Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still good after all these years, 5 Oct 2010
This review is from: Anthology Of Bread (Audio CD)
I took the advice of one of your other reviewers and bought this instead of "The sound of Bread" - yes it is lovely to hear all these great songs again. The notes warn that as the recordings were all analogue they may not be as good digitally, but I certainly couldn't tell the difference. They were a really talented group who could really sing. Wonderful harmonies - but still so sad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars David Gates and the soft rock sounds of Bread, 8 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Anthology Of Bread (Audio CD)
I have one complaint regarding this "Anthology" of Bread's best songs and that would be that it does not include "Mother Freedom." Ironically, while this was one of my favorite Bread songs it is totally atypical of the group's work, occupying the far musical extreme from the group's soft rock style exemplified by their signature standard "If." Fortunately I never attended a wedding at which "If" was played, but I have little doubt that the song was overexposed enough that it is probably no longer anybody's favorite Bread song. My favorite has always been "Everything I Own," and that would be the Bread song I responded to the way everybody else was responding to "If" (maybe because I kept thinking of Rudyard Kipling for some reason when that song was getting constant airplay). In the end the soft rock compositions of David Gates tends to start to blend together in your mind, but there is no denying their popularity. Besides, I always thought the group's name was a lot lamer than their music ever was and just because you do not like soft rock is no reason not to admit that songs like "Make It With You" and "Any Way You Want Me" were pretty good soft rock. "Anthology" is certainly one of those albums where it gives you (almost) everything you ever want or need to hear from the group, saving you from any reason to go out and pick up all of Bread's individual albums (with the possible exception of "Baby I'm-A Want You," for the above referenced reason).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all!, 2 Jun 2010
This review is from: Anthology Of Bread (Audio CD)
This is one of the best items released in the US! In one word: the excellent voices & the musicians. Real good school of the US rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'A TRULY SUPERB EASY-LISTENING GEM OF AN ALBUM', 12 Dec 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Anthology Of Bread (Audio CD)
'David Gates' singer-songwriter remembered for his association with the American-Band 'Bread' which was
formed in the late 60's along with 'Robb Royer' and 'Jimmy Griffin' being joined in 1970 with drummer 'Mike
Botts'
The group achieved much success in the 'Billboard-Charts' during the 70's here in the U.K Charting with
'Make It With You' (Chart '5' August 1970) followed in chart-terms with one of my all-time favourites - 'Baby I'm
A-Want You' (Chart '14' January 1972) after the loss of his father 'David Gates' wrote the 'touching and heart-
felt' number 'Everything I Own' which surprisingly only reached the number '32' spot here in 'April 1972' though
of course has been recorded by a number of stars since and memorably topping the U.K Charts in the 80's with
the 'Boy George' version.
Among the groups other U.K successes 'The Guitar Man' (Chart '16' also 1972) and 'Lost Without Your Love'
which charted here in the U.K at number '27' in late 1976.
When playing this album it's difficult to understand why the group only had the five Chart-Hits (all-listed in the review)
here in the U.K, the quality of the material on-board is actually very-high, and, if like myself you are aware of the groups
music during the 70's you'll almost certainly recognise several other tracks on-board.
Myself, i thought they'd charted with one or two of the other tracks on-board with songs such as - 'It Don't Matter To Me'
being a prime candidate along with the classic track 'If' (though unlikely recording artist 'Telly Savalas' did top the U,K
Chart with that one)
This, a very nice album, full of some lovely easy-listening 'Gems'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Anthology, 10 April 2011
By 
J. Boot "Jim Boot" (Perth, Western Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology Of Bread (Audio CD)
This is truly an anthology to buy. Not only the famous tracks like "Make It With You" "If" "Diary" and all the other hits but also a substantial collection of other tracks that would have been hits but were run over by the 'A' sides. Not just for collectors and Bread buffs but also for the casual admirers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No Butter Required, 15 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology Of Bread (Audio CD)
Just received this today from Amazon. I had this a long time ago and I think someone pinched it.

What a talented band they were. Lovely voices, good lyrics, good music and good looking, music which is still as popular today, unlike a lot of these so called "boy wonder bands" who certainly won't be around for long.

Jimmy Griffin died of cancer aged 61 and Larry Knechtel of a heart attack aged 69, too young to die, and the only surviving members are David Gates and Robb Royer.

Many people have always thought that "Everything I Own" was a love song about a broken romance, but David Gates wrote it in memory of his father to whom he was very close. I did read somewhere that he played/sung it at his father's funeral but can't be certain on that one. Beautiful lyrics and one of my most favourite songs.

Every time I hear that particular track, which is on an advert now, I have to play it later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate in soft rock from the 70s, 18 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology Of Bread (MP3 Download)
Fabulous collection of Bread tracks now brought to MP3 - if you loved Guitar Man, If (NOT the Telly Savalas version!!!), Wanna Make it With You and Diary, then you will LOVE this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology Of Bread (Audio CD)
good music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology Of Bread (Audio CD)
Just the best slices !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice nostalgic album....., 18 May 2014
By 
Mr. Peter Moran (Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthology Of Bread (Audio CD)
Great quality compilation of some of the best of Bread's popular tracks.....great lyrics and quality guitar work......took me right back and reminded be of a buddy who sadly fell by the wayside at 19 years of age and was a big fan of this band....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anthology Of Bread
Buy MP3 Album£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews