By 
Mr. T. Dixon "teedee" (cumbria, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howlin (Audio CD)
Not telling you anything other than buy it or your life will be lesser fulfilled if you don't. Sounds like years gone by today - purchase to find out for yourself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Howlin
Howlin by Jagwar Ma (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews