Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album now made even better, 15 July 2007
The Levellers have always been unfairly neglected and underated by the music media. Largely this is due to the fact that, for all of their feigned liberal trendiness,the music press like artists that fall within certain parameters and the Levellers, with their 'crusty', anarcho-punk connotations were always viewed with sniffy suspicion. However the Levs made it big despite this and a major reason why is the high quality of 'Levelling the Land', their second album. Its an excellent album from start to finish, with no real weak tracks on it. Simon Friend had just joined the group, btinging with him some excellent protest songs; 'Sell Out', 'Another Man's Cause' and 'Battle of the Beanfield'. The album also contains the classic 'One Way' as well as great melodic footappers such as 'Far From Home' and 'The Road'.
This is without doubt their best album and with this new version you get bonus tracks from the 'Fifteen Years' EP and other singles,as well as a live CD. Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surely you own this record? Everyone needs a copy!, 16 July 2007
By 
It's difficult to review a record that is generally hailed as a cult classic. It's essentially an album that deserves a place in the rankings of best records ever released. So if you don't own a copy, now's the time to buy, and if you do own a copy, now's the time to buy a new remastered version complete with the Levs' fantastic Glastonbury performance on a bonus disc!

In the unlikely event that you don't know what to expect from this album, the Levellers circa Levelling the Land were an ideological young band who combined the classic folk-protest-song genre with an edge of 1970s punk rock. Mixing the catchy, pleasent on the ear qualities of British folk music with the gloomy social commentary of punk rock, the Levellers present you with a coherent world view in which the alternative to inner-city poverty and lying politicians is to hit the road with your guitar and some beers and rediscover Britain's history and traditions.

This album shows the Levellers at their most versatile, switching effortlessly between pure '70s style punk (Liberty Song, Battle of the Beanfield), indie (One Way), traditional folk (the Boatman, Far From Home) and various combinations of the above.

Let's be honest, you probably own this already don't you? If not - buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of all time!, 29 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. S. C. Burge "deleted_dvds" (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I was young and impressionable at the age of just 15, a friend of mine persuaded me to listen to a folk-rock band called 'The Levellers'. Having never heard of the band, I listened with half-interest having had recommendations before. What I heard blew me away. I have never felt so moved by one album. The pure passion, catchiness and uniqueness of this folky-crusty punk outfit was just amazing. Now, 15 years on I'm married with 2 kids, but STILL listen to this album. having seen 'The Levellers' numerous times all over the UK, they are without doubt one of the finest live bands. They may have lost their way in the last few years (although 'Letters From The Underground' does sound promising), however this second album stands out as their finest performance to date.
If you haven't heard this particular album, or if you haven't heard of 'The Levellers', then sit back and prepared to be amazed. You will not be disappointed. This is as good as it will ever get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top buy, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Levelling The Land (Remastered) (MP3 Download)
one of the best albums of the 90s 10/10.this is the second time I've bought this album still love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Levellers, excellently remastered and greatly expanded; a must-have for fans old and new, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This reissue of Levelling The Land has been excellently remastered and considerably expanded, with extra studio tracks and the set played at Glastonbury in 1992. It's a top-quality, top-class version of what is perhaps The Levellers on the very top of their game and I wholeheartedly recommend it to fans old and new.

My vinyl version of Levelling The Land, bought when it first came out, has seen better days and rather than endure the cracks and pops of a much loved record any more, I bought this CD to replace it. Not only did I get all the tracks on the vinyl version, I got a number of extra studio tracks and an excellent live set too. In addition to the tracks labelled as 'extra' on the first disc, the track 'Fifteen Years' is also included (it wasn't on my vinyl version). And the original album is classic Levellers; railing against the injustices of society, highlighting the lives of the downtrodden and - some of my absolute favourites - celebrating not just an alternative lifestyle but life in general. Angry and uplifting in turn, it is The Levellers at the very peak of their powers. The remastering process has been done very well, subtly enhancing what was good to start with; a little like taking a gold ring to the jewellers to get it polished, it hasn't been changed but it now shines still more brightly.

As is the set from Glastonbury 1992 on the second CD, which will appeal not just to anyone that's seen them live but also many that haven't. Give the CD a spin, close your eyes, listen and imagine you're there; it isn't difficult. Listen too for the slight change to the lyrics of The Boatman and the ending of Liberty Song.

The presentation of the CD is extremely good too, taking all that was familiar from the vinyl version and adding to it with some press cuttings that reveal just how unfashionable a band they once were and a booklet that relates the reaction of one of the band members to a bad review in the NME.

If you're a Levellers fan and don't own this already, you really should. I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Takes me back, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Levelling The Land (Remastered) (MP3 Download)
This is the music I grew up with, The Levellers are probably responsible for forming most of my political views. Great Folk Rock that sounds as good today as it did then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still sounds as good, 5 Oct 2013
This review is from: Levelling The Land (Remastered) (MP3 Download)
Suddenly remembered this album from my uni days and was glad to hear it still sounded as good as I remember, not always the case when you haven't heard an album for ages. A classic album that the likes of Frank Turner etc have probably taken some influence from. If you are into the current wave of folk/Irish sounding artists you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Levelling The Land (Remastered) (MP3 Download)
This digitally remastered CD is even better than the original with extra tracks including their roof raising rendition of 'The Devil Went Down to Georgia'. Its worth reinvesting in this remastered version purely for these extra tracks. Long live The Levellers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Levelling The Land (Remastered) (MP3 Download)
Great, great songs from start to end !! I grew up with the Levellers but hadnt heard for a while. When listened to this album I was dancing to every tune with chills down my spine. Brilliant a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Levelling The Land (Remastered) (MP3 Download)
One of my favourite albums of all time, the remastered version adds a few extra classic tracks and sounds better than ever! Finally The Devil Went Down In Georgia able to own in MP3 version!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews