Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this or have no taste
I recently bought this along with three other Rancid albums. When I got home, I put three of them in my stereo. When I pressed the 'random' button, this was the first one that played.
It was only seconds before I realised it was good, but then...
1 minute and 1 second into the first song (a couple of seconds into the frankly unbelievable bass solo) was when I...
Published on 7 Dec. 2002 by Mr J W Mitchell

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ska-punk fest
Rancid have done more mainstream punk in their self-titled album - which is brilliant. I was expecting more of the same with this, but didn't get it.

There's more of a ska/reggae influence here and it makes for a very different feel to the album. Having said that, I've given it 3 stars only because it wasn't what I was looking for. For what it is, it is done...
Published on 19 Jun. 2006 by Some Bloke


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the truly anthemic albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
arrived just as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How "Combat Rock" should have sounded!, 15 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
This is the second most important punk album ever recorded. It mixes punk and ska in the way that the best British punk bands did in the late seventies.
Every track on this album is brilliant - there is not a single filler.
After "The Clash", this should proudly sit in your punk record collection.
On this album Rancid show how to progress from a raw punk sound to something more sophisticated. A progression that The Clash never seemed to master.
After the intense "Maxwell Murder", we move into the brilliant ska-influenced "11th Hour" and then change styles on every subsequent classic track. Right through to the final rocking punk track "As Wicked".
If you only buy one album this year then make sure it is this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'm Listed MIA !, 24 Dec. 2003
One of, if not Rancid's most famous albums and by no means thier worst.
A good album and the best songs are:
Time Bomb,
Listed M.I.A ,
Ruby Soho,
Olympia WA,
and my personal favourite(on this album); Maxwell Murder, because it has the best bass solo in any song I've ever heard.
The album is only let down by Tim Armstrong's singing, which is too course for my liking, and a little too raspy (because Tim has a lisp.)
Overall though, the level of songwriting is great, and the melodies are very good and uplifting. You are left with a nice punk album. Thanks Rancid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great CD and price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mind-blowing old skool punk, 13 July 2001
By A Customer
as a skater who has a certain soft spot for old skool punk and some ska i was introduced to rancid by a friend who insisted i give up my metal ways,i have to say that i was thoroughly impressed.i was thinking about the greatest bassist in history and having memorised every track on out come the wolves such as maxwell murder and olympia w.a i can quite possibly say taht matt freeman is easily worthy of that crown,with tim armstrong hitting out punchy lyrics and lars frederiksen backing with some awesome guitar and lyrical work,this band are most certainly the greatest punk band of all time...bravo guys...i will see u at reading 2001
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Out Come The Wolves (Audio CD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Catchy and Ska-like, 5 Oct. 1999
By A Customer
This is punk for a wider audience it's very catchy and is veryska-influeced album. The songs are very memorable and the two best songs on the album are 'Ruby Soho' which if any thing will get you on the dance floor moving and shaking and of course singing the words to full volume. The other good song is 'Roots Radical' This album offers 19 songs which are jam packed with very catchy rifts and yet they have bursts of energy that almost verge on hard-core punk but yet accessible to a bigger audience. These boys look the part and play the part very well the only problem with punk bands is that everything is so repetitive and they stick to the very basics. Someone needs to break out and experiment a little, they just need to go somewhere and take punk to a new level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Done Rancid!!, 10 July 2001
I remember a freind once told me that there was no such thing as a good punk album, ha, this is the very material that will prove him wrong.This album is truly brilliant, the British Quartet are probably the best band to come out of Britian for a very long time. The songs can only be described as pure British punk, with the hoarse voices of Tim Armstrong, and the bassist Matt Freeman exploding onto your stereo with immensly catchy couruses, energy filled guitar solos and more Oi's than you can shake a stick at. Such songs a roots radicals, time bomb, shes automatic, the way i feel and the brilliant punk anthem Ruby Soho are just a few of the songs that make you want to jump around wildly in classic punk fashion. Although this band have rather unfairly been branded as clash rip offs there material is brilliant and will make any ageing punk proud.This album will have you singing along in no time and its great to see that in a day of 'Imitation' skate punk, that a band can still prouduce original quaility punk music, well done Rancid!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews