Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Best Ofs around
For a band as huge as The Corrs, I was quite surprised they decided to release a greatest hits compilation only a few years after they became household names around the world. I would have expected them to release a number of studio albums before this release. Nevertheless, The Best Of The Corrs explains to us exactly why the Irish family became such a huge act in the...
Published on 25 July 2003 by dumpw33d

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
All the hits are here love Andrea corrs vocals
Published 2 months ago by David Howe


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Best Ofs around, 25 July 2003
By 
"dumpw33d" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Best Of The Corrs (Audio CD)
For a band as huge as The Corrs, I was quite surprised they decided to release a greatest hits compilation only a few years after they became household names around the world. I would have expected them to release a number of studio albums before this release. Nevertheless, The Best Of The Corrs explains to us exactly why the Irish family became such a huge act in the modern music world.
While it is debatable that some of the songs on the album could be classified as "hits" (many are taken from the group's less successful days) it doesn't stop the fact that nearly every song is a brilliant piece of music. The highlights include the likes of So Young, What Can I Do and the cover of Dreams which are all taken from their greatest achievement - the album Talk On Corners which brought them their success. Others include the excellent Radio and Everybody Hurts from their Unplugged LP and their number 1 single Breathless. What makes the group stand out is their traditional Irish touch to their music, with pennywhistles and fiddles littered throughout the CD, giving it a welcomed touch of originality.
The big question is, would a Corrs fan buy this? Having probably already owning the rest of their albums there wouldn't be much point - as the new tracks on the album Would You Be Happier? and Make You Mine are sub-par efforts that seem to lack The Corrs magic of old. However, it is still a fantastic album with many memorable songs that deserve to be noticed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Corr blimey!, 2 Nov. 2001
This review is from: Best Of The Corrs (Audio CD)
The Corrs, while having a reputation for producing radio-friendly but easy listening boring fodder, bring us their greatest hits. One listen to this and even a non-fan cannot deny that these gorgeous siblings are talented. Opening with one of their catchiest and most upbeat songs to date, Would You Be Happier? this Best Of collects over a decade of music made by the family band, and the singles are all here along with a few other surprises. The latest single is pure Corrs, and shows what the group can do, combining sultry vocals, varied instruments, and a singalong uplifting chorus. So Young, Breathless, The Right Time, and Irresistable are a few more examples of the in-yer-face positive Corr sound. I Never Loved You Anyway (a sassy rocky tune with an Irish edge) provides a noticeable contrast to songs like the epic Only When I Sleep and the simply beautiful Runaway. With cleverly penned lyrics, laid-back sounds, and big climactic choruses, these lovely songs are amazingly simple but effective. Their version of Everybody Hurts may not be as striking as the R.E.M original but it's a decent crack at it, and makes an impression, as do mid-tempo tracks such as Give Me A Reason, which is sombre but has a jingly-jangly can't-get-it-out-of-your-head vibe. With unplugged offerings (Radio, Lough Erin Shore) and new songs (Make You Mine), amidst timeless classics (Dreams, What Can I Do?) and the earlier material (Forgiven Not Forgotten), this greatest hits album is a sure fire hit. The Corrs sell by the bucket-load and this is a collection of their finest work, without one track being a dud. Stick it on while you're driving and accompany Andrea as she sings her heart out! Not worth buying if you have all the other albums but if not, give it a go and buy it NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the best!, 25 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Best Of The Corrs (Audio CD)
Any fan of good pop music has to agree that these Irish siblings have the ability to make songs like nobody else!
And now you can find their best songs in just one CD.
Since the amazing title-track of their first album Forgiven, Not Forgotten until their latest single, the cool and feel-good song Would You Be Happier?.
In this album you can enjoy all The Corrs' sides: the sexy Breathless, the sweet All The Love In The World, the funny So Young, the epic and brilliantly performed Lough Erin Shore and so on...
And it gets even better! You still get the brand new guitar-driven, acoustic-feel song Make You Mine, which one again shows Andrea's angelical vocals.
It's a must have CD! Buy it now! You won't regret!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of three, 2 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Best Of The Corrs (Audio CD)
This is the best of three of their albums and it does have some great songs on and by the best of the albums I mean the singles. If it was the best of the three combined albums then this would be an amazing album and it is still amazing in it's own right with two bonus tracks on as well as two live tracks from their MTV Unpluuged album.

It is a great play from start to finish, if you like the Corrs but don't know which album to buy then buy this because you get a bit of their albums on on CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great compilation, 17 Nov. 2001
By 
Rodrigo Medina (Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro Brazil) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best Of The Corrs (Audio CD)
As every good compilation, the "best of the corrs" is a CD recommended for those who like the band, but never bought one of their CDs. The music chosen to be part of this greatest hits album really represents the band work throughout the years. From "the right time" to "breathless", this CD is going to reach all the best expectations of music market and pop music fans.
Fortunately, concerned with loyal fans like me, the corrs decided to include two unreleased tracks in this CD : the mellow "Would You be Happier?" and "Make you mine", an old song they composed but never released in CD.
I've been reading critics about this album everywhere. People say that, considering this compilation CD as a whole, the band is about to end, that their pop formula does not convince anymore etc. All these comments are irrelevant!
The Best of the Corrs shows how the band changed and how ready they are to face what is coming ahead. If you are already a fan or never ever had a corrs CD, do not hesitate to buy this one.
Fore those who really like the band, try the latin america import CD, which comes with one extra track "una noche" (one night) in a duet with alejandro sanz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars just fabulous, it's fun to listen and dance to, 23 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of The Corrs (Audio CD)
This CD, entitled "The Best of the Corrs" includes a lovely mix of classic Irish music, particularly in the only instrumental piece, "Lough Erin Shore" and the song "This Is The Right Time". Other songs like "Would You Be Happier?" and "So Young" make me want to go a bit crazy, and it's great to let off some steam whilst dancing about. Not all of the lyrics are clear, but it is still easy enough to sing along to and it's just right for someone who likes to sing to themselves all the time. My favourite songs are "Listen to the Radio", "So Young" and "What Can I Do?" They're so carefree, I adore them so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 16 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of The Corrs (Audio CD)
This CD is one that I like every track on apart from maybe one or two. The cover of REM's - Everybody Hurts, isn't much to me. It's acoustically interesting to listen to, and a better version than REM's just. It's just not a song I ever liked. Dreams the Fleetwood Mac cover is not quite so hot either.

Liking all tracks on a CD is not easily done though so I can't rate this high enough. As well as having a great track-listing, it has other interesting acoustic parts too. Places where kick-drum stands out or is alone with another instrument, and sounds fab in headphones. Lots of bits like that with different instruments.

I have it on now and it's playing Lough Erin Shore. Perfect. Really perfect.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All bow down to the corrs!, 15 May 2004
This review is from: Best Of The Corrs (Audio CD)
It is so refreshing to have a band that take the music industry seriously! This is one talanted bunch of people! With THE Andrea Corr on lead vocals and tin whistle, Caroline Corr on Drums, Bodhran, Piano, and backing Vocals, Jim Corr on Keyboards, Guitar, and backing Vocals, and Sharon Corr on Violin, and you guessed it, backing Vocals. This CD contains all their best work. The best featured tracks are 'Breathless', in which you understand the true extent of Andrea's vocal ability, and 'Give me a reason' which features some fantastic irish music.
It has ballads, songs you can dance to, and the lyrics and music is all written and performed by The Corrs!
If any band deserves more recognition than they get, it's The Corrs! Get this CD, and you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Corrs Greatest Hits, 7 Mar. 2010
By 
Aaron Robinson "azr910" (Stocksfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best Of The Corrs (Audio CD)
The cd is fantastic and is a must for any fan or if someone is interested in The Corrs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 23 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Of The Corrs (MP3 Download)
I had this album and then lost it in my recent move. Always loved this album so rather than listening to it on YouTube, I bought it. 4 stars rather than 5 because I found the price very high considering the amount of time it has been on the market and the fact it is a download copy and not a physical one. So over £7, to me, is too steep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best Of The Corrs
Best Of The Corrs by The Corrs
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews