Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars14
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 February 2000
Far too often have Utah Saints been written off for 'cheesy dance tunes with sampled bits', but as their undervalued debut album proved with tracks like 'I Want You' and 'Trance Atlantic Glide' the duo had more to offer than the detractors would suggest. Their fusion of dance, industrial, rock and trance set the blueprint for many of the bands at the turn of the millennium, and listening to this album makes you realise how far ahead they really were. It's not a perfect release, with one or two tracks pandering to the market of the time, when you could tell that given a free run the results would have been slightly more focussed Despite the odd blip, this is a near faultless release, and stands up as well today as it did when released. It seems that Radio 1 et al have decided that a few top ten fits a few years back is enough. Despite heavy rotation of Christine Aguilera's new single (not due for release for a couple of weeks at the time of writing), they haven't started playing the Saints' latest masterpiece, 'Love Song', which is out now. It's only a couple of quid. Go and buy it NOW!
Maff
0Comment25 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2005
These guys kick ass. really.
True, the picture on the inlay shows a couple of 1991 California throwbacks or something, but when they sound this good you shouldn't care.
Their use of samples is out of this world. Personally I couldn't dance to the likes of Kate Bush and Annie Lennox, but with 'What can you do for me?' (especially the melodic mix) I can.
Their tunes blend some fine piano, strings (and even Motorhead)to pull off some brilliant eclectic dance and some great rock/dance cross-overs (the Prodigy were still in their Happy Hardcore phase)
It works all the better now people are looking to earlier dance.
The beauty of it is the sound on a lot of it is still comparable, if not better than the sound of house now.
They set the tone over a decade ago for others to follow, and they still can't keep up.
Put this on at your house party
0Comment15 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
Utah Saints' first album is a bit of a mixed bag. There are highs (What Can You Do For Me, I Want You, States Of Mind) lows (Believe In Me) and some in-betweens (Soulution, Too Much To Swallow). While the in-betweens outnumber the highs, the whole album outshines the lows. If you can overlook the fact that the drum patterns start to sound a little repetitive by the finish, and skip over Believe In Me (which isn't so much bad, as just a little dull), then this is a pretty good album. Opener New Gold Dream, sets the tone somewhat, with its ravey rhythms, chugging synth bass, and half spoken vocals. This is what you get for the next hour or so. That said, there are some real catchy hooks amongst all this. What Can You Do For Me, with its Annie Lennox-sampled warbling is one, as is the Cloudbusting sampling Something Good, and the high octane third single I Want You. The strongest non-single track on the album is States Of Mind, where the Saints inject some further texture into things with worldy sounding flutes and swirling wind effects. It's not all high tempo, either. Soulution and Too Much To Swallow turn down the BPM and provide a nice contrast to the dance oriented rest of the album. There's even a decent remix, giving What Can You Do For Me a bass and piano heavy workout. Altogether, a slightly more than 3 star album. If you like your rave chart-friendly, call it 3 and a half and you'll be happy.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2011
This came out when I was at Uni in Brighton (the Uni, not the then Poly), having just turned 20

About to hit 41 next week (!) I loved every song then, and I love every song today just as much, and not just because it 'sends me back to that happy time' - these tracks are intelligent, hypnotic and great loud loud loud!

My seven year-old daughter has this album on her MP3 player; either she's got taste, the tracks are timeless... or both!

Buy it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 14 March 2008
This is a pretty good and underrated album. If you dont like dancey/house music then stay well clear.

One or two songs are not that great, but the majority of the tracks are superb to listen to blasting out loud in your car.

at high speed ;)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2009
I was happy with this because I had it on cassette when I was a few years younger, this sound has not dated and its very upbeat, very good for in the car on a long tedious journey, very uplifting.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2015
I first heard of UTAH Saints in the 90's and loved their stuff. Came across this album and it jogged my memory... Really pleased I bought it. 😊
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
Owned this on cassette so when i so it advertised on cd i had to have it. Excellent album, the best they ever did to my mind.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2016
bought on the strength of the singles .i think i should have stuck with the singles.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
great album
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.49
£3.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.