Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NO BETTER INTRODUCTION TO NEIL YOUNG
As a first year student back in 1979/80, I was first introduced to Neil Young by a good friend through this compilation of the best of his work from the Buffalo Springfield era of the 1960s to his solo work up to the mid 70s. Because of that introduction, I still would regard this (tripple LP on vinyl as it was then) as my all time favourite N.Y. album. For me this is the...
Published on 30 Dec 2009 by Michael Nicholl

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I like Neil Young but I hate poorly mastered CDs
I purchased this on the strength of it being an introduction of Neil Young's early work and was disappointed on the quality of the recording. I'm aware that a lot of recordings will have been done in a four track studio but when comparing to other artists, such as Jimi Hendrix (from around the same time) the sound quality does no justice to this artist.

Tracks...
Published on 6 May 2012 by T. Mohammed


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NO BETTER INTRODUCTION TO NEIL YOUNG, 30 Dec 2009
By 
Michael Nicholl (Derry. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Decade [VINYL] (Vinyl)
As a first year student back in 1979/80, I was first introduced to Neil Young by a good friend through this compilation of the best of his work from the Buffalo Springfield era of the 1960s to his solo work up to the mid 70s. Because of that introduction, I still would regard this (tripple LP on vinyl as it was then) as my all time favourite N.Y. album. For me this is the starting point. This release includes most of the styles we have now come to associate with N.Y. (Rock, Country and Country Rock). From this point I have gone on to explore his varied output (Some great, some good and some downright terrible) and have remained a fan to this day. I will not bore you with a listing of the great songs contained within this release but I will say that there is not a single bad song anywhere and all the classics from that era are included (Hurricane; Heart of Gold; Harvest; Cortez The Killer; Long may You Run; Cowgirl In The Sand; Down By The River etc. etc. etc.) . I have aquired at least 80% of his releases since the date of Decade being released, but in recent years have started to purchase the late 60s, early 70s recordeing from which this compilation was taken. If you wish to sample the genius of Neil young, I can think of no better starting point than Decade. It is essentially the only N.Y. album you will ever need, but I would suggest that you do not stop there as there are so many great N.Y. albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neil Young Early Career Retrospective, 18 Dec 2008
This review is from: Decade 2 (Audio CD)
"Decade" is a great compilation album, put together by Neil Young of his early career in 1977. It was originally a three album compilation, but this release is on two CDs. The retrospective is mostly chronological; though there are some exceptions, and it does cover all aspects of his career, whether it is with Buffalo Springfield, Solo, with Crazy Horse, or as part of Crosby Stills Nash & Young.

Six of the first seven tracks are from his days in Buffalo Springfield, including songs like "Down to the Wire" also with Dr. John, a live version in the studio of "Mr. Soul", and "Broken Arrow". The other track is "Sugar Mountain" a live track from a solo performance in Ann Arbor days before he released his first solo album. It also includes "The Loner" and "The Old Laughing Lady" from that album. It then moves into my personal favorite period, which is his first album with Crazy Horse and his second solo album "After the Gold Rush". This includes wonderful tracks such as "Cinnamon Girl", "Down by the River", "Cowgirl in the Sand", "I Believe in You", "After the Gold Rush", and "Southern Man", and the first CD closes with the first of two tracks from the "Déjà" Vu album from Crosby Stills, Nash & Young, "Helpless".

The second CD picks up where the first CD leaves off (and where the 4th side of the three album set began) with "Ohio" from Crosby Stills, Nash & Young's "Déjà Vu" album. This is followed by "Soldier" from the soundtrack "Journey through the Past", which is followed by five tracks from Neil's "Harvest" album, including classics like "Old Man", the somewhat unusual selection "A Man Needs A Maid", "Harvest", and "Heart of Gold", and a live recording of "The Needle and the Damage Done", though Neil also mixes in "The Star of Bethlehem" from the "American Stars `N Bars" album before the last one. Next up is two tracks from "Tonight's the Night" starting with the title track, and then including "Tired Eyes". Next are a couple of tracks from the "On the Beach" album, including "Walk On" and "For the Turnstiles".

Neil then makes an unusual choice to include some previously unreleased tracks. These days it has become a common practice, but back then it was unusual. These tracks include "Winterlong" and "Deep Forbidden Lake", and later in the disk "Love is a Rose". He also includes a version of "Like a Hurricane" from a rehearsal sessions for his Northern California Coastal Bar Tour in 1975. The other tracks which finish up this album include "Cortez the Killer" from the "Zuma" album, and two more previously unreleased tracks, the first being "Campaigner" from The Stills-Young Band, and finishing with a version of "Long May You Run" performed by Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young.

Not every track on this album is great, at least not to me, but the collection as a whole is outstanding, because it is more than a collection of hits, and instead is made up of interesting and thoughtful choices by Neil Young. Some of the unreleased tracks are among the best tracks on the album, though I am not particularly fond of "Campaigner", and that makes this collection a treat for fans which already have his other albums. If you like Neil Young, this is a great collection to pick up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start your Neil Young collection here..., 21 May 2009
By 
Comical Engineer "comicaleng" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Decade (Audio CD)
This is a tremendous chronicle of one of the greatest rock / pop / country misicians around. This album goes from the Buffalo Springfield years of "down to the wire" and "burned" through to "Cortez the Killer" and "Like a Hurricane" via "Love is a Rose" and "Deep Forbidden Lake". Young has produced some of the most varied styles of any single musician with the distinctive under-produced raw, edgy sound.

I would recommend listening to this album late at night with no distractions to really get into the music. Try "Cowgirl in the Sand" and "Down by the River" on headphones for the stereo duelling guitars.

Killer track - Like a Hurricane - recorded at a rehersal for a concert. If that was the rehersal, what was the concert like?

For rock fans this album is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb compilation of Neil Young's early work, 13 Aug 2006
By 
Mike J. Wheeler (Kingswinford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Decade (Audio CD)
This was my introduction to neil Young. Previous to this all I had heard was "Like a Hurricane" which I always found fantastic. Not knowing any of his other work I plunged in and bought this. What a fantastic album! Generally I'm not much of a fan of compilations but for this I make an exception. It really is the perfect introduction to Neil Young's early work (1967-77). Standout tracks on the album include of course "Like a Hurricane". But there is so much more to Neil Young than this. His early efforts "Down to the Wire" and "Broken Arrow" performed with Buffalo Springfield are a revelation - true classics. The same goes for later songs like "Cinnamon Girl", "Sugar Mountain", "Needle and the Damage Done" and "Down by the River". This is a must buy for anyone. There's enough here for everybody whatever their musical taste such is the breadth of styles that Neil Young uses. After this I've since bought many more of Young's albums and not been disappointed. This is the perfect place to start. (9/10)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nearly faultless compilation, 11 Nov 2001
This review is from: Decade (Audio CD)
This compilation of Young's work from 1966 to 1976 was hand picked by the man himself, and as such may be expected to reflect his own notoriously wayward tastes. For the most part, though, here Young seems to have concurred with public opinion on what constitute his major works. While there are bound to be omissions ("Ambulance Blues" and "On the Beach" being two of the more disappointing ones, as the album they are taken from is unavailable on CD), it is the exclusive tracks which really make this album worth owning. Songs such as the "On the Beach" outtake "Winterlong," the reflective "Campaigner" (written after Young had seen footage of Richard Nixon caring for his wife after she had suffered a stroke) and the early "Down to the Wire" are as good as anything Young has produced. Add his entertainingly vague handwritten sleevenotes, and you have an exemplary package. Unfortunately, the long promised "Decade II" is now over fifteen years overdue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DECADE is the standard by which other compilations or judged, October 23, 2001, 11 Sep 2012
This review is from: Decade (Audio CD)
DECADE, the ten year retrospective of one of rock's most unusual artists, could have been an unwieldy and rather scattershot effort or compilation because of the artist we are dealing with. Neil Young is one of the most idiosyncratic musicians alive, generally playing folk-rock or heavy guitar rock, but he has been known to dabble in all sorts of musical styles. He has always been one of the most prolific musicians we have, and there are literally several albums that he has completed by canceled at the last minute and instead recorded another. Young's approach to music has always been unpredictable, and he's issued some of rock's best albums, and this is one of them.

For a career as unusual and idiosyncratic as this Young's, DECADE is remarkably conventional. The success of DECADE is it relies on Young's idiosyncracies, and, oddly enough, they come across much more strongly in the conventional notion of a "greatest hits package" than they would have in any other format. DECADE gathers tracks from Young's various recording associates, whether it be Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young, Crazy Horse, Buffalo Springfield, or whoever. Also, Young has chosen what were rare tracks and included them here, revealing even more so his strengths as a musician.

In the end, DECADE becomes one of the most successful rock compilations we have for one of rock's most idiosyncratic artist and the standard by which all other compilations should be judged. It is also the single strongest argument that Young is one of rock's greatest assets, and quite aptly demonstrates why so many different artists from so many fields of music have claimed Young as an influence. The music is vital and energetic, whether he's doing folk-rock ("Harvest"), guitar rock ("Cinnamon Girl"), lush arrangements ("A Man Needs a Maid), protest ("Ohio," and the controversial "Southern Man," which "Sweet Home Alabama" responds too), essential rarities that would be the pride of anyone's catalogue ("Sugar Mountain"), or giving us one of music's best guitar playing sessions ever ("Cortez the Killer"). He also proves himself one of the best commentators on the negative effects that drugs have on all of our lives ("Needle and The Damage Done," "Tonight's the Night," and "Tired Eyes").

In the end, DECADE not only gives us a standard for which compilations should be judged, but also assembles some of our culture's best music from one of our most versatile and unpredictable musicians. Easily an essential rock album from any standpoint one wishes to approach it with, whether it be for personal enjoyment, musical study, critical analysis, or whatever. Get it now. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a journey through time, 26 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Decade (Audio CD)
You can hear Neil Young evolving over the course of these 2 CDs, yet his core remains the same, pure and incredibly uncynical. Decade's only fault is that it's not an album - and for that reason real fans and obsessives may skip it, preferring to own all the imperfect yet exquisite musings that string together these anthems on Neil's lesser known albums. Yet I've listened to this collection so many times that it has developed the continuity of a whole work to my ear - it also provided a gateway to his otherwise intimidatingly vast back catologue. I would classify this under the rock 'n' roll Neil - if you're looking for the country Neil I would say try Comes a Time (my favorite) or Harvest. Though Decade has all the songs you may have heard on the radio, others may take you longer to crack their code, but they're worth it. I think of Turnstiles or Expecting to Fly, etc. etc.... Some may sound dated, but somehow I don't mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential number one album, 21 Oct 2003
By 
brian ingram (london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Decade (Audio CD)
this is it... the one for the desert island (but which CD 1 or 2?). You can play it over and over and get more out of it. Classic NY within all the heartstrings going, helpless etc etc. Listen to this one first before buying others.
Of course the later heavier stuff is good /wonderful but Decade is definitive stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first ten years... but where's the next twenty?, 12 Mar 2004
This review is from: Decade (Audio CD)
This album (an excellent overview of Neil Young's recordings from 1967 to 1977) along with "Lucky Thirteen" (a compilation of his not so illustrious work from 1983 to 1988) represent the only attempts, to date, to summarise this frustratingly mercurial artist's career.
Three things distinguish Neil Young's prodigious recorded output: extraordinary variety; incredible inconsistency and, most interestingly, an enormous number of truly excellent tracks that most of the record buying public have never heard. Die-hard fans put up with this and, as a result, reap the rewards of finding the brilliant nuggets that are dotted about his recordings... the casually interested are left with a bewildering array of albums to choose from, many of which will seriously disappoint. While this odd, often brave, inherently erratic and probably deliberate approach has elevated Neil Young to cult status, his albums regularly verge on the self-indulgent - a trait that bodes badly for the much vaunted, long awaited and self-selected "magnus opus" (10 CD ?) overview of his career.
But... amongst all the wild diversions and mediocrity, this man has produced one of the most interesting and powerful set of recordings of any artist over the past 30 years and, for those who have neither the will, patience or money, to wade through vast numbers of albums in search of these tracks, what is desperately needed is an objective, third party compilation of them. In the meantime, this is the best on offer - an interesting and representative selection of the best recordings from his most creative period
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quality album, 12 May 2007
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Decade (Audio CD)
Neil Young- The Decade is my first sample of his music. I am really impressed by the results whilst listening to the tracks featured in the album. The tracks are tuneful, soothing and are pleasure to listen to. Neil Young's music is of the highest quality that clearly is demonstrated by the nature of the songs. The music featured in the album truly reflects his legendary status in the swinging 60's to the hippy decade of the 70's. What a musician and talent Neil Young really is, to emerge from his native Canada. I liked every track featured in this wonderfully crafted two disc set album. It deserves the highest for delivering quality music that you can connect easily to. Music is a tool to express your emotions and feelings towards life, which is nicely and brilliantly achieved in the album with catchy and well written tracks. If you are passionate about music in the pinnacle decade of the late 60's to the mid 70's, add this album in your collection. Musical icon Neil Young is a must for a good and varied music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Decade
Decade by Neil Young
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews