Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Classic!, 8 July 2006
By 
Nik (Hull, East Riding Of Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Low-Life (Audio CD)
Low-Life was where I got onboard and 21 years later I'm still a fan! From the booming drum intro this album captures New Order at the top of their game.Love Vigilantes' story of war and religion now reminds you the more things change, the more they stay the same! The Perfect Kiss is both state of the art (in 1985!) and a tribute to Ian Curtis ("My friend he took his final breath, Now I know the perfect kiss is the kiss of death").This Time Of Night is hauntingly beautiful with Peter Hook's comic spoken intro ("I'm one of the few people I know who enjoys sports on television"). Sunrise, the best rocker since their Joy Division days with an intro that DEMANDS maximum volume.

Elegia is proof that New Order really were the 80's equivalent of Pink Floyd, a wonderful, slow building instrumental that may be their finest ever track. Sooner Than You Think still baffles me lyrically but it's a great track with the guitar - bass interplay effortlessly wonderful. Sub-Culture is epic, forget the AWFUL remix,the orginal version is where it's at. An awesome bass solo by Peter Hook reminds you just how good he can be, while Barney's lyrics are sharp and sour. Face Up is the archetypal New Order track; painfully sad and wonderfully joyful at the same time.If you only own one New Order album (you shouldn't there's several more you should have!), make it Low-Life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding creative brilliance, 13 May 2004
This review is from: Low-Life (Audio CD)
Low Life is one of the few albums I can listen to in any mood. 8 incredible tracks which transcends all emotions: upbeat and fun, dark and moody, melancholy and reflective, angry and defiant. The album hits true brilliance with the instrumental Elegia, the absolute highlight of the album for me. Elegia is the type of track that induces an unrelenting assault of goose pimples down the spinal cord in what is an incredibly beautiful piece of music on a truly sublime album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great listen, 13 Oct 2010
By 
G. METCALFE - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Low-Life (Audio CD)
Evokes the spirit and feeling of my younger days, some great tunes which simply don't date. A timeless CD recommended for both seasoned New Order fans and newbies to the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 23 Dec 2002
This review is from: Low-Life (Audio CD)
The best new order album for me.
It's one of the most angry and disturbed albums I've heard, and it illustrates perfectly their way of singing songs about despair and hatred over a thumping discoey baseline.
The sequencing is stark and hard and sounds brilliant for it, and the lyrics are a joy.
Perfect Kiss isn't as good as the 12", but subculture is far better than the single - it's shorter, but not spoilt by the inappropriate female backing vocals. the fantastic sequencing at the refrain (?) is left untarnished by remixing.
It's an album you want to play loud on headphones in the dark when someone you love has really made you angry lol.
There's a vague similarity with the pet shop boys first album, please, in the stark keyboards and sub-culture subject matter, though of a different sort, and both groups went on to sound more refinded, still brilliant, but they were both on the cusp (?) of genius here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic from the true greats, 22 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Low-Life (Audio CD)
I'm in awe. Once again, New Order have grabbed me by the scruff of the neck and shaken me alive! I got this just last week and I've been in love with it ever since. Every track oozes sheer class, from the brooding This Time Of Night to the driving anger of Sunrise, the wistful Elegia and the upbeat finale of Face Up. The versions of Sub-culture and The Perfect Kiss that are on this aren't as good as the ones on the Substance CD (TPK's lyrics in particular lose some of their impact through the chopping-up the track suffered) but otherwise, superb stuff once again. If you're a fan and you don't have this, go get it. If you've stopped listening to it, why?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low-life but high art, 4 Dec 2001
This review is from: Low-Life (Audio CD)
Awesome. There's no other word for it. I recall
buying the vinyl (yes albums still came out on
plastic in them days) in Hammersmith in 1985.
From the very start - and the album version has
the tracks in a different order! - it grabs you
and pulls you in. Love Vigilantes is a sarcasm-laced anti-war song which became a live
favourite for years afterwards. This lead onto
The Perfect Kiss (not the long version on the 12")
with its enigmatic lyric and funky Latin percussion (!) and then into darker territory with
a track I've often played myself, This Time Of
Night.
Ironically, the band were to include a vocal
sample of a famous tippling magazine columist,
Jeffrey Bernard, on the track's intro as he
uttered a sentance containing the album's
title. Jeff wasn't keen so Hooky voiced it instead and he can be heard quietly speaking the
offending line right at the start just before
the drum machine starts (mind your speakers if
you turn it up to hear him!).
Side two sees some total belters, as if things
could get any better: Sunrise an explosion of
energy following Elegia which at the time was
compared to the Cocteau Twins! Yes, there's
also the deliberate use of a scratched record
sometime through the track to keep your attention!
Sooner Than You Think is another bitingly sarcastic anthem against the inanities asked of
the band by music journalists.
The final pair of tracks take us out on a high.
Subculture is apparently about the joys of sex
(follow the lyrics) and Face Up ends the opus
with a joyous chorus of "oh, I cannot bear the
thought of you!": to see and hear hundreds of
people sign this live is quite something!
All this and a baking paper cover too (don't ask).
One of my favourite albums of all time, this. It's all here: the quality of the songs, the
production, the machines and the energy.
Like I said, awesome. SO BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lowbrow genius!, 21 May 2006
By 
R. Nathan "rotatingflak" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Low-Life (Audio CD)
Entranced and aching, swathed in strings and coiling bubbles of beats, jabbed with jagged lines and scratchy frustrations, a deep booming of the most innocent yet ingenious melody and amongst it all a little child lost - giggling and raging and weeping at the world.

`Lowlife' was New Order toying with perfect pop songs and minimalist art and funny stories and deviant disco and grinding rock and grungy electro-funk and exquisite beats. It's both knowing and nave, intricately complex yet effortlessly simple - an idiot savante lying in the gutter and inventing the stars.

Trying to encapsulate the majesty of Morricone with the primitive thrust of Iggy, the simple beauty and perfectionism of Kraftwerk with the ragged humanity and glory of Neil Young. Trying to put the past inside them and the future behind. It did all this and more, because somehow nothing quite explains where this music came from or where it belongs.

Many people won't quite get it, in fact, twenty years ago I didn't quite get it. I didn't pick up on `Love Vigilantes' poignant punchlines or brilliantly simplistic melodica solo. I somehow missed the awesome stillness of `Elegia' which builds from a fragile snowflake to an everest of ice. I overlooked the swaggering stance of `Sunrise'- a gothic spaghetti western shootout with God. I altogether ignored the glaring fact that the yearning, melancholy and menancing `This Time Of Night' is the best synth pop music ever made. Even now, even when it's possibly my favourite album of all, I still don't get it.....why I'm still singing and dreaming and wondering and buzzing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Low-Life (Audio CD)
I love New Order but had forgotten about them for a while. I then heard then on an old clip on TV which regenerated my interest. Great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album which sounds so much better on CD than scratched vinyl, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Low-Life (Audio CD)
Few Indie albums sound good on a decent hifi but this great album really benefits from a digit clean up allowing it to be played loud to really get the benefit of the dynamic range and the driving (Peter) Hook lines. I'd forgotten how good this album really was and now it sounds better than ever. More than just nostalgia but still a great album (great cover too).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bernard is scalding hot, 17 Sep 2011
By 
James S. Prichard "texan" (houston) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Low-Life (Audio CD)
this is so huge . just further into the realm of greatness. there is no one within striking distance now. the competition is plowed under, devastated, limp. new order has conquered the world in 3 records. and with only 4 great songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Low-Life
Low-Life by New Order
Buy MP3 Album6.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews