Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money well spent...
While there are more than enough individual tracks dotted around his huge number of recordings to justify Neil Young’s major reputation there are only a few albums that, on their own, hold together as satisfyingly complete “works”. And… in the (self imposed) absence of any sensible retrospectives since 1977’s “Decade” (definitely...
Published on 8 Jan 2004 by nicjaytee

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow and easy
Neil Young's unpredictability involves being fierce or bizarre one moment and mellow the next. 'Harvest Moon' is largely the latter, loping and lilting its way through love and nostalgia through all but three of the songs featured here. Its strongest feature is the ambience, unusual for a 1990s recording. The lingering echo of voice and guitar on 'Unknown Legend' sets up...
Published on 21 Aug 2006 by D. J. H. Thorn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money well spent..., 8 Jan 2004
This review is from: Harvest Moon (Audio CD)
While there are more than enough individual tracks dotted around his huge number of recordings to justify Neil Young’s major reputation there are only a few albums that, on their own, hold together as satisfyingly complete “works”. And… in the (self imposed) absence of any sensible retrospectives since 1977’s “Decade” (definitely the best place to start for any “casual buyer”) those not “in the know” could be in for some seriously expensive mistakes. So, what’s been worth the money since then? Well…for anyone looking for the mellower side of this brilliantly mercurial but annoyingly erratic artist here’s a few suggestions: “Comes a Time” (1978), “Freedom” (1989), “Harvest Moon” (1992) and “Unplugged” (1995).
“Harvest Moon”, a straight reference back to his massively popular “Harvest” which he immediately chose to move a long way away from at the time (preferring, in his own words, to head for the ditch rather than the “middle of the road”) is, amongst his peers, the rarest of things – a follow-up album not only 20 years too late but arguably better than its career-building predecessor. Over the top?... well the debate could continue for hours but, with such wonderfully laid back tracks as “Unknown Legend”, “From Hank to Hendrix” & “One of these Days”, the rolling country-rock of “Old King”, the quite beautiful “Harvest Moon” (brilliantly re-worked by Cassandra Wilson on “New Moon Daughter”) and the deeply reflective “You and Me” it’s a close call indeed. Mellow music at its best and an album that leaves you feeling… happy. Money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A rediscovered gem, 30 July 2004
By 
Anthony Peckham "meantime_tony" (Leatherhead, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harvest Moon (Audio CD)
Being a huge NY fan, I've had this album tucked away in my collection for a while. There are probably albums that I would reach for before this one, however, one dark night I decided to give it a spin.
This album has definately matured, and maybe in my haste before, I missed the absolute acoustic gem 'You and me'. The lyrics are emotional, the guitar playing that of an acoustic genius. If you're an folky NY fan, this album is worth this track alone. 'Such a woman' and the live track 'Natural Beauty' are also crackers. In my eyes, Neil Young is king, and this album sets him on the way to his corination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shimmering acoustic ambience, 19 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Harvest Moon (Audio CD)
Out of all the Neil Young albums I've heard, THIS is the one. It's a beautiful, atmospheric album of the likes I've never heard of before or since. The reverb makes it a very 'night' record and every song is brilliant, apart from maybe 'Old King' which spoils the mood a little. 'Natural Beauty' is phenomenal and the album as a whole is the perfect record for atmospheric summer nights or cold winter days. Miles better than Harvest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An aural treat, 1 Dec 2006
By 
Edward Hough (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harvest Moon (Audio CD)
This is an excellent CD, and you don't have to be a 'Neil Young Fan' (whatever that means!) to enjoy it. The opener, Unknown Legend, is an excellent introduction to the laid back quality of the album, which continues without a real duff track right the way to the end. Even Natural Beauty, clocking in at an impressive 10+ minutes, holds my attention right until it merges into the rainforest noises at the very end. Songs like One of These Days and Such a Woman are almost ethereal, they somehow sound timeless, hints of a Nashville sound coming and going here and there. If you have been put off Neil Young by impressions of an angry guitar weilding man playing long guitar solos, well, rest assured, THAT Neil Young does not make an appearance here.

I don't find myself thinking about the original Harvest album when I listen to this- I think this stands on its own as a great CD. Sure, there are echoes of the original, but owning the Harvest album is not a per-requesite to enjoying this. James Taylor and Linda Rondstadt supply some backing vox, along with longtime collaborator Nicolette Larson.

I am also very impressed by the photos in the CD booklet of the moon. They are an excellent added bonus to this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very relaxing album, 25 July 2011
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harvest Moon (Audio CD)
This is a very mellow album in which the tempo only picks up on Old king, a track that features a banjo. Even there, the banjo is somewhat restrained. This album therefore won't get your toes tapping but it has a different kind of appeal.

Among the mellow songs, I particularly enjoy the opening Unknown legend (about a woman motorbike rider), the following From Hank to Hendrix (which is actually about a relationship, with music providing the metaphors), One of these days (hinting at Neil's musical influences) and the romantic title track. Neil mostly avoids politics in this album although in War of man, he sings about a theme that he has explored more on other albums, but here he contents himself with pointing out that there are no winners.

With background singers that include Linda Ronstadt, Nicolette Larson and James Taylor, this is a fine album in its way. Neil Young's fans are many and diverse, and like his music for a variety of different reasons. If you enjoy hearing him sing mellow folk-rock music as I do, you are likely to love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can we get it together, can we still stand side by side, 13 Feb 2010
By 
A. Willard (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harvest Moon (Audio CD)
After the excesses of `Ragged Glory' and `Weld' he (and we) probably needed a bit of a break. (That word `excesses' is not used critically, by the way, I love them both).

This either is, or isn't, a follow-up to the 20 odd years before `Harvest' - it isn't if you listen to Neil Young, it is if you listen to anyone else. There's no guitar histrionics on here; just some quiet, gentle (some would say hokey) tunes played with some old friends (the great Ben Keith for one), and some backing vocals from the likes of James Taylor and Linda Rondstadt.

I struggle to listen to the album as a whole (it's a bit too laid back taken all at once), but when the odd tune pops up on my I-pod it nearly always brings a sigh, a smile and an urge to put on a dirty old check shirt.

Best songs: `Unknown Legend', `From Hank to Hendrix', `Harvest Moon', `Dreamin' Man' and, best of all, `Natural Beauty'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Natural Beauty., 9 Jan 2009
By 
Flickering Ember "I need a break and I wanna ... (Once Upon A Long Ago.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harvest Moon (Audio CD)
Although the title track is by far my favourite on this release, every track is brilliant. This album is full of calm and tranquility, easy to listen to and to let the day fade away with. One of Neil Young's finest releases and an essential for any fan of his.

It's also less morose and melancholy than some of Young's other songs, or hard hitting (think of Don't Let It Bring You Down and you'll see what I mean).

The steel guitars and the general dreaminess of the vocal delivery makes it easy to imagine lying in a garden after a barbeque, under the stars on a summer evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 30 Jan 2004
By 
N A. Driver "supitero" (Blighty) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Harvest Moon (Audio CD)
Well I'm not sure what Mr Parkes (see other reviews) has against this album, it wasn't meant to be a sequel to anything, and stands up beautifully on it's own. It is somewhat different to the noisy but brilliant 'Ragged glory' but that's the nice thing about Mr Young he doesn't allow you to get bored, he likes to change the tempo. I would recommend this album to anyone, most of the people I know who are not into all of Neil Young's stuff love this album, and when they have bought maybe a few of his albums this seems to always be there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 13 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Harvest Moon (Audio CD)
This is an absolutely beautiful album. It's tranquil and peaceful in a way that other Neil Young albums are not.
Even Harvest and Silver & Gold are raucous in comparison. On the Unplugged album manages to capture anything like the warm glow of these recordings.
The best tracks are 'You And Me' and 'Natural Beauty'.
A lovely album, perfect for relaxing to. Which is a strange thing for Neil Young.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harvest Moon c.d. by Neil Young, 10 April 2011
This review is from: Harvest Moon (Audio CD)
Even though this c.d. is a few years old, it still holds the listeners attention. Very relaxing and melodius, worth a few pounds of any ones money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9655330)

This product

Harvest Moon
Harvest Moon by Neil Young
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews