Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It may just be the 2 albums in 1 but it still rocks
All the songs from both albums are here along with the Christmas single. The only downside is they could have made this a double disc with the b-sides from the singles on the 2nd disc. But other than that 80 minutes of The Darkness, you can't go wrong with that.
Published on 18 April 2008 by Steve G

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The entire collection
If you want to hear The Darkness, you can't go wrong with this. There entire career is included on one disc!

Both albums are on here along with the christmas song. It is good and you can tell the different musical influences as the tracks progress.

Don't bother buying their albums, just buy this.
Published on 13 Feb. 2011 by Duncan McDonald


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It may just be the 2 albums in 1 but it still rocks, 18 April 2008
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
All the songs from both albums are here along with the Christmas single. The only downside is they could have made this a double disc with the b-sides from the singles on the 2nd disc. But other than that 80 minutes of The Darkness, you can't go wrong with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 21 Aug. 2008
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
I was always put off by the NME but I needed a good present for my Dad.
Really impressed, good tunes with a Queen/Rock feel to them, reminded me of School Discos. Very cheap and you almost get both albums plus Christmas single.
Wonder what Justin Hawkins will come up next with his new band?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHEER FUN, 20 April 2009
By 
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
I have listened to both records by The Darkness, which are reproduced almost in their entirety here - some stuff is weak eg Blind Man, but the overall fun andenergy on this record, is a real turn up for the books, compared to most of the half-baked and gutless stuff passing for rock these days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally Darkness, 17 Jun. 2011
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
I remember seeing television coverage of a festival where there was daytime coverage if floppy fringed indie bands who fell completely flat in that sterile festival atmosphere (or rather lack of atmosphere) but then my first glimpse of The Darkness, not my kind of band at all, although I did link many of the big "Rock" bands of the 1970s. Justin Hawkins in his totally Spinal Tap spandex jumpsuit just lit up the stage, and it was a pretty small stage at that time.

There is something rather magical about this band, it just shouldn't work but it does. When they were on Top of the Pops with Christmas Time (Don't Let the Bells End) it took me right back to the 70s when Wizzard, Slade and the rest made Christmas singles a real event.

This CD contains both albums plus that over the top Christmas single. If you don't have their albums or got rid of them and now regret it then here is the budget way to get them. The CD is cheap but the Amazon mp3 download is cheaper. You can then reorder this into the original albums on iTunes/Window Media Player, or whatever you use, and prepare for the new album due soon, supported by a tour with the full original line up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of the dark(ness), 10 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (MP3 Download)
So here's the deal. Take the 2 albums you've recorded (this was released before they reformed), add a christmas single and release at best of thing that reminds everyone how good this band are. Works for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Guilty Pleasure, 18 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (MP3 Download)
Not sure why I am willing to write a review, as there may be someone who reads this, who actually knows me and realises that I parted with cash for this? In all honesty I really love the music and Justins voice, it's just not cool to tell anyone that! Ssssshhh, buy it and enjoy it on your own, in the dark when there's no-one else home!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The entire collection, 13 Feb. 2011
By 
Duncan McDonald "Dunk" (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
If you want to hear The Darkness, you can't go wrong with this. There entire career is included on one disc!

Both albums are on here along with the christmas song. It is good and you can tell the different musical influences as the tracks progress.

Don't bother buying their albums, just buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 21 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
First heard the darkness because of "I believe in a thing called love" and decided to try out there album. I love it! Particularly "One Way Ticket", "Is it just me", "Bald" and "Love is only a feeling". Could not recommend enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The first two albums in one, 19 Feb. 2015
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
'The Platinum Collection' may seem an extravagant title considering The Darkness only chalked up two studio albums and a handful of hits when this compilation was released, but hey, it was part of a series, and the music here is catchy, very fun old-school rock music that was remonstrant of Queen. I was a big fan of The Darkness 'back in the day', and still play the first two albums which make up this CD, along with the bonus of having the festive hit 'Christmas Time (Don't Let The Bells End)' included as the final song, which was a nice touch.

Between 2003-2006, the band tallied up six big hits, including the infectious but overplayed 'I Believe In A Thing Called Love', and the superior 'Love Is Only A Feeling', a nice ballad with sweet guitar work, both of which were included on the first album 'Permission to Land'. There is another track on here which is similar, 'Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time', and this was included on the second album 'One Way Ticket To Hell ... And Back'.

The Darkness have since reformed and have given us a third album with 'Hot Cakes', but this single CD is the best reminder of the band's earliest success. It would have benefited from a few B sides added on, but hey, this is excellent value for what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For all Darkness fans and others who have not yet realised it., 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
This contains all of the tracks from Permission to Land and One Way Ticket to Hell... and Back with the bonus track of Christmas Time (Don't Let the Bells End) which is the best Christmas song ever ! What more could you want ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Platinum Collection
The Platinum Collection by The Darkness
Buy MP3 Album£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews