Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mystery debut
I was given Twenty One and was blown away with what I thought was a debut from a new group. I should have realised that the production, confidence and just outstanding quality was too good for a debut album. Like KM I hear Talking Heads in this album which is high compliment indeed. But there is range of styles here which is just plain showing off as each track is a...
Published on 23 Jan 2009 by Malcolm C. Lea

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moments of genius
The Cure, Tears For Fears, The Cars, Duran Duran...if there's one thing this album is guaranteed to do it's to remind you of the 1980's.

Recent single Two Doors Down was one of those classic divisive pop hits. Some would appreciate it for what it is (a catchy pop hit) whilst others would probably be unable to look past the obvious 80's sound (complete with...
Published on 15 Jun 2008 by IWFIcon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Mystery debut, 23 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: Twenty One (Audio CD)
I was given Twenty One and was blown away with what I thought was a debut from a new group. I should have realised that the production, confidence and just outstanding quality was too good for a debut album. Like KM I hear Talking Heads in this album which is high compliment indeed. But there is range of styles here which is just plain showing off as each track is a complete package. Standout tracks are Young Love, Half in Love, Two Doors down & Umbrellahead (can you hear Clap Your Hands here?). Surely MJ are about to really break into the big time (Zane is a fan) - they deserve to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Effort, 3 April 2008
This review is from: Twenty One (Audio CD)
They've tightened their sound and Blaine's voice has never sounded better - leading the band into wildly catchy tunes, feeling more like a complete album then their previous. Fans of their first will find this second effort greatly welcomed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Moments of genius, 15 Jun 2008
By 
IWFIcon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Twenty One (Audio CD)
The Cure, Tears For Fears, The Cars, Duran Duran...if there's one thing this album is guaranteed to do it's to remind you of the 1980's.

Recent single Two Doors Down was one of those classic divisive pop hits. Some would appreciate it for what it is (a catchy pop hit) whilst others would probably be unable to look past the obvious 80's sound (complete with gratuitous sax solo) that it undoubtedly represents. Those of you who land in the "hate" category for this one might as well steer clear of MJ, which almost transcends into parody.

Lead single, Young Love, was, on the other hand, criminally overlooked by most, but is one of the better songs on the album. Laura Marling pops in to lend a hand and whilst it may be very much one of those "boy meets girl" style songs, it's one of the better examples of that mini-genre. It's got feeling, which is rare in a modern day pop song and, like the other standout tracks on the album such as Half In Love With Elizabeth and Veiled In Grey, it is completely devoid of cliche.

It's not a trick that they can completely keep up for the entire album and towards the end there is a definite lull. It's not to say that the lesser tracks are awful, but they are overshadowed by the brilliance on display elsewhere.

Still, a good album with a handful of excellent tracks is certainly worth the investment in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twenty One, 30 Mar 2008
This review is from: Twenty One (Audio CD)
After hearing the recent single 'Young Love' and being aware of past material and various music videos on mtv2, i felt this album was a must buy. The album has a number of instantly catchy songs, from 'Hideaway' to 'Two Doors Down', the majority of songs are upbeat with hard hitting drums and a mix of vocal chanting and harmonious melodies. Basically if you like the single 'Young Love' or any of their previous tracks, this album won't disappoint. Still in the early days i think this album will propel this band up a few levels, watch this space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Album, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty One (MP3 Download)
Not listened to the Mystery Jest before hearing Two Doors Down, great band and great tunes. The whole album is easy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JETS, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twenty One (Audio CD)
HAVE TO ADMIT IT BUT THIS ALBUM IS A BETTER ALROUND SOUND THAN THE 1ST CD MAKING DENS. LOVE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Second Album, 17 Mar 2012
This review is from: Twenty One (Audio CD)
Roughly 25 seconds into the first song 'Hideaway', a bassline comes in, a sexy funky bassline that cuts through the police sirens that start off the song. Then comes in the song as Blaine Harrison sings of an 'undercover lover' atop a sea of catchy hooks and backup vocals. This is a good signal of what the rest of the album is like. Delicious hooks dancing among sing-along choruses with knowingly clever lyrics. Highlights include 'Half In Love With Elizabeth, the irresistible 'Two Doors Down' (a retro throwback), and the tender almost ballad of 'Flakes', though there isn't a dud among these songs. Expect much more from these boys, as a group with such melody, pop sensibilities and pure essence of fun are going to be going places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 5 Nov 2011
By 
V. Dawe (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twenty One (Audio CD)
I absolutely love this album, I did own a copy of this before I ordered it and was happy to promptly receive a second hand copy in excellent condition. I'm pleased to now own the album artwork as well as the music for my favourite Mystery Jets album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 29 Jan 2009
By 
R. Peacock "Bex" (Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twenty One (Audio CD)
This album is highly catchy and the more you hear it the more you get into it, I certainly can't stop playing it in my car. It is very 80's retro yet contemporary at the same time which adds to the appeal even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mystery Jets - Twenty One, 10 Jun 2008
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Twenty One (Audio CD)
I rushed out to buy this album after hearing and loving the excellent single "Two Doors Down" and the rest of the album is equally brilliant. With a real 80's sound, reminiscent of groups like The Police, Talking Heads and Ah-Ha this album is very listenable, likeable and extremely fun. I can't wait to see these guys at Glastonbury in a few weeks! Highly recommended and easily one of the best albums of 2008 so far.

Stand out tracks - Two Doors Down, MJ and Young Love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twenty One
Twenty One by Mystery Jets
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews