Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accomplished debut from Coventry's finest
After a gruelling schedule of UK tours, two smash-hit singles and a whole world of hype, "We'll Live And Die In These Towns" the now long and eagerly awaited debut album by Coventry 3-piece The Enemy surpasses all expectations.

Although Coventry's unlikely looking new rock sensations are unusually reluctant to offer up the names of their musical influences, "We...
Published on 22 Nov 2007 by Winston Roache

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Average indie
Nothing special really, though not a poor album. Lacking in any distinctive character and overall just not all that creative or even tight musically.
Published 4 months ago by Longfellow


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Accomplished debut from Coventry's finest, 22 Nov 2007
After a gruelling schedule of UK tours, two smash-hit singles and a whole world of hype, "We'll Live And Die In These Towns" the now long and eagerly awaited debut album by Coventry 3-piece The Enemy surpasses all expectations.

Although Coventry's unlikely looking new rock sensations are unusually reluctant to offer up the names of their musical influences, "We Live And Die" is an album that reveals it's many roots as readily and as reassuringly as the most painstakingly completed family tree. At times Clarke's voice is almost scarily reminiscent of a young Paul Weller, and several tracks, most notably the title track, take on a fittingly Jam-like feel. There's an immediate, all-consuming energy to We Live And Die that echoes Oasis' classic debut. Add to that a swaggering, over confident attitude conjured up by Tom Clarke's invigorating vocals, and no doubt inspired by a similar working background to the Gallaghers, and a more than passing resemblance to the Manc legends early sound and attitude is complete. Throw the Sex Pistols, The Verve, and The Who into the mix and you're still only scratching the surface. Although comparisons to such lofty names are all well and good, to imply The Enemy are somehow lacking their own sound would be doing them a disservice. These young lads have welded together the sounds of their influences with a skill and unwavering confidence that belies their inexperience. More punk than Oasis will ever be, more Brit-rock than The Sex Pistols ever could have been, this is high octane inide rock n roll that sounds less like the Stereophonics and more like the Pigeon Detectives getting a kicking for pissing off the Clash's roadies.

The tone of the album is set from the very first bars of opening track, Aggro, and carries on from there at a blistering pace. Pounding drum rolls demand your attention, screaming guitars grab you the by the lapels, before Clarke's intoxicating vocals shake you back and forth "Call the pol-eeeeece, `cos things are getting ugly!" You're left in no doubt that The Enemy are not messing about. Only one track (the gloriously uplifting This Song) breaks the four minute barrier, and the title track aside there are no extended intros, no long drawn out outros, what you get are short sharp bursts of attitude, at times raucous, at times reflective, always lyrically depicting a recognisably gritty image of life in provincial England whilst musically screaming an infectious devil-may-care optimism. We'll Live And Die offers something that so many albums aspire to without ever delivering, it's got something to say, and it says it with attitude.

On this offering, The Enemy promise to be far more than just another bunch of Northern(ish) teen rockers making it big on the post Arctic Monkeys bandwagon. A chest-beating, foot stomping, call-to-arms of a record, this is quite possibly the most accomplished debut of it's kind since Definitely Maybe was unleashed on an unsuspecting public all those years ago, an evocative rallying cry certain to strike a chord with working class lads in dead end jobs the length and breadth of the country.

And the timing couldn't be better. With Oasis on gardening leave playing with the super band formula, this nation's heartbeat is crying out for a new soundtrack. This might just be it.

Winston Roache
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars coventry's finest, 10 July 2007
By 
A must have album of 2007.From start to finish this album does not disappoint.From the raw edgy songs of aggro and technodanceaphobic to the jam like sounds of live and die in these towns and 40 days 40 nights the 11 tracks combined make this a quality album to own.In my eyes they are the band of 2007.They are amazing live as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sent from Coventry, 10 Nov 2007
By 
P. VINCE (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes there are a couple of songs here you won't want to listen to too much, they're not bad they just arn't as great as the rest, However many of the finest albums in history have some not as great tracks on them. The songs that are good on WLADITT are absolutely brilliant, The Enemy have something to say which is refreshing when many bands are content to write meaningless lyrics rather than express any emotion or feeling, WLADITT gives a voice to the sense of disapointment and frustration that is central to the English way of life in 2007, I think this is a realy great debut from a truely original band who have worked hard and remained true to their roots, I have to give it 5 stars because I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Here To Stay, 20 July 2007
When you think of Coventry bands the one name that always springs to mind is The Specials. Well now there is another name to think of ...............The Enemy.

The first time I heard anything by The Enemy was in the Stores office at work, when Liam's dad, who I worked with at the time, brought in a copy of a 3 track demo they had cut in a studio. He had been talking about them for months and at the time was still their manager. To be honest, I was expecting just another pub covers band who could play a bit. What I heard in '40 Days & 40 Nights' an the other 2 tracks was an amazing sound, reminiscent of Paul Weller and The Jam, without falling into the trap of sounding like a copy or a re-hash of late 70's Mods. This was fresh and original, something new. Anyone with half a brain could tell these boys were going to be big!

Most impressive song for me, I think, is the title track, lyrically intelligent and very much, for me anyway, a tribute to Weller. If you want to, you can hear all sorts of influences from their predecessors such as Oasis, Weller/Jam, The Specials, but the bottom line is that these boys have enough originality and talent in their own right to rub shoulders with the best of them!

The Enemy are here to stay. I'm glad to have had the chance to have heard them way back when. Their energy is refreshing enough to make even old gits like me feel young again!!

Long may it last!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Seriously Top Record, 7 Aug 2007
I know, bands that could get drunk on all the hype they receive annoy me a little too, and I try with every ounce of strength in my body to loathe them. Most of the time I acheive this, but once in a while a truly talented band come out to say hello, and they can't be ignored. The Enemy are one of those bands, and 'We'll Live and Die in These Towns' simply isn't to be ignored!

Top songs? " Away from Here" was an instant classic as I'm sure you're aware. The title track is brilliant, 'You're Not Alone' and 'This Song' are also genius - the best tracks on the album. The fillers ain't to shabby either.

I don't want to go into great detail, but The Enemy are awesome and deserve a listen. Give them a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 23 July 2007
By 
F. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It's a shame that somebody who hasn't even listened to this fantastic album has given it 1 star out of spite. His rating should be removed as it is not relevant.

This band have worked so hard over the last year, gigging and writing their own music they have built up a very loyal fanbase from nothing and have produced a brilliant debut album, the fastest selling debut album by a band this year. I believe this album will sell and sell especially when they release 'you're not alone' which is one of my favourite tracks on the album, along with 'we'll live and die in these towns', 'aggro', 'away from here' and 'this song', and if you get the chance to see them live you will be truly blown away. I give this album 110/100, best album of 2007, you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What we have been waiting for for many years, 15 July 2007
By 
I really did not know what to expect of this album until it was released, I really really thought Away From Here would be the only good track of the album, I was so so so wrong.
This is the band we have been waiting for in the 21st century, now I know they are all still teenagers, but they have created the most exciting album since Oasis's Definately Mabye.
I wouldn't be surprised if by the time their second album is released whenever they perform in England just before they get on stage Tom screams WHO THE **** are KASABIAN, because this is a Classic Classic Debut Album the one we have been waiting years for. Here is the Lowdown.
1 Aggro
Starts slowly but then turns into a sort of football anthem by the chorus.
2.Away From Here
Best track of the album but only just. We have been singing along to this for months already.
3.Pressure
Quite a good song
4.Had Enough
Recent single, good song
5.We'll Live and Die In These Towns
Slower song of the album, but still great song
6.You're Not Alone
Due to be next single, great song
7.It's Not OK
This was one of their first singles i think, excellent song
8.Technodanceaphobic
Excellent song
9.40 days and 40 nights
Debut single I think, great song
10.This Song
Slow but great
11.Happy Birthday Jane
Closer of the album, good song to close with.

I know I have not reviewed this very well, but there is not a single dull song on the album, beware of The Enemy for the future because whatever they do next is set to be amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great debut from a fresh sounding young band!, 29 Jan 2014
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For a debut album, The Enemy's 2007 'We'll Live and Die In These Towns' is a very good record, with only a few sub-par tracks (hence the four stars). If anything, I'd say that it is still superior to their subsequent albums (as good as they are). If you enjoy the Jam and early Oasis, you should check it out.

There is a constant energy flowing from beginning to end, the songs are raw and 'in-your-face', as are the mean and moody lyrics. My favourite tracks are 'We'll Live and Die In These Towns' (a modern indie anthem!), 'Away From Here' (which might just be the best song on here), 'Had Enough', and the final track 'Happy Birthday Jane', which is much softer compared the rest, but the lyrics remain excellent.

I remember being very impressed with the Enemy's debut seven years ago, and still listen to it today. I think it will always be a favourite with indie music kids who can remember it first time around. If you are new to band or have only listened to their most recent material (2009/2012), pick up 'We'll Live and Die in These Towns'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars aggro with a swagger, 16 July 2007
first saw these 3 upstarts from coventry supporting the soon to be legendary KASABIAN at leeds uni last december, the way they made their entrance onto the stage i though " you better be good" they were everything and more been looking forward to the album ever since (7 months) here goes

1. Aggro: you almost feel the heart race as they sing about what happens most saturday nights all over the u.k AGGRO a foot stomper

2. Away From Here: anthem of the whole album but not the best track from the opening line to the end everyone can relate to this track

3. Pressure: a slight more downbeat moment. a class track

4. Had Enough: a classic in my opinion who's never HAD ENOUGH?

5. We'll Live And Die In These Towns; one of my personal faves just tells how you could be stuck in your boring life unless you keep you aspirations alive

6. You're Not Alone: i love this track it's upbeat and in ya face

7. It's Not OK: another anthem in the making slightly twisted lyrics thats probably why i like it so much

8. Technodanceaphobic: exellent! just BANGGING! ;-)

9. 40 Days And 40 Nights: another uptempo moment with great words

10. This Song: my favorite got a slight lou reed feel to it and the words are tremendos

11. Happy Birthday Jane: this must be their married with children moment a soft track with brilliant lyrics

live and die in this town is a brilliant debut i hope these lads go on to be legends even if they don't they've written one of the best debuts by a british band for years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ace, 8 Oct 2007
By 
What a great album. I missed all the hype arond them so I had no real build up to the album. Great band, and many great tracks on this CD. I was suprised as I am normally more into heavier rock and metal. But this is great rock / indie which I think is similar to that of Oasis and Blur.

Get it, its a good price too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews