Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure class
her voice is enough to give it a five, the lyrics and music are a plus.
this album is truly brilliant, all round brilliance, the best songs being:hand in my pocket, you learn and ironic.
buy this!
i picked it up for a quid at a jumble sale and didnt really to be honet think id even like it.... but now i play it all the time, its amazing!
Published on 20 Jun 2004 by S. Ardern

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Old school
About one of the only albums from Alanis that i like! not a bad buy! took me back a few years!
Published 3 months ago by laura ann morris


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Aug 2014
This review is from: Jagged Little Pill (Audio CD)
Amazing artist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angry music to psych you up, 15 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Jagged Little Pill (Audio CD)
I am in love with this album! My favourite song is You oughta know, then it's You learn. The songs are angry and agressive and sound best when played ear-burstingly loud! I only just got this album...I've been planning to for years but always got something else. Now I realise that was a mistake, this album is what my anguished-teen-life was missing. I am 15 going on...whatever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars face against the crowd, 12 Feb 2014
By 
Alan C (Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jagged Little Pill (Audio CD)
Just been reading some of these reviews - did this CD really sell over 30 million copies? Why? And don't some people get fractious and bitter when someone else criticises it? Sorry but I just don't get it. Thirteen screeching tracks all sub-titled "why I hate men" - I presume she screeches and shouts so much so's to hide the fact that she can't sing - spent 50p on this CD at a charity shop and still feel ripped-off..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jagged little pill, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jagged Little Pill (Audio CD)
Fabulous copy - no scratches. Well worth the money. Glad I decided to purchase it second hand. Would purchase off the buyer agaîn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap but not so cheerful :-), 10 Mar 2010
This review is from: Jagged Little Pill (Audio CD)
What a great buy - thought it must be in quite bad condition it was so cheap but it's perfect - my 15 year old daughter is well chuffed. Thank you!
A fabulous album - one Alanis couldn't beat I'm afraid to say. Full of anger and bitterness with a touch of the softer side on occasion. Great one to belt out whilst hoovering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quick Reviews!, 15 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Jagged Little Pill (Audio CD)
The album that kick started a million girl with guitar imitators, faux-feminist artists, and brutally honest young things turned out to be one of the biggest selling and best albums of the decade. Alanis had been making music for quite some time, but it wasn't until she met Glen Ballard and was messing in the studio with this, pouring all her angst, guilt, anger, pain and love out in a unique and frank manner that people began to notice. A few notable big names heard what she was doing, liked it, and helped out in turn creating a word of mouth which would help to create a monster. In truth all the guest musicians have little or no impact here, it is all about Alanis; her words, her music, her feelings her life. We got a fascinating insight into this woman, just an ordinary person who was going through the same trials as the rest of us, except she was belting out these experiences with her heart on her sleeve and her hand in her pocket. Alanis has produced some great stuff since, but nothing has ever come close to the coherence and quality of this album. It had been a while since the pop world had any intelligent, strong music from a woman- the 80s and early nineties were full of pretty throwaway pop mistresses or big breasted nobodies, and sadly it has since gone the same way. For a while though a generation was given a new voice; relive those days with this timeless classic.

`All I Really Want' opens the album to the strains of a harmonica and some commercial grunge style chords. It introduces so Alanis' powerful, broken vocals, ear for a catchy melody, and cynical lyrics. She sings of her frustration of love, of independence, and sets the tone for the rest of the album. She doesn't hold back but makes sure everything is tuneful enough and human enough that we can both hum along and empathize.

`You Oughta Know' is an all together much darker and angrier song, full of spite, honesty, and the release of freedom. Pop audiences were shocked by such harsh words coming from a nice little Canadian girl, opening the gates for a flood of imitators. Those of us who could understand caught on immediately, and it didn't take long for others to start singing along and buying. Flea and Navarro add drums and guitar and give the song much desired alternative credentials. This still stands as one of the defining songs of the nineties, along with a couple of others on the album.

`Perfect' at first glance is much more soft and soothing until we hear the cynical lyrics of pushy parents, failure etc building to an over the top, wailing crescendo of brilliance. Alanis shifts easily from gentle vocals to all out screams, both ends of the spectrum are spine tingling and the lyrics are often brilliant.

`Hand In My Pocket' is another iconic 90s song with a familiar intro and chorus. Alanis' lyrics are inventive juxtapositions, singing of defiance and independence, self mockery and hope, and the music is endlessly catchy. Again the guitars mix well with harmonica and her voice shines through- just edgy enough to satisfy the alternatives and cynics, just commercial enough to please millions.

`Right Through You' begins quite softly, gradually getting heavier and again showcasing Alanis' anger for those who have wronged her. She may have been on the end of a lot of pain and laughter throughout various relationships but here she tells those that need to know that she has come out on top. This is a lesser known track on the album, but just as good as everything else.

`Forgiven' is a tirade against organized religion, in this Catholicism and all the guilt and self hatred that can come from having forced upon you. Alanis sings of growing up surrounded by strict measures and a blind necessity to cling to something. The music is fairly heavy to mirror the lyrics and the anger behind them. This, along with Head Over Feet is probably my favourite song on the album.

`You Learn' was another hit for Alanis, a song portraying her new-age views on life following several traumatic events prior to the album. Self-deprecating yet self freeing she is admitting to us and herself that even good comes from bad and that each experience is all part of the craziness of life. The music has more of a dance beat than the rest of album and the chorus is fairly anthemic. This and MJ are my least favourite songs here, they are notably softer and I think lack the melody of others.

`Head Over Feet' is my favourite song on the album- perfect pop, eternally catchy with nice lyrics, and a break from the anger. It is well structured, the harmonica makes another appearance and again manages to not be annoying. Most people think of Ironic when they speak of this album, but this is the one I will always come back to.

`Mary Jane' is my least favourite song, not because I think it's a bad song, I don't find the melodies as engaging or the song as memorable as others. Alanis sings well as always, the music is quite light, and the lyrics are ok. It is a bit overlong for a song with quite a simple melody and I would usually skip it, but I'm sure it is someone's favourite.

`Ironic' was the big hit which turned Alanis into a superstar, leading millions to sing along, and the odd unfortunate intellectual to moan about appropriate use of the title word. It is basically a commercial grunge song following the quiet verse, loud chorus format, but works because it is performed with great passion, has smart lyrics no matter which way you look at it, and has one of the most memorable choruses of the decade.

`Not The Doctor' is another track which people ten to forget about, a catchy and clever song where Alanis bemoans clingy partners. Again it follows the soft-heavy-soft format, the lyrics are more interesting than the music but the succession of chords fit the words fine.

`Wake Up' closes the album (except those with the extra tracks), a well produced song which not many speak of. The riffs and style in which Alanis sings lend a dark tone before the brilliant bridge and chorus, making it one of my favourites. The extended ending is also excellent and can be read as a message to the listener to Wake Up and question everything, drop passive behaviour, be independent, and think for themselves.

`Your House' is a powerful acapella song where Alanis sings of betrayal and discovering that she is being cheated on. There is irony and guilt as she blames herself showing one of the many dark sides of love, her voice is very strong and she sings with a raw honesty and powerful emotion.

Most people who grew up or were a teen in the nineties will probably own this album- in fact most people who existed in the nineties probably have it going by the sales. With so many great songs this is understandable and for those who don't have it or know it, it is an important cultural slice of the decade. Before all the cheap manufactured rubbish of girl power (which seemed to equate to the power of wearing no clothes) this was a shining light for intelligent music regardless of gender. Even if you end up hating it, this is still essential listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jagged Little Pill (U.S. Version) (MP3 Download)
great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the best, 12 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Jagged Little Pill (Audio CD)
Alanis Morissette is a brilliant artist, although Jagged Little Pill has to be her best album to date. With songs such as "Mary Jane" and the famous "Ironic", it's a real sing-along CD which never gets old! A Must-Buy for all music lovers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 9 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jagged Little Pill (Audio CD)
fab album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jagged Little Pill [VINYL] (Vinyl)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jagged Little Pill (U.S. Version)
Buy MP3 Album£3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews