Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good family game.
This game is a wonderful compilation of the Monopoly board game. It not only features the original game, but also features the world edition as well as many other board designs. Fun for the whole family although a little boring if played alone. The computer characters don't really have a clear strategy, and often end up buying every property they land on which can be...
Published on 26 May 2009 by A. Brent

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Monopoly wii
Not as good as I thought it would be. You have no choice but to play with a minimum of 4 people and if there is only 2 or 3 of you the computer fills the empty spaces making the game go round slowly.
Published on 10 Dec 2010 by Ms. S. Elghanayan


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good family game., 26 May 2009
By 
A. Brent "The Invisible Bean" (North Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly (Wii) (Video Game)
This game is a wonderful compilation of the Monopoly board game. It not only features the original game, but also features the world edition as well as many other board designs. Fun for the whole family although a little boring if played alone. The computer characters don't really have a clear strategy, and often end up buying every property they land on which can be annoying at times. However the games adjustable difficulty settings make up for this.

The 3D style is typical of EA's usual design and they certainly have designed it well.

For those of you who like short bursts of play and get tired of long extended play, this can satisfy everyone. By tradition, Monopoly can last for hours. This game however, features a quick play option so that a game can be completed in 30 minutes or less! It also has an option to save a game so that you can come back and continue playing at a later date.

This game also features mini games in which players can play for fun, or compete for advantages while playing the main game.

Overall, this game is great for family play and a must have for families who are fans of Monopoly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i have played this game., 5 Jan 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly (Wii) (Video Game)
Got this game for christmas and loving it. Think some of the other reviewers haven't actually played before writing review. The games are all open to begin with; you can buy new tokens and boards to provide a differnt setting. By pressing the number 2 button you can fast forward speaking and movement - this is clear and stated on every screen - therefor you do not have to wait for ages for the other players. I haven't found the music frustrating but i have played with the option menu which allows you to change volumes of speaker and music.
My only problem with it is that sometimes you do not get paid and other times you get double, not sure why maybe i have discovered a cheat code but haven't realised!!
overall, its much better than the board game and love the 3d view as you move round the board.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fair translation of the board game, 30 Dec 2008
By 
I don't have a pen name "the_metro_area" (West London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly (Wii) (Video Game)
I agree with the other reviewers who have given this 4 stars, the game is good but the repetition of the Monopoly man can get a little annoying, I'm surprised that there isn't the option to turn him off. The board game is played as you expect and there are various other boards to try as you play more and get your passport stamped. This is one Wii game you can be lazy about as it requires little movement on the controller just the odd (optional) shake of the dice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Monopoly wii, 10 Dec 2010
By 
Ms. S. Elghanayan (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly (Wii) (Video Game)
Not as good as I thought it would be. You have no choice but to play with a minimum of 4 people and if there is only 2 or 3 of you the computer fills the empty spaces making the game go round slowly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love the board game, you will love this, 21 Feb 2009
By 
T. EDWARDS - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly (Wii) (Video Game)
Once you have played this, you will most likely never play the board game version again. It is so easy to play and is very addictive. Ok so the music is a bit repetative, but that doesnt affect the fun you have. There are lots of options and different boards to unlock so you will have hours on fun trying out new things, or just playing the classic game. If you are a Monoploy fan, this will be a great purchase for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Biased AI, 15 Jan 2011
By 
T. C. Walker (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly (Wii) (Video Game)
Bought this game as I thought it would be fun with the family. A fantastic game when you have four human players, but if you have less than four players and need to play against the "computer" then make sure you play with the "easy" settings. Otherwise the experience is dented by the game's AI.

I thought it was coincidence at first, but after a few weekends it was obvious that clicking on a higher skill lever just meant that the electronic dice would work against you - as will the "chance" and "community chest" cards. You'll find that you keep landing on a competitor's property and travel in and out of jail, while the AI-operated players snap up the squares. Disappointing.

I know that the Wii is designed for group gaming and when playing in a group this is a great game - but the family aren't always around so unfortunately with less than three players the game is unplayable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monopoly Wii Style!, 4 Jan 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly (Wii) (Video Game)
If you like the original type of monopoly then give this a go. It is very clever,works out all the money etc and doesnt need putting away at the end. You can save your game half way through with no annoying bank notes to clear up! It does take a little bit of working out and getting used to to know how to trade properties etc but is worth persevering as gets easier with use! My husband finds the graphics a little hard to read on the tv screen although we have a large tv, but I think thats more a problem with his eyes rather than the game itself as I dont have the same problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Below Average Effort from EA, 30 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. Rj Jones (UK, Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly (Wii) (Video Game)
Got this to replace the Monopoly Party I had on the PS2 (which was excellent). This version is nowhere near as sleek as the old game, with far fewer options, worse graphics, doesn't save your profile with "career stats" like the old one did, and is much slower to finish a game.

For example when playing with computer opponents you have to watch whilst there piece moves onto every single square on its way round the board. (If they hit 'Advance to Go' on the first Community Chest is very tedious!!). On the old Monopoly Party you could just press a button and the piece would automatically jump to its destination.

I was very disappointed by the game and cant believe with Next Gen technology they've acually made a worse version than the PS2 had?! Only buy if very patient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great fun, 8 Feb 2009
By 
E. L. Whitehead (coventry uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly (Wii) (Video Game)
great game for the whole family to enjoy, played on it all the time when i first got it, you unlock new boards the more you play, and there are mini games aswell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addiction, 15 Feb 2010
By 
Danny Leigh (Watford, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Monopoly (Wii) (Video Game)
Overall this game is great, it will creat hours of fun for everyone. I see that some people are complaining about the man being a little annoying, but by pressing one of the buttons on the wii remote (i think its the B button, im not sure) you can actually stop what he is about to say so you can quickly proceed with the game. I bought this game for christmas and havn't stopped playing it since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monopoly (Wii)
Monopoly (Wii) by Electronic Arts (Nintendo Wii)
Used & New from: £1.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews