Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A haunting, weeping, rocking epic!
Neil has trodden a maverick path over his 35 odd years, but this one could probably go under the 'typical Neil' banner as well as any. That's because alongside the epic, sinister guitar work-outs of Cortez The Killer, there are delicately beautiful ballads such as Pardon My Heart and the sublime Through My sails. Yet he also finds time to throw in some great pop tunes...
Published on 21 July 2000 by Joe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars hmm
Always highlighted as one of his best - but a mixed bag for me. Great tracks like; Cortez and Barstool Blues are let down by doh rock ballads such as Through My Sails
Published 7 months ago by Scott Fraser


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A haunting, weeping, rocking epic!, 21 July 2000
By 
Joe (Portsmouth) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Zuma (Audio CD)
Neil has trodden a maverick path over his 35 odd years, but this one could probably go under the 'typical Neil' banner as well as any. That's because alongside the epic, sinister guitar work-outs of Cortez The Killer, there are delicately beautiful ballads such as Pardon My Heart and the sublime Through My sails. Yet he also finds time to throw in some great pop tunes like Looking For A Love or Barstool Blues. Despite the range of styles, it all remains inimitably Neil Young and the quality of the songwriting is almost unparalleled. For people who love fantastic guitar music and brilliant, simple songs this record is a essential addition to their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just great rock music, 11 Aug 2000
By 
John Peter O'connor - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zuma (Audio CD)
Released in 1975, not that long after the classic Harvest, this album shares the same downbeat mood though this time, the backing band were Crazy Horse and not the Stray 'Gators. Thus, the musical style is more rock than country.
This is a great album with no weak tracks at all. Dangerbird is my favourite here. What a terrific song. It is one of Neil Young's best ever efforts. More than that, it is one of the best rock ballads ever with some superb guitar and bass licks.
Barstool Blues is another great song, Neil's singing at its best and the classic Crazy Horse guitar sound is here at its finest.
Cortez the Killer is perhaps the best known track on this album and it too is a knockout song. Where Dangerbird was surreal and Barstool Blues dealt with modern day angst, this song refers back to the brutality of the Conquistadors.
Along with Harverst, this CD stands out as the top of Neil Young's early years and it is essential part of any collection of his work. If you particularly like this album then you will surely be interested in some of his later work with Crazy Horse such as Ragged Glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quintessential Neil Young..., 24 July 2007
This review is from: Zuma (Audio CD)
Heralded on its release in 1975 as a long awaited "return to form" by those yearning for another "Harvest", "Zuma" is a much richer and wilder album which, on the way, showcases Neil Young's music in all its mercurial, often brilliant but rambling glory. Veering from the heavy metal grunge of "Drive Back", through the searingly powerful, wonderfully controlled guitar-work on "Cortez the Killer", the bizarrely addled incantations of "Barstool Blues", the foot-tapping country of "Lookin' for a Love", to the perfect MOR harmonies of "Through My Sails", it exemplifies what's made him so good but so frustratingly difficult to follow. And, up there with any of his better recordings, it's not only essential for any Neil Young fan but an excellent "next step" for anyone wanting to explore beyond "After The Goldrush", "Harvest" or his "Greatest Hits" albums.

Four stars then? Well yes, but not enough, because in here is a hidden gem... an outstanding, perfectly formed track that sums up what makes Neil Young worth the effort. Rarely played and missing from virtually all of the "Best of" lists of his songs it is, for me at least, one of the most quietly beautiful, ecstatically reflective and unforgettable pieces of acoustic music ever made. "Pardon My Heart"... worth the price of the album on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stands the test of time., 25 Aug 2007
By 
Alan Calderwood "calderwa" (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zuma (Audio CD)
I bought this album when it came out, on vinyl. Neil Young had been only partly known to me - i tended to think "acoustic" and "folky", which were not the kind of words i was into at that age. John Peel said that "nothing before had prepared him for the magnificence of Zuma" or words to that effect. As a keen JP listener and admirer, i thought I'd give it a go. Fabulous! It was as rock-y and discordant in places as you could wish. The guitaring was a revelation. Great songs, love-it-or-hate-it voice/singing - which i did love. The acoustic numbers and gentler tracks were great songs too, and perfect to sing when you were having a drink with your mates. "I've been looking for a lover, but I haven't met her yet - she'll be nothing like i picture her to be." My pals all bought it too. And i haven't even mentioned "Cortez the Killer". I have listened to this track maybe 100 times. It still feels like it ends too soon and I want it to go on longer. I love the way the lyrics shift from historical/abstract to personal/love. It is quite simply a classic - yeah, I know they say that about "Stairway to Heaven", too - but this is the real deal. For me, at least. I still listen to this, after 30 years. There are only a handful of such albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great rock 'n' roll..., 24 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Zuma (Audio CD)
Zuma is seldom mentioned as one of Neil Young's best, somewhat overshadowed by the likes of On The Beach and Tonight's The Night. Released in 1975, it kicks off with Don't Cry No Tears is a groove that Young and Crazy Horse made their own in the mid-seventies, and it lurches agreeably along in a vaguely countryish fashion. Danger Bird is a slower, more ponderous track featuring some superb guitar soloing in the mid section. It's a bit like a dry run for Cortez the Killer. Pardon My Heart is for those lovers of acoustic Neil and is a fine example of this, Neil sings it in a restrained fashion, almost apologetic over an intricate acoustic guitar pattern.

Looking for a Love is a kind of poppy country song, and Barstool Blues is pleasingly messy, at one point Young can barely be bothered to sing properly and totally drops the melody for the line: `I might live a thousand years before I know what that muuuuhns (means)'. The aforementioned Cortez the Killer is the centrepiece of this album and it enters on some slow but seriously good guitar which lasts for the first 3 and a half minutes of this song before the vocals enter. This was a serious influence on Mark Kozelek, amongst others. The album ends with Through My Sails, recorded with Crosby, Stills and Nash which is a pleasant acoustic song with congas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pardon my Heart, 9 Dec 2009
By 
A. Willard (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zuma (Audio CD)
I think this was the first Neil Young album I ever bought. What a journey it's been with the old rascal. I saw Crazy Horse when they toured this (75? 76?), I think it was at the Hammersmith Odeon and they were blinkin' great. I've seen him a few times since then - last time at Hyde Park in June 2009 and, by God, he was still blinkin' great. Bless him.

This album has `Dangerbird', `Barstool Blues', `Lookin' for a Love', `Cortez the Killer', and, a song that's helped me through some rough times, `Pardon my Heart'.

Five stars aren't enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is this perfection?, 20 July 2006
By 
Mr. S. J. Brodie (Glasgow, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Zuma (Audio CD)
This masterpiece is stacked next to my Pearl Jam and NIN nails CD's like bread and butter. Emotional, edgy, dark and melodic are a few words that best describe Zuma. An acquired taste which gets under your skin - i've found after listening to this CD that it gets better with every fix. You got some up-tempo stomp along numbers like the two singles, "Don't Cry No Tears" and "Lookin' For A Love" and deep melancholy on the bluesy "Danger Bird" and the effortlessly cool "Cortez The Killer" I'm 19, which leaves me with little scope on classic rock but i know one thing. Neil Young and Crazy Horse are the only ones i care about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barstool Blues, 14 July 2009
By 
Fletch-a-sketch "Fletch" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zuma (Audio CD)
A laid back crazy horse album from the ecclectic writing of the godfather of grunge Neil Young.
'Cortez' is the centerpiece guitar wig out but the album has so much more, through my sails with Crosby and Nash from some other band, and Danger bird being further stand out tracks. Has there ever been a bad Neil Young album ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars because sound matters, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zuma (Audio CD)
there is no arguing that this is a great neil young album so i am sticking to reviewing how the cd actualy sounds. Unlike certain other young cd's this one is NOT remastered and therefore does not sound as good as it could sound. In Neil's own words sound matters; why not release this recording with the superb sound quality the other NYAors-cd's have?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars hmm, 11 Feb 2014
By 
Scott Fraser (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Zuma (Audio CD)
Always highlighted as one of his best - but a mixed bag for me. Great tracks like; Cortez and Barstool Blues are let down by doh rock ballads such as Through My Sails
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zuma
Zuma by Neil Young
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews