Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still good after all these years, 5 Oct 2010
This review is from: Anthology Of Bread (Audio CD)
I took the advice of one of your other reviewers and bought this instead of "The sound of Bread" - yes it is lovely to hear all these great songs again. The notes warn that as the recordings were all analogue they may not be as good digitally, but I certainly couldn't tell the difference. They were a really talented group who could really sing. Wonderful harmonies - but still so sad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars David Gates and the soft rock sounds of Bread, 8 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Anthology Of Bread (Audio CD)
I have one complaint regarding this "Anthology" of Bread's best songs and that would be that it does not include "Mother Freedom." Ironically, while this was one of my favorite Bread songs it is totally atypical of the group's work, occupying the far musical extreme from the group's soft rock style exemplified by their signature standard "If." Fortunately I never attended a wedding at which "If" was played, but I have little doubt that the song was overexposed enough that it is probably no longer anybody's favorite Bread song. My favorite has always been "Everything I Own," and that would be the Bread song I responded to the way everybody else was responding to "If" (maybe because I kept thinking of Rudyard Kipling for some reason when that song was getting constant airplay). In the end the soft rock compositions of David Gates tends to start to blend together in your mind, but there is no denying their popularity. Besides, I always thought the group's name was a lot lamer than their music ever was and just because you do not like soft rock is no reason not to admit that songs like "Make It With You" and "Any Way You Want Me" were pretty good soft rock. "Anthology" is certainly one of those albums where it gives you (almost) everything you ever want or need to hear from the group, saving you from any reason to go out and pick up all of Bread's individual albums (with the possible exception of "Baby I'm-A Want You," for the above referenced reason).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all!, 2 Jun 2010
This review is from: Anthology Of Bread (Audio CD)
This is one of the best items released in the US! In one word: the excellent voices & the musicians. Real good school of the US rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Anthology, 10 April 2011
By 
J. Boot "Jim Boot" (Perth, Western Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology Of Bread (Audio CD)
This is truly an anthology to buy. Not only the famous tracks like "Make It With You" "If" "Diary" and all the other hits but also a substantial collection of other tracks that would have been hits but were run over by the 'A' sides. Not just for collectors and Bread buffs but also for the casual admirers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate in soft rock from the 70s, 18 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology Of Bread (MP3 Download)
Fabulous collection of Bread tracks now brought to MP3 - if you loved Guitar Man, If (NOT the Telly Savalas version!!!), Wanna Make it With You and Diary, then you will LOVE this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology Of Bread (Audio CD)
good music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology Of Bread (Audio CD)
Just the best slices !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice nostalgic album....., 18 May 2014
By 
Mr. Peter Moran (Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology Of Bread (Audio CD)
Great quality compilation of some of the best of Bread's popular tracks.....great lyrics and quality guitar work......took me right back and reminded be of a buddy who sadly fell by the wayside at 19 years of age and was a big fan of this band....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars memories of forgotten times, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology Of Bread (Audio CD)
Better than expectations. Brings back memories as I had forgotten how good they were. Still being played on a relaxing holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OOh the memory, 18 April 2014
By 
Fireball 61 (Moray, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology Of Bread (MP3 Download)
Beautiful tunes & harmonies i think sums up this collection. Did bread make a duff song i think not but you decide. Guitar man stand up there with the best rock songs ever laid down & the other songs arent bad either. If sung how it should be. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews